Please select your home edition
Melges IC37 2019 Leaderboard
Product Feature
Rooster Carry All (35, 60 and 90L available)
Rooster Carry All (35, 60 and 90L available)

Facts for the Brisbane to Gladstone Race

by Ian Grant on 11 Apr 2000
INAUGURAL RACE: 1949 Fleet of seven yachts, six finished. Line Honours: Hoana (George Pickers). Course Time. 47 hours 8 minutes 25 seconds.
Overall Race Winner: Sea Prince a 28ft 3 inch Gaff rigged sloop
skippered by John Bourne won the race with a corrected time of 34 hours 22 minutes 18 seconds from Sea Tang (Doug Drouyn) and Hoana despite being the last yacht to finish over 9 hours behind Hoana.

MULTIPLE WINNERS: Norseman (A. Lex Wilson) 5. 1951, 1952, 1954, 1955, 1956. (Handicap) Fastest corrected time: 1955. 29hrs 5mins 06 secs.

Wistari (Noel Patrick) 4. 1971, 1976, 1977, 1982.
Fastest corrected time: 1976 .26hrs 01mins 24secs.

Saltash 11 (Ian and Bill Wright) 4. 1986, 1992, 1993, 1999.
Fastest corrected time: 1993. 21 hrs 15mins 54secs (Race Record).
Average handicap rated speed: 14.48knots.

Solo (Vic Meyer) 2. Line Honours and Handicap winner 1958,
Fastest corrected time: 1958. 27hrs 48mins 37secs.

Leroy Brown (Warren Wieckmann) 2. 1989, 1991.
Fastest corrected time: 1991. 40hrs 07mins 24secs.

Scampi A (Ross Perrins, Colin Loel) 2. 1984, 1988.
Fastest corrected time: 1988. 28hrs. 42mins 07secs.

Mouse Of Malham (Bill Dayan-Smith, Norman R Wright Jnr) 1960, 1963.
Fastest corrected time: 1963. 29hrs. 31mins 24secs.

MULTIPLE WINNING Jack Rooklyn. 8 (Apollo) 1973,1974,1978,1979.
SKIPPERS (Ballyhoo) 1975.
(Line Honours) (Maxi Apollo) 1982, 1983, 1984.
Fastest Elapsed time: Maxi Apollo 1982. 29hrs.46mins.56secs.

Fred Markwell. 5 (Alvis) 1952,1953,1954,1956,1957.
Fastest Elapsed time: 1956. 48hrs.29mins.29secs.

Vic Meyer. 5 (Solo) 1958,1959, 1960,1962,1963.
Fastest Elapsed time: 1958. 34hrs.52mins.50secs.

Arthur Bloore. 5 ( The Office) 1985.
(Hammer Of Queensland) 1988,1991,1996,1998.
Fastest Elapsed time: 1988. 29hrs.53mins.47secs.

Kerry Spencer. 3 (Bobsled) 1992,1993,1995.
Fastest Elapsed time: 1993. 21hrs.59mins.43seconds.

Rupert Murdoch. 2 (Ilina) 1964,1965.
Fastest Elapsed time: 1964. 33hrs.23mins 54secs.

Robert Bird. 2 (Bobsled) co-skipper 1993,1995.
Fastest Elapsed time: 1993. 21hrs.59mins.43secs.

FASTEST YACHT 1993 Bobsled (Kerry Spencer, Robert Bird) 21hrs59mins43secs. (Line Honours). Average speed: 14.04 knots.

FASTEST YACHT 1993 Saltash 11 (Ian and Bill Wright) 21hrs 15mins 54secs.
(Corrected Handicap) Average speed: 14.48knots.

(Line Honours) 1957 Alvis (Fred Markwell) 95hrs.09mins.01sec.
(Winner) Average speed: 3.24knots.

(Corrected Handicap) 1950 Kyeema (Colin Galbraith) 70hrs.20mins.38secs.
(Winner) Average speed: 4.38knots.

(Elapsed time/Handicap)
(Winner) 1957 Bluenose (Sir Ellis Murphy) 98hrs.59mins.32secs.
Average Speed: 3.11knots.

(Individual Elapsed time) 1957 Christina (W Bill MacQueen) 6days 1hr 30min 18sec.
Average Speed: 2.12knots.
(Note: Christina left Sandgate Brisbane at 1100 hrs on Good Friday arrived at Auckland Point shortly after 1230hrs the following Thursday).

CLOSEST FINISH 1967 Laurabada (Ivan Holm) beat Syonara (Peter Docker) by 41 (Line Honours) seconds after both yachts sailed the final 10 nautical miles in a nip’n’tuck duel after over 41 hours of intense racing.

CLOSEST FINISH 1984 Scampi A (Ross Perrins/Colin Loel) 38hrs. 29mins. 04secs
(corrected time) beat the Peter Cavill skippered Silver Shamrock 38-29-30 by 26 seconds with the Phil White skippered Beach Inspector another 15 minutes 41 seconds away third.

RECORD FLEET. 1998 Golden Anniversary Race. A combined fleet of 226 keel and multihull yachts created a spectacular sight attracting the largest crowd to ever witness a yacht race start in Queensland.
The Gold Coast catamaran Simply The Best skippered by Jamie Morris took overall line honours narrowly ahead Hammer Of Queensland (Arthur Bloore). Four sailors from the inaugural race including winning skipper John Bourne was among the 1356 men women and children who set sail in the race.

MOST RACES. Laurabada 48 consecutive races sailing 43 with her builder Ivan Holm Snr at the helm and the last 5 races with Ivan Holm Jnr as skipper. Entered for her 49th race this year.

Related Articles

Skip Novak's South Sandwich Science Expedition
Technical clothing and safety gear from Ocean Safety Skip Novak has just wrapped up his latest Pelagic expedition in which he led a team of 10 scientists to the remote South Sandwich Island chain in the Southern Ocean on board his sailing vessel Pelagic Australis.
Posted today at 12:00 pm
British Team to be out in force at RYA Dinghy Show
Reigning Olympic champion Hannah Mills will be among the stars at the show The British Sailing Team will be out in force at the RYA Dinghy Show in association with Yachts & Yachting - led by the athletes picked to represent Team GB at Tokyo 2020.
Posted today at 12:00 pm
Seldén Sailjuice Winter Series overall
Simon Horsfield and Katie Burridge have become the first ever repeat winners Seldén SailJuice Winter Series Prize Giving at RYA Dinghy Show (Sat 29 February 10.15am)
Posted today at 11:46 am
Noble Marine Solo Winter Championship CANCELLED
Call made due to the adverse weather forecast Due to the adverse weather forecast the NSCA have unfortunately taken the decision to cancel this Saturday's event. We hope to re-schedule to a date in March. Please pass this information on to any Solo sailor you know.
Posted today at 10:04 am
Ocean Elements Beach Clubs & Yachts
10% off Yacht Holidays or save £400 on Beach Clubs Make use of a once-only saving of 10% OFF our bareboat, flotilla and skippered yachts in the glorious Greek islands. Save a fantastic £400 per person on your two week Beach Club holiday; or Save £200pp on any of our one week holidays!
Posted today at 9:00 am
ILCA Laser Radial Women's Championship preview
Star-studded field with Olympic ambitions on show All three medallists from the Rio Olympics will take to the water off Sandringham Yacht Club to compete in the ILCA Laser Radial Women's Championship which starts on Sunday.
Posted today at 4:02 am
The Staunton Blaster is now a one-day event
Given the challenging weather forecast for this Saturday Given the challenging weather forecast for this Saturday and the large number of competitors expected to travel to this popular event, the Organising Committee of the Staunton Blaster has taken the decision to cancel sailing on Saturday 22nd Feb.
Posted on 20 Feb
58th Hamble Warming Pan will include RS400s
A new fleet, along with welcoming all non-trapeze dinghies of PY 970-1172 Hamble River Sailing Club is pleased to announce its invitation to the RS400 class to join the 58th Hamble Warming Pan dinghy open meeting, along with all non-trapeze dinghies rated PY 970-1172 and Foxer dinghies.
Posted on 20 Feb
Giancarlo Pedote focussed on Vendée Globe
2020 is shaping up to be both hectic and crucial for the Italian sailor Vendée Globe will kick off from Les Sables d'Olonne on France's Atlantic coast, at which point the sailor will set sail on an unassisted, non-stop round the world aboard his 60-footer in the colours of Prysmian Group.
Posted on 20 Feb
Marine scholarships with Trinity House and RYA
Could you be eligible for a share of the £30,000 fund? The RYA is once again welcoming applications for the Trinity House RYA Yachtmaster™ Scholarship, an exciting opportunity for those working, or aspiring to work in the small commercial vessel sector.
Posted on 20 Feb