Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Downwind Start |
Post Reply ![]() |
Author | |
Patrick McCosh ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 29 Oct 12 Online Status: Offline Posts: 3 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 29 Oct 12 at 7:34am |
Club Sailing, Downwind start. Line is port broad reach favoured.
Boat A and B elect to approach the outer limit mark on Starboard at 80 degrees, they plan to gybe onto port at the line. A and B are overlapped, A being the inside and leeward boat. Both on starboard. A and B reach the outer limit 5 secs after the strat gun and gybe simultaneously onto port. B then immediately luffs A and calls out, NO BARGING, NO WATER ON A START MARK. A is squeezed at the outer limit and a collision occurs. A performs penalty turns but protests. Dear fellow sailors, please advise.
|
|
Patrick
|
|
![]() |
|
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
All in the detail I think. Section C doesn't apply at a start mark, but B acquired right of way and has various restrictions on her actions under section B.
|
|
![]() |
|
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
When both boats gybe B becomes overlapped to leeward of A . B acquires right of way (rule 11). As both boats gybed simultaneously B acquired right of way at least in part because of the actions of A. If A had not gybed then she would be on starboard and B, on port, required to keep clear. Rule 15 does not apply and B is not initially required to give A room to keep clear.
However (that word again) having gybed B then luffs. As B has changed course she is required to give A room to keep clear (rule 16.1). If A responds to B's change of course promptly and in a seamanlike way but is unable to avoid contact, then B has broken rule 16.1 and should take a penalty. A is not obliged to performan unseamanlike manoeuvre. Hitting a mark is considered to be unseamanlike. If A does not respond promptly then she has broken rule 11. |
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
|
Patrick McCosh ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 29 Oct 12 Online Status: Offline Posts: 3 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Dear Jim C and Gordon - many thanks for your replies, they have been useful.
|
|
Patrick
|
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |