Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Winward mark rounding |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1234> |
Author | |||
Roger ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 23 Mar 04 Location: Somerset Online Status: Offline Posts: 524 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 02 Sep 09 at 3:14pm |
||
No I can't see your diagram either.........
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Scooby_simon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 02 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 2415 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Better now? |
|||
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
|
|||
![]() |
|||
ham4sand ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() ![]() Joined: 27 Jul 09 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 452 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
i can now
|
|||
John Hamilton
cherub 2645 - cheese before bedtime cherub 3209 - anatidaephobia laser 176847 - kiss this |
|||
![]() |
|||
Stefan Lloyd ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 03 Aug 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1599 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Yes thanks and that's an interesting tactic I haven't previously come across.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
When a boat enters the zone clear ahead on starboard at a mark to be left to starboard then she is entitled to mark room from any boat that is clear astern on the same tack, or overlapped on the outside.
However, if the boat is clear ahead mark room does not include room to tack. As soon as she passes beyond head to wind rule 13 applies and she must keep clear. She is effectively pinned on starboard and cannot tack to round the mark. On the other hand if a boat is overlapped to windward and on the inside of the boat required to give mark room, mark room does include room to tack. So the standard team/match racing tactic is to slow as soon as first boat enters zone if she has a boat following clear astern, in the hope that the following boat ha s to dip to avoid contact. In which case leading boat has room to tack. In team racing following boat may well slow as well, to allow team mates to catch up. Gordon |
|||
Gordon
|
|||
![]() |
|||
damp_freddie ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() ![]() Joined: 20 Oct 05 Location: Aruba Online Status: Offline Posts: 339 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
right, should be easier with the diagram and info now-
first, a boat which is clear ahead (most likely here) on the same tack or has inside overlap to a boat on the same tack has right to mark room "However, mark-room does not include room to tack unless the boat is overlapped to windward and on the inside of the boat required to give mark-room." so if the Solo was on a higher lane (when they were both on stb) then he can pin the guy in the Snipe out, even after the zone is entered, ....... .....whereas if he is either behind or to leeward at the time of the 3 boat zone entered by Mr Snipe then he had no rights to do this another bit of an interesting case actually |
|||
![]() |
|||
ColPrice2002 ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 25 Nov 08 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 222 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
It's not really changed from the old rules (1980's), The tactics are as described - or:- IF the Snipe was on port and close to the river bank, then it hails "Water" if it can't tack without hiting the Solo (may need to slow a bit...). The Solo must either tack - or hail "you tack". The Snipe tacks, fetches the mark, and the Solo now only has the inside overlap for rights.
Really it's down to the Race Committee to be careful in organising the course to reduce these problems.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Scooby_simon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 02 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 2415 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Colin, you mean "room to tack". "Water" was the old rules. |
|||
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
|
|||
![]() |
|||
damp_freddie ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() ![]() Joined: 20 Oct 05 Location: Aruba Online Status: Offline Posts: 339 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
This has nothing to do with rule 19- it is a narrow river but the case described it is just about rule 18 and the new definition for Mark Room In the diagram, given "red" is the solo then he had no right to call starboard as the Snipe is clear ahead, to windward and overlapped inside before the three legnth zone. Is the diagram what happened? If the solo was pointing at the mark and the Snipe was to leeward then he can call. |
|||
![]() |
|||
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Sorry to be pedantic but Room to Tack at an Obstruction is now rule 20, because the old rule 18 at marks and obstructions is now split into rule 18 "Mark Room" and rule 19 "Room to Pass an Obstruction"
I agree that this case is a rule 18 case Gordon |
|||
Gordon
|
|||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1234> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |