New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Mark to starboard
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Mark to starboard

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Mark to starboard
    Posted: 16 Aug 19 at 11:13pm
And I thought I was pointlessly nitpicking <g>.
Back to Top
ohFFsake View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 04 Sep 08
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 219
Post Options Post Options   Quote ohFFsake Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Aug 19 at 11:10pm
There I was thinking I'd broken it down into simple, clear steps, and once again Brass manages to make it clearer and simpler!
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Aug 19 at 9:41pm
Originally posted by ohFFsake

Was there contact?

If there was no contact, then B gave A room to keep clear unless A only kept clear by an unseamanlike action or a miracle.

If B altered course and immediately made contact with A it would seem a very clear case of 16.1. B is not obliged to anticipate or take account of A altering course as she rounds the mark. Even if A was still tacking B cannot alter course in order to hit her.

If A was able to avoid B despite them changing course then by definition A must have given her room to keep clear, so no rule broken..

If B, altering course has to adjust or delay her manoeuvre in order to avoid A then she is obliged to do so in order to initially give room to keep clear. Again no rule broken.

B acquires right of way because of A tacking.  Rule 15 does not require B, initially to give A room to keep clear.  It's only rule 16.

The only other scenario I can see is if B rounded up onto a steady course and came into conflict with A a few seconds later, with BA having made no attempt to avoid in the intervening time. From the description there doesn't seem to have been space for this to have happened in this case.

Rules are straightforward.  Detailed facts are needed to get the rules application right.



Edited by Brass - 16 Aug 19 at 9:48pm
Back to Top
ohFFsake View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 04 Sep 08
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 219
Post Options Post Options   Quote ohFFsake Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Aug 19 at 4:43pm
Was there contact?

If B altered course and immediately made contact with A it would seem a very clear case of 16.1. B is not obliged to anticipate or take account of A altering course as she rounds the mark. Even if A was still tacking B cannot alter course in order to hit her.

If A was able to avoid B despite them changing course then by definition A must have given her room to keep clear, so no rule broken..

If B, altering course has to adjust or delay her manoeuvre in order to avoid A then she is obliged to do so in order to initially give room to keep clear. Again no rule broken.

The only other scenario I can see is if B rounded up onto a steady course and came into conflict with A a few seconds later, with B having made no attempt to avoid in the intervening time. From the description there doesn't seem to have been space for this to have happened in this case.

Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Aug 19 at 1:20pm
16.1 When a right-of-way boat changes course, she shall give the other
boat room to keep clear.
Back to Top
Henmch View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Dec 15
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 18
Post Options Post Options   Quote Henmch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Aug 19 at 1:15pm
two similar dinghies A & B are rounding a leeward mark which has to be left to starboard.
On entering the zone A is nearly two boat lengths ahead of B.
A does a poor rounding ( not close to the mark) and about a boat length after rounding tacks onto port. They have completed their tack by the time B rounds the mark. B does a much closer rounding than A and stays on Starboard tack and calls “ starboard “ on boat A.
Boat A contends that they were keeping clear but boat B altered course in the action of rounding the mark and so they were unable to keep clear.
Discuss.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy