Print Page | Close Window

Correcting Course Sailed

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=8625
Printed Date: 30 Jun 25 at 12:19am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: Correcting Course Sailed
Posted By: The Moo
Subject: Correcting Course Sailed
Date Posted: 05 Dec 11 at 6:59pm
A bit of a bar room discussion yesterday which was not satisfactorily resolved, but I suspect we were looking at it too deeply!

If a mark is rounded the wrong way the competitor is expected to unwind themselves and pass the "string test".

If a competitor sails the wrong course by either missing a number of marks or rounding them in the wrong order, as soon as they realise should they also unwind by returning the way they came or is it in order to sail direct to the point where they started to go wrong and resail the correct course from that point?



Replies:
Posted By: Neptune
Date Posted: 05 Dec 11 at 7:10pm
Direct to the point it went wrong, although if you'be gone round that many extra buoys I would probably just go for a sail!

-------------
Musto Skiff and Solo sailor


Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 05 Dec 11 at 7:19pm
Interesting... I think they have to go back to where they went wrong and if necessary unwind that rounding, but I'd vote that the other marks have no significance. Case 106 says that provided the string goes round the marks the right side it doesn't matter if it also goes round marks the wrong side, and I think that brings us quite close to where we need to be.


Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 05 Dec 11 at 8:52pm
Rule 28 doesn't say anything about 'unwinding'.
 
Apply the 'string test' in the rule:  either it works or it doesn't.


Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 11 Dec 11 at 9:49am
Where things get complicated is when a boat crosses the finishing line, then realise that they have sailed the course incorrectly. If she then goes back and sails the course correctly can the second passage of the finish line be taken as the boat's finish?

I have witnessed some empassioned debates with senior IJs about this one, so youropinion would be interesting.

Gordon


-------------
Gordon


Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 11 Dec 11 at 3:03pm
Originally posted by gordon

If she then goes back and sails the course correctly can the second passage of the finish line be taken as the boat's finish?

Iff you finish and then strike the finish mark your finish time gets taken when you take the penalty and cross correctly the second time, so I don't see why it should be different if you've missed a mark and go back.


Posted By: Contender 541
Date Posted: 11 Dec 11 at 3:57pm
You can only get a finish if you have sailed the correct course.  Just because you have crossed the line does not mean you have finished
If you sail the incorrect course on lap 1 and the correct course on lap 2 then all you have done is a very long correction of your error on lap 1.  If the finish also happens to be on lap 2 then congrats, you have just finished having completed 1 lap only

-------------
When you find a big kettle of crazy it's probably best not to stir it - Pointy Haired Boss

Crew on 505 8780



Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 11 Dec 11 at 6:17pm
Thank you JimC and Contender541....

Now consider the following  :

- rule 28.1 states "She may correct any errors to comply with this rule"

However from the definition:

-  A boat finishes  when any part of her hull, or crew or equipment in normal position, crosses the finishing line in the direction of the course from the last mark, either for the first time or after taking a penalty under rule 4402 or, after correcting an error made at the finishing line, under rule 28.1" (my highlighting)

So according to the definition, unless  an error in sailing the course is made at the finishing line then once you have crossed the line you can return and correct the error.

In the same way, the race committee cannot decide on their own if a boat has sailed the course and so should be considered as finishing. If the RC wishes to penalise the boat, they have to protest. Rule 63.1 is very clear " A boat shall not be penalised without a protest hearing except as provided in rules 30.2, 30.3, 67, A5 and P2." A race committee may only decide that a boat has not finished if the boat fails to cross the finishing line in the direction of the course from the last mark

Gordon


-------------
Gordon


Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 11 Dec 11 at 6:19pm
You have all spotted the deliberate error :

So according to the definition, unless an error in sailing the course is made at the finishing line then once you have crossed the line you cannot return and correct the error

Apologies

Gordon


-------------
Gordon


Posted By: The Moo
Date Posted: 12 Dec 11 at 2:00pm
Originally posted by Contender 541



You can only get a finish if you have sailed the correct course.  Just because you have crossed the line does not mean you have finished
If you sail the incorrect course on lap 1 and the correct course on lap 2 then all you have done is a very long correction of your error on lap 1.  If the finish also happens to be on lap 2 then congrats, you have just finished having completed 1 lap only


Can a competitor or sailing committee arbitarily make that decision? (that no correction is required because the lap didn't count?)


Posted By: redders
Date Posted: 12 Dec 11 at 5:23pm
There was a situation a few years ago at an RS200 nationals. The spreader mark went walkabout in the tide and was a very long way to windward. The leading 6 boats bore away at the windward mark and went about 200 yards towards where the mark should have been looking for it. A safety boat then arrived at the windward mark and indicated the mark was missing and instructed everyone to sail directly to the leeward mark.The leading pack then also bore away but having travelled further were not impressed!  The safety boat retrieved the mark and re layed it, and all further roundings were correct.
At the redress hearing the committee decided to bin the race but the decision was appealed and the race re-instated because the string rule applied. Quote : Consider the first lap as a practice lap! 
This decision was also based on the fact that the race was shortened and the number of laps specified were not sailed anyway.


-------------
The older I get the faster I was!


Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 13 Dec 11 at 8:10am
The protest committee could possibly have given redress to the first 6 boats. Appropriate redress could have been that the results of the racestand!.

Such decidions are sometimes made, the aggreived parties areatisfied because thet improper action of the race committee has been recognised.

Gordon


-------------
Gordon



Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com