New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Correcting Course Sailed
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Correcting Course Sailed

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
The Moo View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jun 06
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 809
Post Options Post Options   Quote The Moo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Correcting Course Sailed
    Posted: 05 Dec 11 at 6:59pm
A bit of a bar room discussion yesterday which was not satisfactorily resolved, but I suspect we were looking at it too deeply!

If a mark is rounded the wrong way the competitor is expected to unwind themselves and pass the "string test".

If a competitor sails the wrong course by either missing a number of marks or rounding them in the wrong order, as soon as they realise should they also unwind by returning the way they came or is it in order to sail direct to the point where they started to go wrong and resail the correct course from that point?
Back to Top
Neptune View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 08 Jun 09
Location: Berkshire United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1314
Post Options Post Options   Quote Neptune Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Dec 11 at 7:10pm
Direct to the point it went wrong, although if you'be gone round that many extra buoys I would probably just go for a sail!
Musto Skiff and Solo sailor
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6662
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Dec 11 at 7:19pm
Interesting... I think they have to go back to where they went wrong and if necessary unwind that rounding, but I'd vote that the other marks have no significance. Case 106 says that provided the string goes round the marks the right side it doesn't matter if it also goes round marks the wrong side, and I think that brings us quite close to where we need to be.
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Dec 11 at 8:52pm
Rule 28 doesn't say anything about 'unwinding'.
 
Apply the 'string test' in the rule:  either it works or it doesn't.
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Dec 11 at 9:49am
Where things get complicated is when a boat crosses the finishing line, then realise that they have sailed the course incorrectly. If she then goes back and sails the course correctly can the second passage of the finish line be taken as the boat's finish?

I have witnessed some empassioned debates with senior IJs about this one, so youropinion would be interesting.

Gordon
Gordon
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6662
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Dec 11 at 3:03pm
Originally posted by gordon

If she then goes back and sails the course correctly can the second passage of the finish line be taken as the boat's finish?

Iff you finish and then strike the finish mark your finish time gets taken when you take the penalty and cross correctly the second time, so I don't see why it should be different if you've missed a mark and go back.
Back to Top
Contender 541 View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 05 Dec 05
Location: Burton on Trent
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1402
Post Options Post Options   Quote Contender 541 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Dec 11 at 3:57pm
You can only get a finish if you have sailed the correct course.  Just because you have crossed the line does not mean you have finished
If you sail the incorrect course on lap 1 and the correct course on lap 2 then all you have done is a very long correction of your error on lap 1.  If the finish also happens to be on lap 2 then congrats, you have just finished having completed 1 lap only
When you find a big kettle of crazy it's probably best not to stir it - Pointy Haired Boss

Crew on 505 8780

Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Dec 11 at 6:17pm
Thank you JimC and Contender541....

Now consider the following  :

- rule 28.1 states "She may correct any errors to comply with this rule"

However from the definition:

-  A boat finishes  when any part of her hull, or crew or equipment in normal position, crosses the finishing line in the direction of the course from the last mark, either for the first time or after taking a penalty under rule 4402 or, after correcting an error made at the finishing line, under rule 28.1" (my highlighting)

So according to the definition, unless  an error in sailing the course is made at the finishing line then once you have crossed the line you can return and correct the error.

In the same way, the race committee cannot decide on their own if a boat has sailed the course and so should be considered as finishing. If the RC wishes to penalise the boat, they have to protest. Rule 63.1 is very clear " A boat shall not be penalised without a protest hearing except as provided in rules 30.2, 30.3, 67, A5 and P2." A race committee may only decide that a boat has not finished if the boat fails to cross the finishing line in the direction of the course from the last mark

Gordon
Gordon
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Dec 11 at 6:19pm
You have all spotted the deliberate error :

So according to the definition, unless an error in sailing the course is made at the finishing line then once you have crossed the line you cannot return and correct the error

Apologies

Gordon
Gordon
Back to Top
The Moo View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jun 06
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 809
Post Options Post Options   Quote The Moo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Dec 11 at 2:00pm
Originally posted by Contender 541



You can only get a finish if you have sailed the correct course.  Just because you have crossed the line does not mean you have finished
If you sail the incorrect course on lap 1 and the correct course on lap 2 then all you have done is a very long correction of your error on lap 1.  If the finish also happens to be on lap 2 then congrats, you have just finished having completed 1 lap only


Can a competitor or sailing committee arbitarily make that decision? (that no correction is required because the lap didn't count?)
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy