New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Mark Rounding II
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Mark Rounding II

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
john.d.knight View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 09 Jul 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 42
Post Options Post Options   Quote john.d.knight Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Mark Rounding II
    Posted: 11 Jan 06 at 1:38pm
http://www.finckh.org/rspiel/regeln/cases/case15.htm shows that the inside boat can carry on sailing when going up wind but if they were going down wind an inside boat is obliged to gybe on to the new course ASAP. Can someone explain why?
Pain is just weakness leaving the body.
Back to Top
Stefan Lloyd View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 03 Aug 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1599
Post Options Post Options   Quote Stefan Lloyd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jan 06 at 2:56pm

RRS 18.4b says an inside boat must gybe promptly if required to sail her proper course. It is different downwind because 18.4b says "gybe" but it does not say "tack".

If you are asking why the RRS were written that way, I have no idea.

 

Back to Top
Garry View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 18 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 536
Post Options Post Options   Quote Garry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jan 06 at 9:03pm
I'm making this up as I can't be bothered to get the rule book so could be totally wrong. At least one key statement in this case is there is no overlap. Therefore there is no obligation on the inside boat to sail her proper course.

The boat to leeward could luff but as a boat tacking has to keep clear of a boat on a tack, she can't go beyond head to wind (and must give A theopportunity to keep clear). A boat that by her own actions becomes a give way boat can't claim the time to respond at the point she must keep clear.

Tactically, you would only sail on if you wanted to sail B down the fleet. B can respond by luffing to head to wind in the hope it will force A to tack. Slowing down, tacking and dipping A's stern only leaves you in her dirty wind if A then tacked.

When going downwind a boat clear astern on the opposite gybe would be able to sail behind if the inside boat just sailed on or gybe behind if on the same tack.
Garry

Lark 2252, Contender 298

www.cuckoos.eclipse.co.uk
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy