Print Page | Close Window

Mark Rounding II

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=1367
Printed Date: 25 Jun 25 at 3:10am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: Mark Rounding II
Posted By: john.d.knight
Subject: Mark Rounding II
Date Posted: 11 Jan 06 at 1:38pm
http://www.finckh.org/rspiel/regeln/cases/case15.htm - http://www.finckh.org/rspiel/regeln/cases/case15.htm  shows that the inside boat can carry on sailing when going up wind but if they were going down wind an inside boat is obliged to gybe on to the new course ASAP. Can someone explain why?

-------------
Pain is just weakness leaving the body.



Replies:
Posted By: Stefan Lloyd
Date Posted: 11 Jan 06 at 2:56pm

RRS 18.4b says an inside boat must gybe promptly if required to sail her proper course. It is different downwind because 18.4b says "gybe" but it does not say "tack".

If you are asking why the RRS were written that way, I have no idea.

 



Posted By: Garry
Date Posted: 11 Jan 06 at 9:03pm
I'm making this up as I can't be bothered to get the rule book so could be totally wrong. At least one key statement in this case is there is no overlap. Therefore there is no obligation on the inside boat to sail her proper course.

The boat to leeward could luff but as a boat tacking has to keep clear of a boat on a tack, she can't go beyond head to wind (and must give A theopportunity to keep clear). A boat that by her own actions becomes a give way boat can't claim the time to respond at the point she must keep clear.

Tactically, you would only sail on if you wanted to sail B down the fleet. B can respond by luffing to head to wind in the hope it will force A to tack. Slowing down, tacking and dipping A's stern only leaves you in her dirty wind if A then tacked.

When going downwind a boat clear astern on the opposite gybe would be able to sail behind if the inside boat just sailed on or gybe behind if on the same tack.

-------------
Garry

Lark 2252, Contender 298

www.cuckoos.eclipse.co.uk



Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com