Print Page | Close Window

Mark room or Port/Starboard

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=10302
Printed Date: 28 Jun 25 at 11:56am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: Mark room or Port/Starboard
Posted By: Simon368
Subject: Mark room or Port/Starboard
Date Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 3:41pm
This happened yesterday and although I did eventually take turns after a long discussion between boats I am still not convinced I was wrong.
 
sailing on a river and wind is light and direction erratic. Two boats reaching downriver on starboard to a mark to be left to starboard. Course away from mark is another reach/fetch on port back up river so boats will have to tack round the mark.
 
Lightning is ahead, Steaker behind goes to windward outside of 3 boat lengths, swift Luff by Lightning and Streaker bears away behind to go to leeward of Lightning. Streaker is overlapped ourtside as they enter 3 boat lenghts.
 
The Lightnings proper course is the tack round the mark and head back off up the river. Being inside boat Lightning tacks round the mark, not a good rounding as Steaker has held him tight and tide is pushing him away from the mark. Steaker hardens up calls starboard just as Lightning is competing the tack. Contact is made.
 
So Lighting arguement is that they had mark room, streaker should have given room to complete tack as this was the proper course.
 
Streaker arguement, mark room is irrelavent as Lightning had gone round the mark, port starboard applies.

I have read the rules and still am unsure who was right?



Replies:
Posted By: craiggo
Date Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 4:07pm
Given that contact was made (I assume you were Lightning), the correct course of action would be to protest the Streaker for causing a collision. If they thought you were in the wrong, they should have protested you rather than hitting you.
Based on what you claim to be the events it is difficult to really be certain that Streaker didn't have an overlap at 3 boat lengths on the grounds that you luffed, therefore almost certainly creating the overlap. (As you luff the line drawn across your transom will rapidly move back down the course). Lets assume however that the Streaker dived below you prior to the 3 boat length circle, then you are entitled to make a mark rounding in a seamanlike manner and they must give you room to do so. Your description however is confusing at this point. If you were to windward of Streaker as you started to tack then he would sail past and the only chance of collision would be if he tacked onto port and then bore away into you, otherwise it suggests he was infact to windward of you and that you have tacked in his water.
Id be interested to see a diagram or the other persons view!


Posted By: Simon368
Date Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 4:17pm
The Streaker did not have and overlap which is why he went behind me as he was travelling faster. At this point the wind was at 90deg to our course. I was windward boat when I had rthe mark room and at the point I started to tack he had maybe a foot of overlap on the outside. So by just hardening up to close hauled he kept momentum against the tide whilst I slowed in the tack and the tide pushed be wide. Remember this was happening in slow motion against a strong tide.


Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 4:43pm
Its always good to go to the Case book (http://www.sailing.org/tools/documents/CaseBook20092012updatedNov2011-[11669].pdf with situations you aren't sure about.
I think in this case I would be looking very hard at Case 15, Case 25 and Case 95.
There's probably a bit more detail required to be 100% sure of the answer.


Posted By: Simon368
Date Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 5:01pm
case 15 concerns a boat clear astern. A boat clear astern can stop a boat ahead tacking, simple but the Streaker was overlapped on the outside and obliged the give room. Both helms agree with this. Does this still mean the inside boat cannot tack round the mark. If so what was the point of getting the overlap?
Case 25, Luightning to windward and with an overlap was not sailing below proper her course,
Case 95 concerns beating, we were on a typical river course. reach down to a mark, tack round it reach back.
I think the point in questions is whether the action of tacking from starboard to port whilst rounding the mark is allowed in rule 18 when the outside boat (on starboard) can alter course immediately you have tacked to make contact and call starboard.


Posted By: Rupert
Date Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 6:11pm
Surely there has to be time and opportunity to keep clear following the tack?  If the tide is taking you, then opportunity is not there. And if you are still in the process of rounding the mark, then you still have mark room. And, as was said, if a boat deliberately luffs to hit you, they are in the wrong, whatever else happens.

-------------
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686


Posted By: Simon368
Date Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 8:04pm
Hi Rupert, I dont think the tide is relavent as this would apply to any mark where you are reaching in to and away from the mark. The only proper course was to tack round the mark. The Streaker arguement was that once I had tacked the rounding was complete and only port / starboard applied. The question is does it?


Posted By: Rupert
Date Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 8:19pm
I thought the tide was relevant because it was the tide which prevented you from moving forwards out of the way of the other boat after your tack.

I'm pretty sure I've been in this situation on rivers many times, and boats arriving at the mark when the boats that are already there have "rounded" but are failing to move against the tide have to be avoided. If you try and get through the gap which is sometimes left in these cases you are in the wrong if you don't have the space you thought you might, so I really can't see how the boat on Starboard can luff into you at all.


-------------
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686


Posted By: Presuming Ed
Date Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 8:44pm
Mark-Room Room for a boat to sail to the mark, and then room to sail her proper course while at the mark. However, mark-room does not include room to tack unless the boat is overlapped to windward and on the inside of the boat required to give mark-room.

18.1 When Rule 18 Applies
Rule 18 applies between boats when they are required to leave a 
mark on the same side and at least one of them is in the zone.

Best to draw a picture. Boat Scenario is free. http://boats.sourceforge.net/

Fundamentally - where was the mark when contact made? 


Posted By: Simon368
Date Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 8:48pm
Just re-read my post and realised the phrase 'tide was pushing me off' has been misunderstood. I was heading into the tide as I approached the mark and was leaving enough room to make sure the tide did not push me onto it.


Posted By: Simon368
Date Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 8:54pm
i will try to use the software to show positions but I was 'overlapped to windward and on the indside 'as I approached the mark and the mark would have been alonside my staboard side amidships as I existed the tack on port


Posted By: Simon368
Date Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 9:17pm
like this:


Posted By: Presuming Ed
Date Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 9:30pm
Still at the mark. Ping blue for not giving mark room. 


Posted By: AlexM
Date Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 9:31pm
What software is that?

-------------


Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 9:43pm
Originally posted by Simon368

Hi Rupert, I dont think the tide is relavent as this would apply to any mark where you are reaching in to and away from the mark. The only proper course was to tack round the mark. The Streaker arguement was that once I had tacked the rounding was complete and only port / starboard applied. The question is does it?
S was partly right, but rule 10, port/starboard was not the only rule that still applied.
 
L was initially overlapped inside and entitled to mark-room, thus the mark-room to which she was entitled included room to tack (Definition:  mark-room), as long as it lasted.
 
When L, in tacking, passed head to wind, boats came to be on opposite tacks, and the proper course of S at the mark, but not of L, was to tack.  Rule 18, from that instant ceased to apply (rule 18.1( b )), (Case 15 last sentence).  Room to tack only allows room until you have passed head to wind.
 
You said S hardened up and contact occurred.  That sounds like S, the right of way boat changing course did not give L room to keep clear, so S broke rule 16.1, and quite likely rule 14.
 
L on Port did not keep clear of S on starboard, so L broke rule 10, but if S did not give L room to keep clear, then L would have been compelled to break rule 10 by S breaking rule 16.1 and L shold be exonerated in accordance with rule 64.1( c ).
 
Originally posted by Simon368

i will try to use the software to show positions but I was 'overlapped to windward and on the indside 'as I approached the mark and the mark would have been alonside my staboard side amidships as I existed the tack on port
 
The issue is not whether your were 'at' the mark (which on your diagram, I don't dispute you were).  On my analysis, as you originally described it, once you passsed head to wind, rule 18 went off in its entiriey.  I agree with PEd that, as diagrammed, S had already failed to give you mark-room before you luffed and passed head to wind.
 
Originally posted by Rupert

Surely there has to be time and opportunity to keep clear following the tack?  If the tide is taking you, then opportunity is not there. And if you are still in the process of rounding the mark, then you still have mark room. And, as was said, if a boat deliberately luffs to hit you, they are in the wrong, whatever else happens.
 
Rupert, please join us in the 21st century.  The entitlement conferred by rule 16.1 is an entitlement to room, being 'The space a boat needs in the existing conditions while manoeuvring
promptly in a seamanlike way'.  The concept of time is conveyed by 'promptly' and there is nothing about 'opportunity'.


Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 9:52pm
Originally posted by Presuming Ed

Still at the mark. Ping blue for not giving mark room. 
I agree that @3.5 B is not giving mark-room, and that, Y is entitled to luff as hard as she likes, as long as she does not pass head to wind.
 
@4, Y is past head to wind, rule 18 is off, and B breaks rule 16.1.


Posted By: Simon368
Date Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 9:54pm
AlexM
 
see previous page there is a website address. Only found it today


Posted By: Presuming Ed
Date Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 10:23pm
Originally posted by Brass

Originally posted by Presuming Ed

Still at the mark. Ping blue for not giving mark room. 
I agree that @3.5 B is not giving mark-room, and that, Y is entitled to luff as hard as she likes, as long as she does not pass head to wind.
 
@4, Y is past head to wind, rule 18 is off, and B breaks rule 16.1.

Yellow is overlapped inside to windward. Defn of mark room includes room for inside boat to tack. Yellow has right to tack and sail proper course at mark. 


Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 10:27pm
Originally posted by Presuming Ed

Originally posted by Brass

Originally posted by Presuming Ed

Still at the mark. Ping blue for not giving mark room. 
I agree that @3.5 B is not giving mark-room, and that, Y is entitled to luff as hard as she likes, as long as she does not pass head to wind.
 
@4, Y is past head to wind, rule 18 is off, and B breaks rule 16.1.

Yellow is overlapped inside to windward. Defn of mark room includes room for inside boat to tack. Yellow has right to tack and sail proper course at mark. 
When L, in tacking, passed head to wind, boats came to be on opposite tacks, and the proper course of S at the mark, but not of L, was to tack.  Rule 18, from that instant ceased to apply (rule 18.1( b )), (Case 15 second last sentence).  Room to tack only allows room until you have passed head to wind.
 
If A were to pass head to wind, then at that moment all parts of rule 18
would cease to apply because the boats would be on opposite tacks (see
rule 18.1(b)).
 
 


Posted By: Simon368
Date Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 10:38pm
if the definition of mark room is: 'room to round the mark as neccesary to sail the course' and the course is to tack round to sail bck in the direction you have just come, how can you not be allowed to tack.

 

b) room to round the mark as necessary to sail the course.



Posted By: Presuming Ed
Date Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 10:38pm
In case 15, there is no overlap at any point. 

Match racing tactics 101. If clear ahead at the top mark, slow and get the opposition overlapped outside you. They then have to give you room to tack. Defence is never to give the overlap - keep eyes open, and match speed with boat ahead. 

Again, defns. Mark-Room Room for a boat to sail to the mark, and then room to sail her proper course while at the mark. However, mark-room does not include room to tack unless the boat is overlapped to windward and on the inside of the boat required to give mark-room.


Posted By: Presuming Ed
Date Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 10:41pm
Originally posted by Simon368

if the definition of mark room is: 'room to round the mark as neccesary to sail the course' and the course is to tack round to sail bck in the direction you have just come, how can you not be allowed to tack.

 b) room to round the mark as necessary to sail the course.

You're quoting 2013-2016 rules, which don't come into effect for a couple of weeks. 


Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 11:27pm
Originally posted by Simon368

if the definition of mark room is: 'room to round the mark as neccesary to sail the course' and the course is to tack round to sail bck in the direction you have just come, how can you not be allowed to tack.

b) room to round the mark as necessary to sail the course.

Getting a little bit ahead of ourselves here:  that's the 2013 definition <g>.
 
But it makes no difference.  Rule 18.1 does not change in 2013.
 
From an application of rules point of view, the reason you are not allowed room to complete your tack once you have passed head to wind is that, in the specific circumstances where the proper course of the other boat at the mark is to tack, once you pass head to wind, you are not entitled to any mark-room at all, because rule 18 ceases to apply.


Posted By: jeffers
Date Posted: 18 Dec 12 at 7:11am
The way to avoid this situation is to slow down a force the outside boat to stay outside of you. That way they cannot so a cut back type manoever as has been done here because they will be too far alongside.

As for right and wrong in this case I would not like to call as I thought that if you acquired right of way because of another boats actions (which happened in this case) the requirement to keep clear was always firmly on the boat that bestowed the right of way? I do not have a rule book to hand though so i cannot quote the relevant rule number.


-------------
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74


Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 18 Dec 12 at 10:10am
Originally posted by jeffers

As for right and wrong in this case I would not like to call

Definitely unwise to call without knowing how the other boat saw it. Its amazing how often two folks' perception of the same incident can be very different.


Posted By: gerry L
Date Posted: 18 Dec 12 at 10:16am
I was sailing the Streaker and  this is as I see the incedent
As we got near the mark I tried to get an inside overlap but he wouldnt let me so I went wide so as to round up tight round the mark, the Lightning hardened up and once clear of the mark proceded to tack on to port. I was slightly higher haveing rouned up well away from the mark,if I had carried on I would have hit him amidships but managed to bearaway nearly enough but just touched his stearn.
As I am awear I didnot have to give him room to tack so it was simpley a case of P&S. ie he should not have tacked in my water and carried on till I tacked.


Posted By: Presuming Ed
Date Posted: 18 Dec 12 at 10:49am
Originally posted by jeffers

As for right and wrong in this case I would not like to call as I thought that if you acquired right of way because of another boats actions (which happened in this case) the requirement to keep clear was always firmly on the boat that bestowed the right of way? I do not have a rule book to hand though so i cannot quote the relevant rule number.

If you sail from clear astern to leeward means you change from give way to right of way thanks to your own actions. therefore 15 applies to you. If you establish the overlap within 2bl, leeward can sail no higher than her proper course. 

If the initial situation as described by the OP is something like this, then yellow is subject to 16.1 during her luff, and as described above, blue is constrained by 15 &17 after she establishes the overlap to leeward. 

2bl 


Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 18 Dec 12 at 11:01am
Originally posted by Presuming Ed

Originally posted by jeffers

As for right and wrong in this case I would not like to call as I thought that if you acquired right of way because of another boats actions (which happened in this case) the requirement to keep clear was always firmly on the boat that bestowed the right of way? I do not have a rule book to hand though so i cannot quote the relevant rule number.

If you sail from clear astern to leeward means you change from give way to right of way thanks to your own actions. therefore 15 applies to you.
While its true that if you acquire right of way because of your own actions rule 15 applies, 'because of your own actions' is NOT the test.
 
The test in rule 15 is acquiring right of way OTHER THAN because of the other boat's actions.
 
Thus in a situation like this, with a hook up from clear astern, you don't have to say the right of way changes because of Astern's actions:  it suffices that it was NOT because of Ahead's actions.


Posted By: Presuming Ed
Date Posted: 18 Dec 12 at 11:06am
Originally posted by gerry L

the Lightning hardened up and once clear of the mark proceded to tack on to port. I was slightly higher haveing rouned up well away from the mark,if I had carried on I would have hit him amidships but managed to bearaway nearly enough but just touched his stearn.
As I am awear I didnot have to give him room to tack so it was simpley a case of P&S. ie he should not have tacked in my water and carried on till I tacked.

So it's back to the fundamental question I asked in post #7 about the relationship between the location of the boats and the mark when contact/course alteration to avoid contact was made. If the Lightning was past the mark, then she's no longer "at the mark" so mark room has finished. If she wasn't past the mark, then she's still has right to mark room. 

He said/he said on the internet is never going to get to an answer on that one. 

If you were overlapped outside and to leeward of him, then you did have to give him room to tack whilst he's at the mark - again, see the last sentence of the definition of mark room. 




Posted By: jeffers
Date Posted: 18 Dec 12 at 12:34pm
This is why when you are inside boat it pays to cover these situations by slowing down and forcing the outside boat to go round you, that way the gap is just not there or is too small be be used.

From the description of 1 helm he was tacking at the mark, from the description of the other helm he was past when mark when he tacked.

It will come down to 'facts found' by the PC, only then can the rules be applied (this is why sometimes it is important to have 

If you believe poster A then the Streaker is at fault, if you believe poster B then the Lightning is at fault... A witness would be most useful and probably key to this depending on what each party said.

I would be inclined to believe that if the Streaker was on course to hit admiships on the Lightning that the Lightning was past the mark and as such had lost the right to tack as they were no longer 'at' the mark (that and if there was room for the Streaker get get inside, that is usually a sign that they are too far away to be considered at).

Just my 2p....


-------------
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74


Posted By: Simon368
Date Posted: 18 Dec 12 at 1:29pm
There was no doubt I (the Lightning) was at the mark as with the tide pushing me up against as I rounded i was to intent on watching whether I had cleared it to notice the Steaker until he shouted. Because the wind was at approx. 90deg to the course my action was to sail slightly passed the mark (to allow for the light wind and tide) and put in a tack and head back the direction i had come from. If I was at a leeward mark and hardening onto a beat I would hold my hand up as wrong but my 'proper course ' was to tack an head back up river. At the point of the incident i doubt that even 50% of the Streaker was alonside the mark.
The fact that the Streaker immediately tacked after avoiding me evidence of this?


Posted By: Presuming Ed
Date Posted: 18 Dec 12 at 2:52pm
The only way to really get a answer on time & distances is to sit in a room, push models and ask questions, AKA protest. As a place for determining facts found, the internet doesn't really work. 


Posted By: jeffers
Date Posted: 19 Dec 12 at 9:04am
Originally posted by Simon368

There was no doubt I (the Lightning) was at the mark as with the tide pushing me up against as I rounded i was to intent on watching whether I had cleared it to notice the Steaker until he shouted. Because the wind was at approx. 90deg to the course my action was to sail slightly passed the mark (to allow for the light wind and tide) and put in a tack and head back the direction i had come from. If I was at a leeward mark and hardening onto a beat I would hold my hand up as wrong but my 'proper course ' was to tack an head back up river. At the point of the incident i doubt that even 50% of the Streaker was alonside the mark.
The fact that the Streaker immediately tacked after avoiding me evidence of this?

This is precisely why you should have taken it to protest, informal of course over a couple of beers and your local rules guru. That way you can get 'facts found' and both of you know what to do (or not do) if this happens again.

It is impossible to interpret on the internet as both sides have a different story and each seems valid in this case.

Were I asked to sit on a PC for this it would have to come down to facts found, you extrapolate forward from there.


-------------
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74


Posted By: ohFFsake
Date Posted: 11 Jan 13 at 12:40am
Facts found?
 
Both parties seem to agree that at the point Y tacked onto port he was clear ahead of B. Therefore rule 18 ceases to apply as Y can't go past head to wind unless he is overlapped inside at that time.
 
So regardless of proximity to the mark it is surely a fairly simple Port v Starboard?
 
But not that simple...
 
B admits that he went wide and then headed up whilst clear astern in order to make a tight mark rounding. It seems to me that the timing of this with respect to the tack by Y is the crux of the issue. If at the point Y tacked he was able to keep clear of B on his course at that time then surely any subsequent alteration of course by B that leavecs Y unable to avoid him is B's fault?
 
But if B tacked later, ie after Y's course change, then he's at fault, and if he wanted to have room to tack under rule 18 should have slowed down earlier to force B outside and ensure he was still overlapped at the point he passed head to wind, as mentioned earlier.



Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com