New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Tacking in zone
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Tacking in zone

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 456
Author
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3048
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Tacking in zone
    Posted: 13 Apr 16 at 9:02am
Originally posted by Brass

Can B pass the mark without hitting Y?

How is that not 'preventing' B from passing the mark?

18.3 states:

(a) shall not cause the other boat to sail above close-hauled to avoid contact or prevent the other boat from passing the mark on the required side,

In your contrived example B is well above the layline and could come up to a close hauled course and still leave the mark on the required side. Once they are past the mark it becomes a windward leeward situation.

There is no mention of B being entitled to sail their proper course in 18.3 just that they be allowed to leave the mark on the required side. Which, in this case, had they come up to a close hauled course, they could have.

This is why being on the layline is key as it closes off these situations.


Edited by jeffers - 13 Apr 16 at 9:04am
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 456

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy