Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
not sure about this one |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 12> |
Author | |
lssyac ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 25 Jun 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 18 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 18 Jun 07 at 12:36pm |
I was on duty this weekend and we shortened the course at a mark as there was not a lot of wind. There was about 5 boat lengths room around the mark (we sail on a pond) so we set the committee boat about 2.5 to 3 boat lenghts away from the mark (with navigatable water around us), and set it such that the boats were coming down a reach/broadreach towards us. The mark was to be left to port in the normal course of the race and the wind direction meant it was a gybe mark. In this case the committee boat had to be left to starboard. So two boats (merlins) were heading towards us on starboard, one was give way boat as he was faster and overtaking to windward. The outside, right of way boat started luffing about three to four boat lenghts from the mark/finish line/committee boat. The overtaking boat responded by going up as well. The outside right of way boat pushed so hard the overtaking boat had to tack to avoid the committee boat, before crossing the line in second. There was a bit of shouting as the windward boat wanted to protest as they felt hard done by. they asked me what the rules were as they wanted to protest and i had to respond that i did not know the rules well enough to comment. My feelings are that if you are coming up to a 'obstruction' (the committee boat), and the course dictates that it has to be passed to one side, to starboard in this case, that the outside boat should have given water at the point they were either two boat lengths away, or about to round the mark. I feel the outside boat was in the right to start luffing, but feel that at the point they were about to round or were coming up to the obstruction they should have given water. If water had been given i think the outside boat would have finished beind the overtaking windward boat, but cannot be sure, since the luff would have meant the angles changed. There was not protest, just the usual banter afterwards, however, i would like to get some clarification in case i am ever in this situation. Thanks |
|
![]() |
|
Contender443 ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 01 Oct 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1211 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
As Race Officer you should have said no comment on the first asking. You can't really comment until the time limit for protests has expired and you have received no protests. This could be seen as making a prior judgement which you cannot do.
Good question though. Is the committee boat a mark of the course and if so is there a water entitlement? If the answer is no then the boat forced to tack because they are to windward and overtaking has no case. |
|
Bonnie Lass Contender 1764
|
|
![]() |
|
Stefan Lloyd ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 03 Aug 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1599 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Mark An object the sailing instructions require a boat to leave on a specified side, and a race committee boat surrounded by navigable water from which the starting or finishing line extends.So leeward was in the wrong. I don't see any reason why as race officer you should either "no comment" or be expected to comment. The race officer isn't the protest committee. |
|
![]() |
|
lssyac ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 25 Jun 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 18 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Thanks for that. I knew something was not right with the situation, it didn't look right. As for saying something or nothing, i guess i should stay quiet as i would not like to give outside assistance. I remember sailing up at west kirby one year and we were supposed to go through the start line on each lap, anyway, just as we were sailing on a nice lift the wrong side of the committee boat, i noticed the whole of the race team were looking at us, saying nothing but they had a look on their faces, it jogged the memory of what we had to do, turn it round and get through the line. Outside assistance or not? Thanks for clarifying the thoughts/situation in my scenario. |
|
![]() |
|
Contender443 ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 01 Oct 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1211 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
So in this case (if I understand it correctly) the 2 boat length rule for water at the mark would apply. Also on the second point I imagined that the race officer would be involved as part of the race committee. Or at least he could be called as a witness by both parties hoping to prove their point. |
|
Bonnie Lass Contender 1764
|
|
![]() |
|
Stefan Lloyd ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 03 Aug 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1599 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Yes, 2BL applies at a finishing mark. At major events the race officer is not normally a member of a protest committee. At club level it's often a matter of rounding up whoever can be found. |
|
![]() |
|
jeffers ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3048 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Just one thing to throw in.....
If memory serves the '2 boat length rule' (referred to as 'the zone') is not actually a rule. I believe it is defined as 'about to round or pass' which is commonly considered to be 2 boat lengths but in heavy weather can be more depending on the amount of sail and boat handling required to round the mark. I could be wrong though..... As for protest committees do you not have to get agreement from both parties that they are happy with composition of the committee? I was involved at a protest in the Blaze nationals and they asked if both parties were happy (I was quite surprised). Paul |
|
Paul
---------------------- D-Zero GBR 74 |
|
![]() |
|
Stefan Lloyd ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 03 Aug 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1599 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I'm afraid you are. 2BL is specified in the RRS. I think some multihull class rules may override it but that would need to be referenced in the SIs. Standard protest committee procedures do indeed suggest that both parties are asked if they are happy with the composition of the committee.
|
|
![]() |
|
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6661 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Yes and No. You're quite correct about the water being required when about to pass rather than specifically 2BL, but 2BL is also in the rules as the point at which overlaps cannot be made or broken after - If you break an overlap within 2bl then its tough, you still have to let them in, and if you make an overlap after 2BL its tough, you've got no rights and have to bail out or do your turns. |
|
![]() |
|
jeffers ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3048 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Jim,
You are a master. I dug through and found the wording. The question that always gets asked is does the Zone count after the mark as well. IE are you safe from being luffed hard until you are outside of the Zone again or does it stop as you pass? I always assumed it was a circle around the mark. Paul |
|
Paul
---------------------- D-Zero GBR 74 |
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 12> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |