New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Mark room or Port/Starboard
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Mark room or Port/Starboard

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 234
Author
Simon368 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Aug 10
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 20
Post Options Post Options   Quote Simon368 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Mark room or Port/Starboard
    Posted: 18 Dec 12 at 1:29pm
There was no doubt I (the Lightning) was at the mark as with the tide pushing me up against as I rounded i was to intent on watching whether I had cleared it to notice the Steaker until he shouted. Because the wind was at approx. 90deg to the course my action was to sail slightly passed the mark (to allow for the light wind and tide) and put in a tack and head back the direction i had come from. If I was at a leeward mark and hardening onto a beat I would hold my hand up as wrong but my 'proper course ' was to tack an head back up river. At the point of the incident i doubt that even 50% of the Streaker was alonside the mark.
The fact that the Streaker immediately tacked after avoiding me evidence of this?


Edited by Simon368 - 18 Dec 12 at 1:30pm
Back to Top
Presuming Ed View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 26 Feb 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 641
Post Options Post Options   Quote Presuming Ed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Dec 12 at 2:52pm
The only way to really get a answer on time & distances is to sit in a room, push models and ask questions, AKA protest. As a place for determining facts found, the internet doesn't really work. 

Edited by Presuming Ed - 18 Dec 12 at 2:55pm
Back to Top
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3048
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 12 at 9:04am
Originally posted by Simon368

There was no doubt I (the Lightning) was at the mark as with the tide pushing me up against as I rounded i was to intent on watching whether I had cleared it to notice the Steaker until he shouted. Because the wind was at approx. 90deg to the course my action was to sail slightly passed the mark (to allow for the light wind and tide) and put in a tack and head back the direction i had come from. If I was at a leeward mark and hardening onto a beat I would hold my hand up as wrong but my 'proper course ' was to tack an head back up river. At the point of the incident i doubt that even 50% of the Streaker was alonside the mark.
The fact that the Streaker immediately tacked after avoiding me evidence of this?

This is precisely why you should have taken it to protest, informal of course over a couple of beers and your local rules guru. That way you can get 'facts found' and both of you know what to do (or not do) if this happens again.

It is impossible to interpret on the internet as both sides have a different story and each seems valid in this case.

Were I asked to sit on a PC for this it would have to come down to facts found, you extrapolate forward from there.
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
ohFFsake View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 04 Sep 08
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 219
Post Options Post Options   Quote ohFFsake Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jan 13 at 12:40am
Facts found?
 
Both parties seem to agree that at the point Y tacked onto port he was clear ahead of B. Therefore rule 18 ceases to apply as Y can't go past head to wind unless he is overlapped inside at that time.
 
So regardless of proximity to the mark it is surely a fairly simple Port v Starboard?
 
But not that simple...
 
B admits that he went wide and then headed up whilst clear astern in order to make a tight mark rounding. It seems to me that the timing of this with respect to the tack by Y is the crux of the issue. If at the point Y tacked he was able to keep clear of B on his course at that time then surely any subsequent alteration of course by B that leavecs Y unable to avoid him is B's fault?
 
But if B tacked later, ie after Y's course change, then he's at fault, and if he wanted to have room to tack under rule 18 should have slowed down earlier to force B outside and ensure he was still overlapped at the point he passed head to wind, as mentioned earlier.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 234

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy