Rules Question on Overlaps
Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=9589
Printed Date: 28 Jun 25 at 8:06pm Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Topic: Rules Question on Overlaps
Posted By: MrBill
Subject: Rules Question on Overlaps
Date Posted: 12 Jul 12 at 2:01pm
Situation:
2 boats proceeding on rhumb line course to the leeward mark, both on starboard tack, dead downwind with booms at right angles to the hull. Boats are Lasers.
Boat A is clear ahead.
Boat B is clear astern and to leeward.
Boat B overtakes boat A and overlaps close to A and in doing so sails over the mainsheet of A which is drooping from the end of the boom to the port stern corner. Both boats were and continue sailing straight ahead and neither alters course. B continues forward until its mast hits the boom of A. Once B sails over A's mainsheet, A is unable to manuever.
B claims A failed to give room to his overlap.
A claims B failed to give A room to keep clear.
Opinions?
MrBill
------------- MrBill
|
Replies:
Posted By: Rupert
Date Posted: 12 Jul 12 at 2:28pm
Not sure how B can be in the right on any of this?
------------- Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
Posted By: Neptune
Date Posted: 12 Jul 12 at 2:33pm
surely once B overlaps A and presuming B gained his overlap pretty closely then so long as he doesn't sail above his rhumb line to the next mark then A must keep clear. B has to give him opportunity but his main sheet is still part of his boat so unless there was some serious surfing going on by B I would argue A had time.
------------- Musto Skiff and Solo sailor
|
Posted By: Phantom Titch
Date Posted: 12 Jul 12 at 2:34pm
A should have been heeled to windward and his main sheet would not have been dragging in the water....
------------- Titch ~:-))
|
Posted By: PeterG
Date Posted: 12 Jul 12 at 3:00pm
surely once B overlaps A and presuming B gained his overlap pretty closely then so long as he doesn't sail above his rhumb line to the next mark then A must keep clear.
Except that B must have hit the mainsheet almost as the overlap was created, which surely puts B in the wrong. So B both hit A and then, by sitting on the mainsheet, prevented A making room.
------------- Peter
Ex Cont 707
Ex Laser 189635
DY 59
|
Posted By: jeffers
Date Posted: 12 Jul 12 at 3:17pm
B established overlap from astern and must not sail above her proper course therefore as long as A was sailing her proper course (as both boats were Lasers proper course is the same for both).
I would say B was at fault for sailing in to a gap that didn't really exist and expecting A to get out the way when she had no right to make that call.
I suppose B could argue that when the contact took place they were overlapped but I am sure there is something in the rules about sailing in to non navigable water somewhere (unless that is part of IRPCS which you fall back to).
Rule 12:
ON THE SAME TACK, NOT OVERLAPPED When boats are on the same tack and not overlapped, a boat clear astern shall keep clear of a boat clear ahead.
Then changes to Rule 11:
ON THE SAME TACK, OVERLAPPED When boats are on the same tack and overlapped, a windward boat shall keep clear of a leeward boat
And B's actions are limited by Rule 17:
ON THE SAME TACK; PROPER COURSE If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above her proper course while they remain on the same tack and overlapped within that distance, unless in doing so she promptly sails astern of the other boat. This rule does not apply if the overlap begins while the windward boat is required by rule 13 to keep clear.
------------- Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
|
Posted By: Neptune
Date Posted: 12 Jul 12 at 4:40pm
Originally posted by PeterG
surely once B overlaps A and presuming B gained his overlap pretty closely then so long as he doesn't sail above his rhumb line to the next mark then A must keep clear.
Except that B must have hit the mainsheet almost as the overlap was created, which surely puts B in the wrong. So B both hit A and then, by sitting on the mainsheet, prevented A making room. |
Depends where it hit the mainsheet, OP doesn't say - if it was near the boom its going to be well forward of the transom on a run.
But as soon as B overlapped then the onus is then on A to keep clear - A's line to the mark does not matter.
------------- Musto Skiff and Solo sailor
|
Posted By: Neptune
Date Posted: 12 Jul 12 at 4:42pm
Originally posted by jeffers
I would say B was at fault for sailing in to a gap that didn't really exist and expecting A to get out the way when she had no right to make that call.
I
ON THE SAME TACK; PROPER COURSE If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above her proper course while they remain on the same tack and overlapped within that distance, unless in doing so she promptly sails astern of the other boat. This rule does not apply if the overlap begins while the windward boat is required by rule 13 to keep clear. |
What gap - OP doesn't say anything about gap so i have assumed clear water - therefore the last rule quote is valid and A must stay clear.
------------- Musto Skiff and Solo sailor
|
Posted By: PeterG
Date Posted: 12 Jul 12 at 6:53pm
Depends where it hit the mainsheet, OP doesn't say - if it was near the boom its going to be well forward of the transom on a run.
The OP says B overlapped close to A, by which I'd assume B hit the mainsheet near to the leeward quarter, and so would have made contact almost as the overlap was formed.
------------- Peter
Ex Cont 707
Ex Laser 189635
DY 59
|
Posted By: MrBill
Date Posted: 12 Jul 12 at 7:41pm
Thanks for all the conflicting opinions! a point of clarification...B overlapped A within about 2 feet, and there were just seconds from the overlap to contact with the sheets. B was coming up on a puff that had not yet affected A.
This same scenario has also occurred on the starting line in a number of races: A is approaching the line and luffing with his boom out at about 45 degrees. B comes from behind and sails into the gap between A's hull and the end of the boom but usually further away and so the end of the boom strikes B.
------------- MrBill
|
Posted By: RS400atC
Date Posted: 12 Jul 12 at 7:48pm
Originally posted by PeterG
Depends where it hit the mainsheet, OP doesn't say - if it was near the boom its going to be well forward of the transom on a run.
The OP says B overlapped close to A, by which I'd assume B hit the mainsheet near to the leeward quarter, and so would have made contact almost as the overlap was formed. |
Not necessarily, if they were travelling at similar speeds, it could take several seconds from when B's bow crossed the line parallel to A's transom across the back of his rudder, to hitting the mainsheet. In my view, the question is whether A did everything possible to keep clear from that point where the overlap was first established. If B caught a gust and hit A's sheet before A could do anything about it, that is different.
|
Posted By: bustinben
Date Posted: 12 Jul 12 at 8:18pm
My points: If all A has to do to start keeping clear is pull in the mainsheet, she doesn't need much time/room to keep clear. She must start responding as soon as the overlap is established. If while A is pointing up and sheeting in B hits the mainsheet, B was in the wrong. If she attempts to do nothing and just shouts about room/time then A is in the wrong.
The "proper course" thing is a red herring. If B overlaps to leeward it doesn't matter if A has to tack/gybe/derig and swim home, as long as B maintains her proper course. It doesn't mean B is in the wrong if A is unable to maintain her proper course while keeping clear.
|
Posted By: MrBill
Date Posted: 12 Jul 12 at 9:21pm
OK...enough...let me give you my position as boat A:
First, let me define that my "boat" consists of the hull, boom out to leeward, and the mainsheet back to the transom. Thus my boat occupies an approximate triangle. Any boat astern (such as B) of that triangle and sailing faster is an overtaking boat according to the international rules of sailing, and must keep clear. There is no "overlap", as long as B is astern of that triangle even though the bow of B is ahead of the stern of A. If B is outside an imaginary line parallel to the hull of A drawn from the tip of the boom rearward then she is not an overtaking boat, and can establish an overlap and do as she pleases.
One may say that if the bow of B passes the stern of A out near but inside the tip of the boom, then B has an overlap. I say that no, B is still a boat overtaking and must keep clear and the overlap rules are not applicable.
In essence, an overtaking boat has no right to sail over the top of a boat in front (boat clear astern must keep clear of a boat clear ahead) just as in driving, a car behind must give room to the car ahead.
People focusing on the issue of "overlap" are looking too narrowly and forgetting there are other rules than those in the racing rule book. International Rules of Sailing take precedence and B is an overtaking boat.
------------- MrBill
|
Posted By: Neptune
Date Posted: 12 Jul 12 at 9:34pm
No such rule as overtaking boat. Dropped along time ago I am afraid
The triangle does not count either, its a straight line perpendicular to your (boat A) transom
------------- Musto Skiff and Solo sailor
|
Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 12 Jul 12 at 10:26pm
Originally posted by MrBill
International Rules of Sailing take precedence and B is an overtaking boat. |
Absolutely not. This is quite wrong - and there is case (as in court of law) law to prove it. See here. http://www.sailingscuttlebutt.com/news/04/0111pera/ - http://www.sailingscuttlebutt.com/news/04/0111pera/
|
Posted By: Andymac
Date Posted: 12 Jul 12 at 10:41pm
Originally posted by MrBill
There is no "overlap", as long as B is astern of that triangle even though the bow of B is ahead of the stern of A. |
Sorry MrBill, there is an overlap as soon as B's bow is ahead of a perpendicular line from the stern of A.
