New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Rules Question on Overlaps
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Rules Question on Overlaps

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123
Author
patj View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 16 Jul 04
Location: Wiltshire
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 643
Post Options Post Options   Quote patj Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Rules Question on Overlaps
    Posted: 13 Jul 12 at 1:07pm
I don't see any difference between B hitting the mainsheet of the laser and B hitting the side of the boat forward of the transom (think of a wide Merlin for example) . The outstretched boom is still a part of the boat he should keep clear of - especially as it was outstretched from when B was clear astern and B must know the mainsheet was there as he sails the same class.
 
B has steered a collision course and so broken rule 14 - would he have ploughed straight through A's sail if A hadn't accelerated?
Since they were sailing dead downwind, B as the rearmost boat was windward boat and thus should have kept clear.


Edited by patj - 13 Jul 12 at 1:11pm
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Online
Posts: 6662
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jul 12 at 1:34pm
Sorry patj: that's not what windward boat means: you need to read the (crucial) definitions. A was definitely windward boat.

For whatever my opinion is worth Brass is correct: 'twas a rule 15 breach by B.
Back to Top
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3048
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jul 12 at 3:28pm
Originally posted by JimC

For whatever my opinion is worth Brass is correct: 'twas a rule 15 breach by B.

Mine too, how I missed Rule 15 when flicking through is anyones guess!

I knew there was a reason. Plus (to be fair) gaining an overlap with only 2 feet of clearance is a bit dodgy to say the least (IMO).
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
MrGin View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 31 Jul 07
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 23
Post Options Post Options   Quote MrGin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jul 12 at 4:07pm
So am I right in saying that, on a start line for example, a boat cannot come from behind, go to leeward of another boat and luff, without first going clear ahead? Due to rules 12, 15 & 17, therefore rule 11 does not come into play.
 
Phil
Phil A8152 "Albaholic"
Back to Top
SoggyBadger View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 26 Oct 10
Location: The Wild Wood
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 552
Post Options Post Options   Quote SoggyBadger Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jul 12 at 4:33pm
Originally posted by MrGin

So am I right in saying that, on a start line for example, a boat cannot come from behind, go to leeward of another boat and luff, without first going clear ahead? Due to rules 12, 15 & 17, therefore rule 11 does not come into play.
 
Phil


No. Firstly there is no proper course before the start and secondly Rule 17 doesn't apply until the starting signal has been given. So before the start it's just a case of windward boat keep clear and the leeward boat only having to allow him the opportunity to do so.
Best wishes from deep in the woods

SB

Back to Top
Rupert View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 11 Aug 04
Location: Whitefriars sc
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 8956
Post Options Post Options   Quote Rupert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jul 12 at 5:34pm
This is all getting a bit more complex than it needs to be. If catching up with a boat ahead, you have a choice of going to windward of it, or to leeward. You can't just run into it, and that includes mainsheets, booms, heads or any other part of the boat or helm, above or below water. Once you have chosen up or down, all these other rules apply.
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jul 12 at 2:03am
This is an interesting and somewhat quirky scenario.
 
Perhaps it will help everyone to better understand the solution and method of analysing a rules problem in general if we do the somewhat simpler bow to hull contact scenario from first principles. Rules wonks and judges please note that what is described is an analytical process, not the customary Facts Found, Conclusions and Decision structures that is used to provide written decisions.
 
Consider the following diagram of the incident described.
 
 

RACING RULES OF SAILING

All the relevant rules and definitions are contained in the Racing Rules of Sailing which can be viewed and downloaded here

FIRST APPLY DEFINITIONS TO BOATS (AND OTHER OBJECTS) IN THE SCENARIO
 
@1 Boat B is clear astern of Boat A because her hull and equipment are behind the line abeam of the aftermost point of A's hull and equipment in normal position (Definitions:  Clear Astern and Clear Ahead;  Overlap).  Observe that the diagram illustrates that this line abeam extends from the aftermost end of A's trailing rudder, not from her actual transom. 
 

@2 and @3 B is overlapped (Definitions: Clear Astern and Clear Ahead; Overlap) on A and is to leeeward of A (Definitions: Leeward and Windward).

SECOND APPLY THE RULES OF PART 2 SECTION A THE RIGHT OF WAY
 

@1 B (clear astern) shall keep clear (Definitions: Keep clear) of A (Rule 12).

While B was clear astern of A, B kept clear of A. B did not break rule 12.

@2, from the time that B and A become overlapped, and @3, A (to windward) shall keep clear of B (to leeward) (Rule 11).

While A was overlapped to windward of B there was contact between A and B. A did not keep clear of B. A broke rule 11. This conclusion is correct, regardless of any suggestion that B caused the contact or caused A to break rule 11. This issue can be dealt with by exoneration as discussed below.

THIRD APPLY THE RULES OF PART 2 SECTION B GENERAL LIMITATIONS

Always leave rule 14 Avoiding Contact till last. If contact has occurred, then one boat or other will always (except in a couple of obscure freak situations) have failed to keep clear of the other (broken a right of way rule) and one boat may have broken a giving room rule (rules 15 and 16).

Rule 17 is a 'supplemental' rule that only sometimes applies. it doesn't apply in this scenario and we can disregard it.

Rule 16 applies when a right of way boat changes course. In this scenario neither boat changes course while she is right of way boat and rule 16 does not apply.

Rule 15 is the rule that is specifically designed to cope with situations like this where right of way changes over ('transitions') between boats in an instant. It certainly does apply.

There is no action of A that caused B to acquire right of way over A by becoming overlapped to leeward of A. Rule 15 applies and requires B to initially give A room to keep clear.

Room to keep clear means the space that A needs in the existing conditions while manoeuvring promptly in a seamanlike way to keep clear (Definitions: Room).

It is evident from the scenario description and the diagram that between the instant that B crosses the 'line abeam' and becomes overlapped on A, there isn't sufficient time or space for A to manoeuvre so as to keep clear of B. B did not initially given A room to keep clear. B broke rule 15.

FOURTHLY CONSIDER RULE 14 AVOIDING CONTACT

If contact occurred because B did not give A room to keep clear, then it was not reasonably possible for A to avoid contact, and A does not break rule 14.

Once B had achieved the close hook-up on A it was clear that A did not and could not keep clear, but B could have avoided contact by bearing away and opening the gap.  It was reasonably possible for B to avoid contact, starting from when it was clear to B that A was not keeping clear (rule 14(a)), and thus B broke rule 14.

If there was no injury or damage, B, the right of way boat would be protected from penalisation under rule 14, but not under any other rule, by rule 14(b).

LASTLY CONSIDER EXONERATION.

When a right of way boat breaks a rule, exoneration should be considered.

Rule 64.1( c ) provides that:

When as a consequence of breaking a rule a boat has compelled another boat to break a rule [the rule requiring that all boats breaking rules to be penalised] does not apply to that boat and she shall be exonerated.

In this scenario, B's failure to give A room to keep clear when B initially acquired right of way by becoming leeward boat, prevented A from keeping clear of B and thus compelled A to break rule 11.

THE BOTTOM LINE

B broke rule 15 by not initially giving A room to keep clear.

B broke rule 14 by not avoiding contact when it was reasonably possible to do so.

A broke rule 11 by not keeping clear of B, a leeward overlapped boat, but A is exonerated for breaking rule 11 because she was compelled to do so by B breaking rule 15.

On valid protest, penalise B.



Edited by Brass - 16 Jul 12 at 1:21am
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy