Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
simple as port starboard? |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <12345> |
Author | |
sargesail ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 14 Jan 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1459 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 21 Feb 09 at 12:01am |
No point in handicap racing full stop!
|
|
![]() |
|
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Sorry to be pedantic - but there is absolutely nothing in the definition of mark-room that could lead an inside overlapped keep clear boat to be entitled to make a "tactical" (wide in-tight out) rounding. The first word in the definition is "room" which is itself defined in the rules as the space a boat needs in the existing condiions while manoeuvring promptly in a seamanlike manner. If a boat does not have right of way under a part 2 section A rule then she is NOT entitled to make a tactical rounding merely a seamanlike one. Please remember that Section C At Marks and Obsructions do not confer right of way on any boat - according to the preamble to Section A sections B,C and D limit the ations of a right of way boat.
An inside overlapped keep clear boat still has an obligation to keep clear - Rule 18 imposes a limitation on the right of way boat which must allow the keep clear boat room to sail to the mark and, when at the mark, sail her proper course. In this case keep clear boat must sail TO the mark - not to some point a boat length or so to one side of the mark. The whole point of the new rules 18, 19 and 20 are that they do NOT overide the rules of part 2, section A Gordon |
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
|
sargesail ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 14 Jan 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1459 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Gordon, I have been witing for your post with interest! And I am not surprised to see you say that. It is a much sounder prospect. Unfortunately the interpretations of proper course that have formed the basis of this discussion have been pedelled in print at various coaching sessions and it will be interesting to see how long it takes to be sorted out. Not dissimilar to what happened when tacking inside 2 lengths first came out. I was protested at the CHS/IRC Nats for tacking inside 2 lengths by a massively overstood boat that did not luff above closehauled. Both parties agreed those facts but and that I was tack complete, and that was found as facts but the PC still nearly lobbed us! When they revisited the wording we were OK but their perception had been shaped (as had the other skippers view) by some poor coaching |
|
![]() |
|
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Sargesail,
Thank you for your last posting. I believe that there was some initial confusion. Indeed an eminent international judge did publish an article in a leading yachting journal claiming that an inside keep clear boat could make a tactical rounding. In the following edition of the same publication he then gave a new opinion, which is as I stated earlier. At the recent RYA Race Official Conference it was made clear that an keep clear boat was NOT entitled to any more than room to sail to the mark. I would hope that judges, umpires and coaches everywhere are now all saying the same thing. Protest hearings can veer of the straight and narrow. One way for you to get the committee back on course - if you can do it - is to use your right to sum up - to give your conclusion in the terms used by the rules. For instance, in the case you cited if you clearly state "I completed a tack within the 2 boat lengths and kept clear while doing so. When my tack was complete I was clear ahead/overlapped to leeward and had established right of way. I initially gave room for the other boat to keep clear. The other boat kept clear and did not have to sail above close hauled in order to do so." If you can quote the rule numbers as you go so much the better. Gordon |
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
|
sargesail ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 14 Jan 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1459 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Yes - that's pretty much what I did. Thankfully the committee didn't quite follow normal procedure and allowed a "second" summing up before finalising it's decision! I have a feeling that the chairman and his wing men weren't quite in agreement (he holding the correct interpretation). It's just a shame that the wrong interpretation has already spread (as evidenced above!). It will take some time to correct. Matt |
|
![]() |
|
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
It often happens that the chairman and his/her colleagues do not agree. This is often the case when you have a qualified judge chairing and ordianry club members helping out. It is the duty of the chairman to ensure that his colleagues are making a decision based on the current rules rather than the rules they learnt some time ago.
For instance I had one case of a simple port and starboard that one of my colleagues could not see as a failure to keep clear because there had been no contact (case involving 35 footers tacking in heavy weather through a narrow channel!). So we worked through the rule book and the case book so that, eventually he agreed that an incident described as very dangerous by a witness (alos a judge and umpire) was in fact a breach of the rules. Exhausting work, especially as we had a few more potests to get through before we could hit the beer! Gordon |
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
|
dics ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 05 Oct 05 Online Status: Offline Posts: 317 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I attended a rules update course run by the RYA with a couple of judges and they interprted the rules as you are allowed mark-room for tactical purposes because "Mark-room" definition includes "proper course" and if your proper course is to get around the race track is a fast as possible which will mean wide in and tight out then you are entitled to that mark-room. Mark room is not just "room" to sail around a mark it is room to sail your proper cousre around the mark. Even if it means the boat giving mark-room can not sail her proper course. If mark room for a proper course is not given and some disaster happens then the inside boat will exnorated under 18.5 and the boat required to give mark-room will be penalised. They both agreed that the word "to" as in "to the mark" will be hotly disputed. That was their take on it and it will be interesting to see what cases evolve. |
|
![]() |
|
jeffers ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3048 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I have to say I agree with dics (and I believe Bryan Willis (or is it Willets I can never remember) does too.
Now that the mark room definition includes proper course you cannot squeeze someone against the mark so they slide wide on the exit as this clearly is not their proper course. Discuss...... |
|
Paul
---------------------- D-Zero GBR 74 |
|
![]() |
|
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
dics,
When did you go to your rules update? As I said, even very eminent IJs have published one opinion then another. As I understand the "great and the good" who discussed this at the RYA Conference - the definition of mark room is room to sail TO the mark (not at some point a boat length from the mark) and then room when AT the mark to sail a proper course. A boat is at the mark when they are no longer sailing TO (as in "in the direction" of) but are required, in order to sail their proper course, to change course. In other words - the outside right of way boat must give inside keep clear boat room to change course AT the mark in order to round the mark and sail on to the course to the next mark. No more than that. There is no obligation on the outside right of way boat to give room to inside keep clear boat to do a tactical rounding whilst inside keep clear boat is sailing TO the mark. It should be remembered that in the absence of the mark the keep clear boat wuld have ot do just that - keep clear - and that right of way boat would be able to sail as she wished. Because there is a mark to be rounded there is a limitation on right of way boat's rights, but this is not give keep clear boat any right to sail a course To the mark and then sail round the mark. Gordon |
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
|
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Check the definition of mark-room: Two phases: from
the edge of the zone to the mark: direct course only, no proper course entitlement, then at the mark, proper course. Read exhausting discussion of this, with links to the wrong and right YW articles here: http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com/2009/01/tactical-rounding- with-mark-room.html and here http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com/2009/02/tactical-rounding- with-mark-room-4.html |
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <12345> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |