Print Page | Close Window

Mark to starboard

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=13382
Printed Date: 26 Jun 25 at 1:18am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: Mark to starboard
Posted By: Henmch
Subject: Mark to starboard
Date Posted: 16 Aug 19 at 1:15pm
two similar dinghies A & B are rounding a leeward mark which has to be left to starboard.
On entering the zone A is nearly two boat lengths ahead of B.
A does a poor rounding ( not close to the mark) and about a boat length after rounding tacks onto port. They have completed their tack by the time B rounds the mark. B does a much closer rounding than A and stays on Starboard tack and calls “ starboard “ on boat A.
Boat A contends that they were keeping clear but boat B altered course in the action of rounding the mark and so they were unable to keep clear.
Discuss.



Replies:
Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 16 Aug 19 at 1:20pm
16.1 When a right-of-way boat changes course, she shall give the other
boat room to keep clear.


Posted By: ohFFsake
Date Posted: 16 Aug 19 at 4:43pm
Was there contact?

If B altered course and immediately made contact with A it would seem a very clear case of 16.1. B is not obliged to anticipate or take account of A altering course as she rounds the mark. Even if A was still tacking B cannot alter course in order to hit her.

If A was able to avoid B despite them changing course then by definition A must have given her room to keep clear, so no rule broken..

If B, altering course has to adjust or delay her manoeuvre in order to avoid A then she is obliged to do so in order to initially give room to keep clear. Again no rule broken.

The only other scenario I can see is if B rounded up onto a steady course and came into conflict with A a few seconds later, with B having made no attempt to avoid in the intervening time. From the description there doesn't seem to have been space for this to have happened in this case.



Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 16 Aug 19 at 9:41pm
Originally posted by ohFFsake

Was there contact?

If there was no contact, then B gave A room to keep clear unless A only kept clear by an unseamanlike action or a miracle.

If B altered course and immediately made contact with A it would seem a very clear case of 16.1. B is not obliged to anticipate or take account of A altering course as she rounds the mark. Even if A was still tacking B cannot alter course in order to hit her.

If A was able to avoid B despite them changing course then by definition A must have given her room to keep clear, so no rule broken..

If B, altering course has to adjust or delay her manoeuvre in order to avoid A then she is obliged to do so in order to initially give room to keep clear. Again no rule broken.

B acquires right of way because of A tacking.  Rule 15 does not require B, initially to give A room to keep clear.  It's only rule 16.

The only other scenario I can see is if B rounded up onto a steady course and came into conflict with A a few seconds later, with BA having made no attempt to avoid in the intervening time. From the description there doesn't seem to have been space for this to have happened in this case.

Rules are straightforward.  Detailed facts are needed to get the rules application right.



Posted By: ohFFsake
Date Posted: 16 Aug 19 at 11:10pm
There I was thinking I'd broken it down into simple, clear steps, and once again Brass manages to make it clearer and simpler!


Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 16 Aug 19 at 11:13pm
And I thought I was pointlessly nitpicking <g>.



Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com