New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: mark room and proper course
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

mark room and proper course

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
sailwiz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Feb 09
Location: Italy
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Post Options Post Options   Quote sailwiz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: mark room and proper course
    Posted: 04 Feb 09 at 7:37pm

good day you all

new on the forum; trying to get opinions on the other part of the world.

what puzzles me is the "proper course" inside the "mark room"

at a windward mark, boat W inside boat, L outside, approaching a mark to be left on port (left) by tacking at the mark; rule 18,2 applies.

For that, L give mark room to W. OK, fine.

at the mark, W does NOT tack to round the mark, but keeps going straight

with old rules, W was entitled to do so.i.e. was not obliged to tack and round the mark

my question: with new rules, and with the new concept of proper course inside the "mark room", W MUST keep its proper course (meaning MUST tack and round the mark, as per proper course), or  may keep going straight as per old rules?

thank

 

Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Feb 09 at 10:33pm

As long as she keeps clear under rule 11, W can keep L pinned past the mark.  L may pinch and push W up, subject to rules 16 and 17 (if applicable).  Meanwhile the rest of the fleet go charging past.

There is no rule corresponding to rule 18.4 Gybing, that requires and inside boat to tack promptly.

W only needs to observe her proper course at the mark if she wants exoneration for breaking rules 10, 11, 12, 13, 15 or 16.

For what happens next see ISAF Q&A 2009-17.

http://www.sailing.org/tools/documents/QA2009017-%5B6832%5D. pdf

 



Edited by Brass
Back to Top
sailwiz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Feb 09
Location: Italy
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Post Options Post Options   Quote sailwiz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Feb 09 at 11:03am

 

Thank you for your clear reply.

You state:

There is no rule corresponding to rule 18.4 Gybing, that requires and inside boat to tack promptly

that was exactly my doubt about "proper course",

in 18.4 the proper course is explicit, in the rule

18.2, the proper course is hidden in the definition.of "mark room" (proper course at the mark)

anyway, you confirm that W is not asked to follow the proper course of the "mark room" i.e. W can pin L, under  limitations of rule 11

thank you again.

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy