Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Tacking in zone |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 123 6> |
Author | ||
piglet ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 04 Jan 07 Online Status: Offline Posts: 514 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 04 Apr 16 at 6:00am |
|
Club handicap racing, starting from a club line, short starboard fetch to Mark 1 leaving Mark 1 to starboard, then beat to Mark 2.
200 clear ahead of Laser at start, clear ahead at 3 BL to M1 and clear ahead as she passes tight to M1. 200 now tacks onto port at about 1BL after the mark as was her intended course. Laser makes a better mark exit and has a slightly higher lane and therefore is forced to tack with 200 to avoid a collision. The discussion after centred on room vs tacking in another boats water. 18.2.c.2 seems to give 200 rights to her proper course as far as head to wind, while 16.1 seems to prohibit 200 from infringing Laser. Advice much appreciated. |
||
![]() |
||
jeffers ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3048 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Going through rule 18.
The 200 is entitled to Mark Room as per rule 18.2b as she is clear ahead. As soon as she passed head to wind her right to Mark Room ceases as per 18.2c plus she was no longer at the Mark (as you stated she was 1BL past the mark). Mark room only includes room to tack is the boat is to windward, overlapped and inside at the mark (as per the definition of Mark Room). So she did not have the room to tack as part of the Mark Room obligations. It would hinge on 3 things for me were I on a PC: 1) What was the separation between the 2 boats 2) Has the 200 completed her tack before the Laser started her mark rounding? if so: 3) Would the Laser have passed clear astern had she not altered course (i.e. rounded the mark) My gut feeling is that the boats were close, the 200 slid off wide due to a poor rounding and tacked but the Laser was already sailing higher so the 200 would get pinged.
|
||
Paul
---------------------- D-Zero GBR 74 |
||
![]() |
||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
200 reached the zone clear ahead of L on the same tack.
IF 200's proper course is to tack immediately after the mark, then as she luffs up to head to wind, she is sailing within the room to which she is entitled, and shall be exonerated if she breaks rule 16 (but not rule 14) (rule 21). Once 200 passes head to wind, boats cease to be overlapped, and the proper course for one (L) but not both is to tack, so:
If, in a protest hearing, 200 could not satisfy the protest committee that her proper course was to tack where she did, she would not be sailing within the room to which she was entitled, and would not be exonerated if she broke rule 16, and until she reached head to wind she would simply be a leeward (rught of way) boat luffing. In summary:
I agree with Jeffers that this looks like a poor rounding by 200, followed by dead set tacking into the Laser. To get off the hook 200 is going to have to prove:
We really need to know: was there contact? where on the boats and at what attitude? Edited by Brass - 04 Apr 16 at 7:48am |
||
![]() |
||
piglet ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 04 Jan 07 Online Status: Offline Posts: 514 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
In answer to Jeffers point about separation, opinion may be divided,
But Let's assume that L was not clear of the mark when 200 started her tack and L was close enough to 200 that an overlap was created as soon as 200 started to luff. Add to this there was slight tide running against the boats as they headed for M1, and wind was fairly light. This was a compounding factor in 200's decision of when to tack, tacking on the mark would have risked mark contact. |
||
![]() |
||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Was there contact?
If so:
|
||
![]() |
||
jeffers ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3048 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
As there was conjecture over the separation it will come down to who can convince the PC their version was correct (aka 'lie best' in the protest room as someone put it in a recent rules evening we had).
Unless of course there was a witness.....
|
||
Paul
---------------------- D-Zero GBR 74 |
||
![]() |
||
davidyacht ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 05 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1345 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Not very smart course setting, starboard hand first mark is probably going to lead to disquiet.
I guess that when I round a mark to starboard from a fetch to a beat with someone close behind I am looking to do a very tidy luff and tack. My guess is that RS200 was trying to prevent a possible overlap, which prevented a good wide in - tight out rounding (not allowed in a "mark room" situation now I know). I shall follow the thread with interest, but I would have thought that if the RS200 misses the opportunity to do a tidy luff and snappy tack in the mark room lane, it will prove best to keep on the same tack whilst looking over his shoulder and postpone tacking until the Laser puts his helm down. A bit of windward heel and dirty air from the 200 would have encouraged the Laser to either bear off behind or tack ASAP.
|
||
Happily living in the past
|
||
![]() |
||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6661 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
If the PC finds someone is deliberately lying in a hearing then a further Rule 69 hearing would be appropriate. |
||
![]() |
||
jeffers ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3048 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Is it a lie if they believe it to be true? Good luck proving that and proving any deliberate attempt to deceive....
|
||
Paul
---------------------- D-Zero GBR 74 |
||
![]() |
||
piglet ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 04 Jan 07 Online Status: Offline Posts: 514 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Good assessment, there was also a 2nd 200 inches to leeward of the 1st 200 applying pressure and sucking the air out of the rig. Brass, there was no boat contact. |
||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 123 6> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |