Please select your home edition

MRX Open Meetings at Wembley Sailing Club

by Chris O’Neill 24 Oct 2007 16:46 BST 21 October 2007

A beautiful morning greeted the MRXs as 12 boats sailed by regulars and visitors descended on the harp the only thing missing was the wind. There were patches of wind on the Harp and PRO Ken Lawton saw the enthusiasm of the MRXs already to go, and knew that a change in the weather was very unlikely, so he got the first race under way on time.

The first race was led by Tom O'Neill and Colin Dacey throughout until the final beat where Geoff O'Neill who had fought back well took second from Tom who along with Colin both got OCS anyway which resulted in Geoff O'Neill taking the bullet.

After lunch the wind had not improved but the second race got under way and Geoff O'Neill established a strong lead which he held to take the bullet and again Colin Dacey and Tom O'Neill followed this time getting a result. The final race saw a lot of retirements as the wind turned to nearly nothing and the frustration got too much for many. The race saw the pack stay a lot closer together throughout the race and anyone had a chance of winning but on the final leg Morris Cleal and Geoff O'Neill stole away to finish in that order with the following pack finishing within seconds of each other.

A massive thanks to all the visitors, helpers and the race committee for making the most of some pretty bad wind conditions and congratulations to Geoff O'Neill for retaining the trophy.

1st Geoff O'Neill & Liam Watson
2nd Morris Cleal & Martin Thompson
3rd Steve Janering & Lottie Wakeling