Please select your home edition
CoastWaterSports 2014

Dragon Europeans at Kinsale Yacht Club Overall

by David Branigan 24 Aug 2003 09:45 BST
Action from the Dragon Europeans at Kinsale Yacht Club © David Branigan

Imhoff prevails in light airs to win Setanta Dragon Europeans

A tense finale to the Setanta Dragon European Championship saw the Netherland's Fred Imhoff hold his nerve to secure overall victory this afternoon off Kinsale, Ireland.

With four boats in the running, Imhoff could easily have lost to one of the others as all were within ten points of his overnight lead.

After a series of postponement to allow a light breeze to build, race six got underway and saw Frank Berg edge ahead after the first full lap. But a strong ebb tide and a softening in the 8 knot breeze saw his fortunes reversed and with a worse placing than his discard, he opted to retire.

On the final upwind leg, Imhoff moved ahead once more though was limited by the conditions and could see world champion Vincent Hoesch gaining ground along with Crown Prince Frederik of Denmark.

With a boat length to spare, Ireland's Peter O'Reilly took the gun from Ulsterman Simon Brien before Imhoff made the line to win overall.

Overall Results:

PosSail NoBoat NameHelmCrewR1R2R3R4R5R6Pts
1NED247Danish JokerFred ImhoffRichard van Rij, Rudy den Outer15305805.723.7
2SUI288Hanseatic LloydVincent HoeschHorro Kniffka, Bernd Faber5.7285.75.75.7830.8
3DEN266My WayBerg FrankSoren Kaestel, Mads Christensen81331035837
4DEN336NanoqFrederikLars Hendriksen, Kasper Harsberg05.78191411.739.4
5GBR680Danish BluePoul Hoj-JensenClaus Hoj-Jensen, Wolfgang Rappel161022311.71454.7
6GER980BahatiMarcus BrenneckeMarkus Wieser, Thomas Auracher319238172770
7SWE321MariaTom LofstedtMartin Alsen, Martin Larsson1945201781680
8IRL176PhantomNeil HegartyPeter Bowring, David Williams32211416131781
9IRL175ChimaeraAndrew CraigEdmund Peel, Aidan O'Connell103011.728162388.7
10NED316EscapadePieter HeeremaDolf Peet, Florian Fendt3117280184494
11FRA300Ar YoulegLouis UrvoisGwen Chapalain, Sebastien Magnen3701311.7423697.7
12DEN341MalouPeter HolmMaria Holm, Bo Selko2082530581598
13SWE311Deja VuOlrog ThomasPeter Christensson, Thomas Wilton271540.5183413107
14IRL164TBBJames MatthewsRob Jacob, David Good333330221510110
15IRL144RigmaroleJohn Ross-MurphyAilbe Millerick, Con Murphy1336.510322358114.5
16IRL171DivaRichard GoodbodyRick Johnson, John Veale263158211919116
17GBR682EcstaticEric WilliamsNigel Young, Jamie Lea532021252030116
18IRL172KinSimon BrienRuan O'Tiarniagh, David Gomes41224515383119
19GER983SinewaveThomas MullerMario Wagner, Bjorn Oesterreich361639201058121
20USA310ClairevoyantTed SawyerMartin Payne, Will Willett143419353224123
21GER970MontanaPeter KochDavid Dirk, Ingo Hermann292432332220127
22IRL139King RatGarry TreacyPaul Maguire, Aidan Tarbett11.74131272435128.7
23FRA305Dirastac'hYann KersaleMunier Franck, Tanguy Ravach2311.729452158129.7
24FRA330Ar MaoutClaudia UrvoisVincent Saleau, Pierre Canevet283237292622137
25SWE314LeaGutta JohanssonDan Walker, P-O Soderberg214347143329140
26IRL162PucaJay BourkeBen Mulligan, Norman McDonnell304016262943141
27IRL168TatsuCameron GoodHarry Lewis, Simon Furney3818154935.538144.5
28GER968ChiMichael SchattanChristian Paucksch, Peter Andra174926442733147
29IRL173ElectraPeter O'ReillyFrancis Rhatigan, Eddie Tingle4536.52447460151.5
30FIN50OTTTom RindellMini Jaatinen, Kim Konttinen223833424418153
31IRL161JessicaWard WoodsBrian Mathews, Mark Pettitt441436392541155
32GBR675Water RatIan RatnageJono Ratnage, Vincent Slevin342643363031157
33GBR602ChaoticWillie JordanMatt Armstrong, Jonathan Fletcher4646441335.521159.5
34GBR660AimeeJulia BaileyGraham Bailey, David Heritage183958503126164
35IRL150EveMatthias HellsternSally Ann Tucker, Fergal O'Hanlon394218404128166
36IRL142CloudClare HoganTom Hogan, Mel Collins243538343958170
37GBR614SapphireNeil PayneJon Mortimer, David Ross545127234334178
38IRL166WhisperMick CotterDon O'Dowd, Prof O'Connell434717314742180
39GBR684Hand of FortuneMike HolmesJames Holmes, Alex Burnett482546464532194
40DEN340LilPeter WarerFrank Eriksen, Lars Bo Povlsen252758582858196
41NED309FurieGus de GrootP van Reeuwijk, Thiery van Vierssen402358245858203
42AUS156Canewdon WitchTrish FordAndrew Twine, Chris Foulkes552940.5583746207.5
43IRL159DeeminDon DonoghuePeter Dee, Matt Minch475050414925212
44IRL169ChristiannaOlaf SorensenShawn Kingston, Anthony O'Neill494435375047212
45JPN46Heigh-HoBocci AoyamaTakahiro Ohyama, Masami Kimura505534485140223
46GBR633Fel Lins FlirtationRon JamesJulia James, Derek Gibbon575249435339236
47IRL136Lucky LuckyTim PearsonDenis Bergin, Matt Kennedy514858584045242
48IRL154SetantaPat MurphyDaniel Murphy, Sean Murphy525458584837249
49GER965BunnyMax GlasDominik Glas, Wolfgang Steuer565648385258250
50SWE315MincSputte BaltscheffskyStefan Haskel, Jacob Wallenberg425342585858253
51GBR572Quicksilver llRob CampbellMatt Walker, Ian Gray355858585858267

Related Articles

International Dragon 90th Anniversary in San Remo
160 keelboats set to mark the event From her inception as an entry by Johan Anker in the Royal Gothenburg YC's 1928 competition for a new inter-islands cruiser for young people, to her current status as the world's leading 3-man keelboat class, the story of the Dragon has been remarkable. Posted on 19 Sep
British Dragon South Coast Championship
Solent racing from the Royal London YC Sadly, gone are the days when 40 plus boats would cross the start line for the South Coasts; but what we lacked in quantity we made up for in quality. Posted on 10 Sep
Burnham Week 2019 day 8
Town Cup Day - the week's most coveted trophy Burnham Week finished today with Trophy races for every class. The headline event was the Town Cup, Burnham Week's most coveted trophy, raced for by Class One with spinnakers. Posted on 31 Aug
Burnham Week 2019 day 7
Another fantastic sailing day on the Crouch Day 7 was breezy but dry and another fantastic sailing day on the Crouch, with a Southerly breeze. Posted on 31 Aug
Burnham Week 2019 day 6
Business as usual with more bright sunshine and blue skies Day Six was business as usual in Burnham Week, with bright sunshine and blue skies, although the wind was patchy and fickle, with big holes upriver for the day boats to contend with. Posted on 29 Aug
Burnham Week 2019 day 5
Early morning rain clears leaving a South Westerly breeze and bright sunshine Early morning rain cleared leaving a South Westerly breeze and bright sunshine for day 5. With a building ebb, and increasing wind strengths, the boats were all able to have challenging courses with good beats, reaches and runs. Posted on 28 Aug
Burnham Week 2019 day 4
Sunshine, good Easterly breezes and fantastic courses again Again, sunshine, good Easterly breezes and fantastic courses best describe day 4 of Burnham Week 2019. The haze meant visibility was short and at times murky, but this didn't detract at all from a great day. Posted on 27 Aug
Burnham Week 2019 day 3
Another stunning day afloat on the Crouch A third day of fantastic sunshine and fairly consistent Easterlies meant another stunning day afloat on the Crouch as Burnham Week enjoyed Day 3 and Burnham Town saw a packed Quay Day with live music and displays, stalls and family fun. Posted on 27 Aug
And they're up!
Back in Where's Wally? we looked at the incredible new foiler, the SYRA18. Back in Where's Wally? we looked at the incredible new foiler, the SYRA18. Please go back and check that out if you cannot remember it. Since then, Nils Frei and Yves Detrey have had their prototype for the monohull that morphs into a cat out on the water Posted on 25 Aug
Burnham Week 2019 day 2
Another gloriously sunny day Another gloriously sunny day in Burnham on Crouch for Day Two of the East Coast's premier regatta. At Pile House over 100 boats came down to take part in their racing, with the Multihulls starting first. Posted on 25 Aug