Print Page | Close Window

Downwind Start

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=9975
Printed Date: 29 Jun 25 at 6:40am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: Downwind Start
Posted By: Patrick McCosh
Subject: Downwind Start
Date Posted: 29 Oct 12 at 7:34am
Club Sailing, Downwind start. Line is port broad reach favoured.

Boat A and B elect to approach the outer limit mark on Starboard at 80 degrees, they plan to gybe onto port at the line.

A and B are overlapped, A being the inside and leeward boat. Both on starboard.

A and B reach the outer limit 5 secs after the strat gun and gybe simultaneously onto port.

B then immediately luffs A and calls out, NO BARGING, NO WATER ON A START MARK. A is squeezed at the outer limit and a collision occurs.

A performs penalty turns but protests.

Dear fellow sailors, please advise.


-------------
Patrick



Replies:
Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 29 Oct 12 at 8:04am
All in the detail I think. Section C doesn't apply at a start mark, but B acquired right of way and has various restrictions on her actions under section B.


Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 29 Oct 12 at 10:18am
When both boats gybe B becomes overlapped to leeward of A . B acquires right of way (rule 11). As both boats gybed simultaneously B acquired right of way at least in part because of the actions of A. If A had not gybed then she would be on starboard and B, on port, required to keep clear. Rule 15 does not apply and B is not initially required to give A room to keep clear.

However (that word again) having gybed B then luffs. As B has changed course she is required to give A room to keep clear (rule 16.1). If A responds to B's change of course promptly and in a seamanlike way but is unable to avoid contact, then B has broken rule 16.1 and should take a penalty. A is not obliged to performan unseamanlike manoeuvre. Hitting a mark is considered to be unseamanlike.

If A does not respond promptly then she has broken rule 11.


-------------
Gordon


Posted By: Patrick McCosh
Date Posted: 29 Oct 12 at 3:37pm
Dear Jim C and Gordon - many thanks for your replies, they have been useful.

-------------
Patrick



Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com