As PeterG states 'if' the contact with boat 'A's mainsheet happened almost immediately the overlap was gained thus preventing A from keeping clear then, and only then, would boat B be at fault. However you state that 'B overlapped A within about 2 feet, and there were just seconds from the overlap to contact with the sheets.' The debatable point would be if A could have kept clear in the 'just seconds' before the contact with the sheets.
|
Posted By: Andymac
Date Posted: 12 Jul 12 at 10:43pm
Originally posted by JimC
there is case (as in court of law) law to prove it. See here. http://www.sailingscuttlebutt.com/news/04/0111pera/%20 - http://www.sailingscuttlebutt.com/news/04/0111pera/ |
Sorry Jim, I can't pick up that link.
|
Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 12 Jul 12 at 10:46pm
Originally posted by jeffers
B established overlap from astern and must not sail above her proper course therefore as long as A was sailing her proper course (as both boats were Lasers proper course is the same for both).
I would say B was at fault for sailing in to a gap that didn't really exist and expecting A to get out the way when she had no right to make that call.
I suppose B could argue that when the contact took place they were overlapped but I am sure there is something in the rules about sailing in to non navigable water somewhere (unless that is part of IRPCS which you fall back to).
Rule 12:
ON THE SAME TACK, NOT OVERLAPPED
When boats are on the same tack and not overlapped, a boat clear
astern shall keep clear of a boat clear ahead.
Then changes to Rule 11:
ON THE SAME TACK, OVERLAPPED
When boats are on the same tack and overlapped, a windward boat
shall keep clear of a leeward boat
And B's actions are limited by Rule 17:
ON THE SAME TACK; PROPER COURSE
If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull
lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above
her proper course while they remain on the same tack and overlapped within that distance, unless in doing so she promptly sails
astern of the other boat. This rule does not apply if the overlap
begins while the windward boat is required by rule 13 to keep clear. |
I agree with other posters that rule 17 was probably a red herring: there was no suggestion in the OP that B was not sailing her proper course (but the proper course of the windward boat doesn't absolutely prove the proper course of a leeward boat, even if they are the same one-design)
Jeffers has left out rule 15 which is specifically designed to cover the situation where right of way transitions in an instant, such as this, where B (Clear Astern, keep clear boat, rule 12) becomes B, (overlapped, right of way boat, rule 11) on the instant she crosses the line abeam of A's aftermost point:
Rule 15
ACQUIRING RIGHT OF WAY
When a boat acquires right of way, she shall initially give the other boat room to keep clear, unless she acquires right of way because of the other boat’s actions.
Originally posted by RS400atC
Originally posted by PeterG
Depends where it hit the mainsheet, OP doesn't say - if it was near the boom its going to be well forward of the transom on a run.
The OP says B overlapped close to A, by which I'd assume B hit the mainsheet near to the leeward quarter, and so would have made contact almost as the overlap was formed. |
Not necessarily, if they were travelling at similar speeds, it could take several seconds from when B's bow crossed the line parallel to A's transom across the back of his rudder, to hitting the mainsheet. In my view, the question is whether A did everything possible to keep clear from that point where the overlap was first established. If B caught a gust and hit A's sheet before A could do anything about it, that is different. |
'Doing everything possible' is not really the fundamental test. The test is, under rule 15, whether B gave A room to keep clear.
Whether A was doing all she could to keep clear before contact occurred is often a good indicator that B did not give her room to keep clear, but you can have a case such like this Clear Astern to close hook-up to leeward transition, where B hooks up so close that any attempt by A to keep clear will result in immediate contact as her stern comes away as she attempts to steer up. The only thing A can do is hold her course and wait for B to bear away and give her room to keep clear.
It only takes a foot or so more distance between A and B, and A does have room to at least start keeping clear.
Usually, on a Laser, when the main sheet was leading directly to the boom end (rather than drooping in the water), the sheet would be above the foredeck level of the leeward boat, so that contact with the mainsheet would not be likely until the overlap was somewhat more advanced, and A had had more time to keep clear.
That's not to say that A is doing anything wrong by letting her mainsheet droop.
I think the outcome is B, having acquired right of way under rule 11 other than through A's actions has failed to give A room to keep clear and has broken rule 15. On valid protest, B should be penalised.
|
Posted By: sargesail
Date Posted: 13 Jul 12 at 12:23am
I'm glad you said all that Brass - saves me the effort!
But I'd add that the way I read the OP I thought that B really had sail over A's mainsheet.....I am interested in this. Imagine it drooping under water - no contact obvious.
1. A luffs - gap opens. A keeps clear, and has (arguably) proven that B gave room).
Now change it:
2. A decides to sheet in as part of his luff - his sheet hits B. Would you find that B hadn't given room - or that 1. was available and therefore A hadn't kept clear.
Now try again:
3. A initiates the luff by sheeting in, and without using the rudder - would that change your answer to my question at 2?
Matt
|
Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 13 Jul 12 at 1:48am
Originally posted by sargesail
I'm glad you said all that Brass - saves me the effort!
But I'd add that the way I read the OP I thought that B really had sail over A's mainsheet.....I am interested in this. Imagine it drooping under water - no contact obvious.
1. A luffs - gap opens. A keeps clear, and has (arguably) proven that B gave room). |
I understood the OP saying that B 'sails over' the mainsheet of A to mean that 'sails over and makes contact with'.
While it may be possible for the mainsheet of a Laser to droop and touch or go an inch or two under the surface of the water, I don't think the mainsheet is long enough for it to be possible for the sag in the mainsheet to sink so far under water that another Laser could sail over the sagging portion without almost immediately making contact with the mainsheet.
Even if it was possible for B to sail into the space above the underwater sag of the mainsheet, once A luffs to get clear of B, the 'outer arm' of the sagging mainsheet will be dragged closer to and will make contact with B, thus proving that A did not keep clear, but leaving B with her rule 15 limitation.
Originally posted by sargesail
Now change it:
2. A decides to sheet in as part of his luff - his sheet hits B. Would you find that B hadn't given room - or that 1. was available and therefore A hadn't kept clear. |
Changing course to windward is a seamanlike way to keep clear of B. Sheeting in is a seamanlike action to assist in changing course to windward. If there is contact between B and A's mainsheet when A sheets in, then B has not give A room to take her seamanlike action to keep clear of B. B breaks rule 15.
Originally posted by sargesail
Now try again:
3. A initiates the luff by sheeting in, and without using the rudder - would that change your answer to my question at 2? |
No, same analysis as in 2.
|
Posted By: patj
Date Posted: 13 Jul 12 at 1:07pm
I don't see any difference between B hitting the mainsheet of the laser and B hitting the side of the boat forward of the transom (think of a wide Merlin for example) . The outstretched boom is still a part of the boat he should keep clear of - especially as it was outstretched from when B was clear astern and B must know the mainsheet was there as he sails the same class.
B has steered a collision course and so broken rule 14 - would he have ploughed straight through A's sail if A hadn't accelerated? Since they were sailing dead downwind, B as the rearmost boat was windward boat and thus should have kept clear.
|
Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 13 Jul 12 at 1:34pm
Sorry patj: that's not what windward boat means: you need to read the (crucial) definitions. A was definitely windward boat.
For whatever my opinion is worth Brass is correct: 'twas a rule 15 breach by B.
|
Posted By: jeffers
Date Posted: 13 Jul 12 at 3:28pm
Originally posted by JimC
For whatever my opinion is worth Brass is correct: 'twas a rule 15 breach by B. |
Mine too, how I missed Rule 15 when flicking through is anyones guess!
I knew there was a reason. Plus (to be fair) gaining an overlap with only 2 feet of clearance is a bit dodgy to say the least (IMO).
------------- Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
|
Posted By: MrGin
Date Posted: 13 Jul 12 at 4:07pm
So am I right in saying that, on a start line for example, a boat cannot come from behind, go to leeward of another boat and luff, without first going clear ahead? Due to rules 12, 15 & 17, therefore rule 11 does not come into play. Phil
------------- Phil A8152 "Albaholic"
|
Posted By: SoggyBadger
Date Posted: 13 Jul 12 at 4:33pm
Originally posted by MrGin
So am I right in saying that, on a start line for example, a boat cannot come from behind, go to leeward of another boat and luff, without first going clear ahead? Due to rules 12, 15 & 17, therefore rule 11 does not come into play. Phil |
No. Firstly there is no proper course before the start and secondly Rule 17 doesn't apply until the starting signal has been given. So before the start it's just a case of windward boat keep clear and the leeward boat only having to allow him the opportunity to do so.
------------- Best wishes from deep in the woods
SB
|
Posted By: Rupert
Date Posted: 13 Jul 12 at 5:34pm
This is all getting a bit more complex than it needs to be. If catching up with a boat ahead, you have a choice of going to windward of it, or to leeward. You can't just run into it, and that includes mainsheets, booms, heads or any other part of the boat or helm, above or below water. Once you have chosen up or down, all these other rules apply.
------------- Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 14 Jul 12 at 2:03am
This is an interesting and somewhat quirky scenario.
Perhaps it will help everyone to better understand the solution and method of analysing a rules problem in general if we do the somewhat simpler bow to hull contact scenario from first principles. Rules wonks and judges please note that what is described is an analytical process, not the customary Facts Found, Conclusions and Decision structures that is used to provide written decisions.
Consider the following diagram of the incident described.
RACING RULES OF SAILING
All the relevant rules and definitions are contained in the http://www.sailing.org/tools/documents/RRS20092012with2010changes-%5b8222%5d.pdf - Racing Rules of Sailing which can be viewed and downloaded http://www.sailing.org/tools/documents/RRS20092012with2010changes-%5b8222%5d.pdf - @2 and @3 B is overlapped (Definitions: Clear Astern and Clear Ahead; Overlap) on A and is to leeeward of A (Definitions: Leeward and Windward).
SECOND APPLY THE RULES OF PART 2 SECTION A THE RIGHT OF WAY
@1 B (clear astern) shall keep clear (Definitions: Keep clear) of A (Rule 12).
While B was clear astern of A, B kept clear of A. B did not break rule 12.
@2, from the time that B and A become overlapped, and @3, A (to windward) shall keep clear of B (to leeward) (Rule 11).
While A was overlapped to windward of B there was contact between A and B. A did not keep clear of B. A broke rule 11. This conclusion is correct, regardless of any suggestion that B caused the contact or caused A to break rule 11. This issue can be dealt with by exoneration as discussed below.
THIRD APPLY THE RULES OF PART 2 SECTION B GENERAL LIMITATIONS
Always leave rule 14 Avoiding Contact till last. If contact has occurred, then one boat or other will always (except in a couple of obscure freak situations) have failed to keep clear of the other (broken a right of way rule) and one boat may have broken a giving room rule (rules 15 and 16).
Rule 17 is a 'supplemental' rule that only sometimes applies. it doesn't apply in this scenario and we can disregard it.
Rule 16 applies when a right of way boat changes course. In this scenario neither boat changes course while she is right of way boat and rule 16 does not apply.
Rule 15 is the rule that is specifically designed to cope with situations like this where right of way changes over ('transitions') between boats in an instant. It certainly does apply.
There is no action of A that caused B to acquire right of way over A by becoming overlapped to leeward of A. Rule 15 applies and requires B to initially give A room to keep clear.
Room to keep clear means the space that A needs in the existing conditions while manoeuvring promptly in a seamanlike way to keep clear (Definitions: Room).
It is evident from the scenario description and the diagram that between the instant that B crosses the 'line abeam' and becomes overlapped on A, there isn't sufficient time or space for A to manoeuvre so as to keep clear of B. B did not initially given A room to keep clear. B broke rule 15.
FOURTHLY CONSIDER RULE 14 AVOIDING CONTACT
If contact occurred because B did not give A room to keep clear, then it was not reasonably possible for A to avoid contact, and A does not break rule 14.
Once B had achieved the close hook-up on A it was clear that A did not and could not keep clear, but B could have avoided contact by bearing away and opening the gap. It was reasonably possible for B to avoid contact, starting from when it was clear to B that A was not keeping clear (rule 14(a)), and thus B broke rule 14.
If there was no injury or damage, B, the right of way boat would be protected from penalisation under rule 14, but not under any other rule, by rule 14(b).
LASTLY CONSIDER EXONERATION.
When a right of way boat breaks a rule, exoneration should be considered.
Rule 64.1( c ) provides that:
When as a consequence of breaking a rule a boat has compelled another boat to break a rule [the rule requiring that all boats breaking rules to be penalised] does not apply to that boat and she shall be exonerated.
In this scenario, B's failure to give A room to keep clear when B initially acquired right of way by becoming leeward boat, prevented A from keeping clear of B and thus compelled A to break rule 11.
THE BOTTOM LINE
B broke rule 15 by not initially giving A room to keep clear.
B broke rule 14 by not avoiding contact when it was reasonably possible to do so.
A broke rule 11 by not keeping clear of B, a leeward overlapped boat, but A is exonerated for breaking rule 11 because she was compelled to do so by B breaking rule 15.
On valid protest, penalise B.
|
|