Print Page | Close Window

mark room and proper course

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=5130
Printed Date: 26 Jun 25 at 11:18am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: mark room and proper course
Posted By: sailwiz
Subject: mark room and proper course
Date Posted: 04 Feb 09 at 7:37pm

good day you all

new on the forum; trying to get opinions on the other part of the world.

what puzzles me is the "proper course" inside the "mark room"

at a windward mark, boat W inside boat, L outside, approaching a mark to be left on port (left) by tacking at the mark; rule 18,2 applies.

For that, L give mark room to W. OK, fine.

at the mark, W does NOT tack to round the mark, but keeps going straight

with old rules, W was entitled to do so.i.e. was not obliged to tack and round the mark

my question: with new rules, and with the new concept of proper course inside the "mark room", W MUST keep its proper course (meaning MUST tack and round the mark, as per proper course), or  may keep going straight as per old rules?

thank

 




Replies:
Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 04 Feb 09 at 10:33pm

As long as she keeps clear under rule 11, W can keep L pinned past the mark.  L may pinch and push W up, subject to rules 16 and 17 (if applicable).  Meanwhile the rest of the fleet go charging past.

There is no rule corresponding to rule 18.4 Gybing, that requires and inside boat to tack promptly.

W only needs to observe her proper course at the mark if she wants exoneration for breaking rules 10, 11, 12, 13, 15 or 16.

For what happens next see ISAF Q&A 2009-17.

http://www.sailing.org/tools/documents/QA2009017-%5B6832%5D.pdf - http://www.sailing.org/tools/documents/QA2009017-%5B6832%5D. pdf

 



Posted By: sailwiz
Date Posted: 05 Feb 09 at 11:03am

 

Thank you for your clear reply.

You state:

There is no rule corresponding to rule 18.4 Gybing, that requires and inside boat to tack promptly

that was exactly my doubt about "proper course",

in 18.4 the proper course is explicit, in the rule

18.2, the proper course is hidden in the definition.of "mark room" (proper course at the mark)

anyway, you confirm that W is not asked to follow the proper course of the "mark room" i.e. W can pin L, under  limitations of rule 11

thank you again.




Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com