New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Being Daft in Handicap Races
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Being Daft in Handicap Races

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 234
Author
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3048
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Being Daft in Handicap Races
    Posted: 01 Mar 12 at 6:16pm
Originally posted by sargesail

Jeffers,

Well aware of it and why we set up on the inside on many occasions.  But I'm talking slow moving lasers running by the lee on port.  I was looking up their transom line having rounded as the B14.  Their nose was variously 1.5 to 2 boat lengths from the mark and the B14 was a good 3/4 of a length behind transom line calling not room (and I mean the sprit not the bow), but starboard.

Happened twice.

The answer is for people to know and apply the rules.  This was too much to be misperception just bullying. Because once the 3 lasers give room the damage is done.

Simple answer, the Lasers agree to witness each other and protest the B14 for not keep clear when they were not overlapped at the zone...the B14 gets chucked.

This would be my interpretation...if you are not overlapped at the zone then being on starboard counts for nowt (I could be wrong there are other rules people who are far more knowledgeable that I around here).

I would have hoped that sailing a performance boat like a B14 that requires a reasonable amount of skill they would also amass a reasonable amount of rules knowledge more for their own protection than anything else! If like you say it was deliberate and they were bullying then were are back to good old rule 2 again.....but lets not go there shall we....
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
alstorer View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 02 Aug 07
Location: Cambridge
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2899
Post Options Post Options   Quote alstorer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Mar 12 at 8:29pm

if there were two incidents with B14s doing this, then they were two different boats! We did get this wrong on one occasion (made the wrong call Embarrassed), but on our incident the guy in the 100 reckoned our bowsprit had overlapped the Fireball concerned in good time- the Fireball sailor though was of the belief that bowsprits don't count for overlap. They don't count for boat length, true, but as the spinnaker was still hoisted and filled, it certainly counted for overlap. So, ignorance was met with ignorance.

There definitely weren't any Lasers anywhere in the area when this happened!

-_
Al
Back to Top
sargesail View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jan 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1459
Post Options Post Options   Quote sargesail Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Mar 12 at 8:46pm
Al,

I don't think it was you then.......!
Back to Top
sargesail View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jan 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1459
Post Options Post Options   Quote sargesail Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Mar 12 at 8:48pm
Originally posted by jeffers

Originally posted by sargesail

Jeffers,

Well aware of it and why we set up on the inside on many occasions.  But I'm talking slow moving lasers running by the lee on port.  I was looking up their transom line having rounded as the B14.  Their nose was variously 1.5 to 2 boat lengths from the mark and the B14 was a good 3/4 of a length behind transom line calling not room (and I mean the sprit not the bow), but starboard.

Happened twice.

The answer is for people to know and apply the rules.  This was too much to be misperception just bullying. Because once the 3 lasers give room the damage is done.

Simple answer, the Lasers agree to witness each other and protest the B14 for not keep clear when they were not overlapped at the zone...the B14 gets chucked.


I disagree - return to the point of certainty.  The B14 is establishing, not the Lasers breaking the overlap, so the B14 should give room and protest.

It is not a simple case of let them in and protest. 
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 234

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy