Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Room to clear a moving obstruction |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 12> |
Author | ||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 14 May 14 at 12:11am |
|
See updates to my previous post.
S gets mark-room the instant she passes head to wind, which is the same instant she loses right of way and the same instant the obligation to give room to pass under rule 19 ceases to apply between PW and PL, and is replaced by the obligation to give room to give mark-room (Case 114). Which boat were you and what are the conclusions of the protest committee you want to appeal against?
|
||
![]() |
||
bowrat ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 13 May 14 Location: New Zealand Online Status: Offline Posts: 3 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Brilliant thanks, need to find that Appeal form now
Cheers, next time I'll ask before the Protest hearing!, thought I had it covered but this adds some assistance in explanation for PC doing the interpretations, Ta
|
||
![]() |
||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Starting point as shown in diagram before S tacks, and supposing S is 1.5 hull lengths to downwind of the mark.
While S is changing course towards the wind up until she is head to wind, she remains on starboard tack and both PW and PL are required to keep clear of her (rule 10), PW is required to keep clear of PL (rule 11) but PL is required to give PW room to pass between her and S (rule 19.2( b )). Once S passes head to wind
When S reaches her close hauled course on port, rule 13 ceases to apply and she will be to windward of PW and PL and required to keep clear of both of them (rule 11) but still entitled to mark-room. Edited by Brass - 14 May 14 at 2:25am |
||
![]() |
||
bowrat ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 13 May 14 Location: New Zealand Online Status: Offline Posts: 3 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
sorry forgot to repost your pic, the Finish mark is bottom of the little 'd' in wind, all boats to leave the mark to port
![]() |
||
![]() |
||
bowrat ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 13 May 14 Location: New Zealand Online Status: Offline Posts: 3 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
What if S now is required to tack?
For instance if he now needed to tack to cross the finish line. Which is approximately placed at the bottom of the 'd' in 'Wind' in your diagram? Is W relieved of his obligation to keep clear once S has tacked?
|
||
![]() |
||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Yes.
Actually, in the scenario diagrammed in Case 11, PL may NOT hail for room to tack, because she is already sailing a course to pass clear astern of S, and thus she can avoid the obstruction safely without making a substantial course change, so rule 20.1( a ) cuts off her entitlement.
|
||
![]() |
||
jeffers ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3048 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Thanks Brass.
So L decides but if they decide to duck (or pass astern even if they do not need to change their course) rather than tack they must also give room for W to pass astern.
|
||
Paul
---------------------- D-Zero GBR 74 |
||
![]() |
||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Didn't mean to be snarky and apparently I was a bit cryptic <g>. I think you are missing the point. L, not W, is in control and has the choice which side of S to pass on. L has the choice. If she ducks behind S, she must also give W room in accordance with rule 19.2. If she wishes to tack away, she may give a rule 20 hail and W must respond. Nobody 'calls' for anything except a round of drinks afterwards. Case 11 is the standard exposition of this situation and it's described in every commentary ever written. CASE 11 Definition, Obstruction Rule 14, Avoiding Contact Rule 19.2(b), Room to Pass an Obstruction: Giving Room at an Obstruction Rule 20.1, Room to Tack at an Obstruction: Hailing Rule 21(a), Exoneration When boats are overlapped at an obstruction, including an obstruction that is a right-of-way boat, the outside boat must give the inside boat room to pass between her and the obstruction. Summary of the Facts ![]() PW and PL, close-hauled on port tack and overlapped, approached S on the windward leg. PL could pass safely astern of S. PW, on a collision course with S, hailed PL for room to pass astern of S when PW and PL were about three hull lengths from S. PL ignored the hail and maintained her course. When PW bore away to avoid S, she and PL had slight beam72 to-beam contact with no damage or injury. PW protested under rule 19.2(b). The protest committee held that rule 19.2(b) did not apply, stating that PW could easily have tacked into the open water to windward to keep clear, and should have done so. PW was disqualified under rule 11 and appealed. Wind Decision S was an obstruction to PW and PL because both PW and PL would need to change course substantially if they were sailing directly towards S and were one hull length from her, and because they both were required by rule 10 to keep clear of her (see the definition Obstruction). Under rule 19.2(a), PL, as the right-of-way boat, was entitled to pass S on either side. She chose to pass to leeward of S. Therefore, under rule 19.2(b) PW was entitled to room to pass between PL and the stern of S. PL did not give PW that room, so PL broke rule 19.2(b). PL was subject to rule 14, but since she held right of way over PW and there was no damage or injury, she is exonerated for breaking that rule (see rule 14(b)). PW could not have known that PL was not going to give sufficient room until she was committed to pass between S and PL. PW broke rule 11, but she did so while sailing within the room to which she was entitled by rule 19.2(b). Therefore, as required by rule 21(a), PW is exonerated for breaking rule 11. Also, when it became clear that PL was not giving room, it was not reasonably possible for PW to avoid the contact that occurred, so PW did not break rule 14. PW was not required to ‘tack into open water to windward to keep clear’ because PL did not hail under rule 20.1 for room to tack and avoid S. Had PL hailed, PW would have been required by rules 20.2(b) and 20.2(c) to respond even though rule 20.1(a) prohibited PL from hailing because she did not have to make any change of course to avoid S. PW’s appeal is upheld. The decision of the protest committee disqualifying PW is reversed. PW is reinstated, and PL is disqualified for breaking rule 19.2(b). Edited by Brass - 06 Jan 14 at 9:32pm |
||
![]() |
||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6661 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
I imagine Brass meant to paste in 19.2 (b) as well
I don't think there's no actual requirement for W to hail for the room, although it makes sense to do so. So yeah, reckon the OP is correct. |
||
![]() |
||
jeffers ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3048 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Sorry work is manic at the moment! But that is exactly what I was thinking of so W can either call for room or tack away.
|
||
Paul
---------------------- D-Zero GBR 74 |
||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 12> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |