simple as port starboard?
Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=5171
Printed Date: 26 Jun 25 at 5:39pm Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Topic: simple as port starboard?
Posted By: dics
Subject: simple as port starboard?
Date Posted: 16 Feb 09 at 1:48pm
I quick and easy question.
I was on staboard approachhing the leeward mark (starboard rounding) when a twin wire assymetric thing came in on port I called starboard and he replied he had water due to as he had an overlap at the zone. I gave water and he dropped and gybed in the zone, we all made our nice mark roundings.
Even though I was debious about his rules interptation and whether he even had an overlap (it was hard to tell due to the angles we both were laying the mark) I still gave room in as it was there in order for me to get a good mark rounding.
My questions are:
If he did have an overlap would he be entitled to room?
And if it is unceratin whether an overlap was established what should have happened?
Giving the fact that he was reaching at a great number of knots and he would not be able to change course at a snap without all hell breaking lose it was obviously best to let him go anyway.
Cheers
|
Replies:
Posted By: Jamesd
Date Posted: 16 Feb 09 at 2:15pm
Yes, as long as he had an overlap he had rights to room at the mark.
remember with assymetrics they sail the angles rather than more dead downwind of conventional boats, so the overlap angles are far greater, meaning that nearly half the race track (the guys that went left down the run mainly) owe him water.
draw the situation on a bit of paper and draw a line coming off the transom to show the overlap and you will see its quite obvious that he has an overlap.
you can effectively ignore the port starboard rule within the 3 (or whatever size the s.i's state) zone. its only really an issue at the windward mark and even then its not completely true, as port boats do have some rights.
|
Posted By: Jamesd
Date Posted: 16 Feb 09 at 2:22pm
Rule 18 applies between boats when they are required to leave a
mark on the same side and at least one of them is in the zone. However,
it does not apply
(a) between boats on opposite tacks on a beat to windward,
(b) between boats on opposite tacks when the proper course at the
mark for one but not both of them is to tack,
(c) between a boat approaching a mark and one leaving it, or
(d) if the mark is a continuing obstruction, in which case rule 19
applies.
The leeward mark doesnt satisfy any of the above exceptions so therefore you have to consider the inside boat as having rights, even if the inside poat is on port and not starboard.
|
Posted By: alstorer
Date Posted: 16 Feb 09 at 6:35pm
He is entitled to mark room, however consensus seems to be that he's not entitled to do a "tactical" rounding.
------------- -_
Al
|
Posted By: Rockhopper
Date Posted: 16 Feb 09 at 7:56pm
i had almost the same thing a couple of years ago i was on starboard coming into the two boat lenghs when a boat came in asked for water and gybed right in front of me with me having not a lot of choice but to luff up avoid a collision therefore becoming the inside boat.i tried to protest the other boat on grounds that it was unsporting conduct ie gybing right in front of me giving no where to go apart from hitting him or going above him even though i had a witness i still lost cause i should have given him room.
umm it was intresting a vareo against a rs 400
andy
------------- Retired now after 35 seasons in a row and time for a rest.
2004 national champ Laser5000
2007,2010,National Champ Rs Vareo
|
Posted By: jeffers
Date Posted: 17 Feb 09 at 7:46am
Had a similar situation to this a few of years back at the Fireball Nationals. It was light winds so running dead downwnd was sooooooo slow that everyone was 'sailing the angles' most of the fleet went right, we went left.
As we approached the mark on Starboard we started calling for water to be me by many surprised shout of 'no you have not etc...' When i replied we had an overlap and had so for most of the leg due to the different angles they grudingly gave way but not without shout of protest.... We all had a chat off the water and they agreed we made a smart move and were correct (we overtook half the fleet).
I believe now that Mark Room does entitle you to make a 'racing' rounding (ie wide in tight out).
Remember the Overlap line is the line across your transom which now starts at 3boat lengths (unless your club has varied this). So he could be a long way away and have an overlap, whether or not he can do anything with it is another matter!
I would say from your description that he was in the right, the only question mark would be the precise angles and establishing if he has the overlap when it was required.
------------- Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
|
Posted By: alstorer
Date Posted: 17 Feb 09 at 8:33am
Originally posted by jeffers
I believe now that Mark Room does entitle you to make a 'racing' rounding (ie wide in tight out).
|
I don't, not from reading things such as http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com/2009/02/tactical-rounding-with-mark-room-4.html - this , which would indicate that you would only get room for a "racing" rounding if you'd otherwise by the RoW boat anyway (ie if, thanks to the course layout, you were on starboard AND inside boat.
------------- -_
Al
|
Posted By: thenewpete
Date Posted: 17 Feb 09 at 11:01am
This is quite intresting about the how much room.
reading this http://members.home.nl/jmspijkerman/BLOGFiles/MarkRoomUK2o.pdf - http://members.home.nl/jmspijkerman/BLOGFiles/MarkRoomUK2o.p df
at the bootom of the two pages. I cannot see (within the rrs) why a windward boat cannot sail their proper course around the mark. it may just be me but the way im interpreting it is that if two boats are on port, overlapped and rounding a bouy to port, the inside boat is to windward, and she cannot bear away to sail the course she would like to sail (proper course) as she will break rule 11. and according to the article she is not exonerated even though the rules say she is exonerated from rules of part A (in which rule 11 is written) if the outside boat is not giving her mark room. the definition of mark room is:
Mark-Room Room for a boat to sail to the mark, and then room to sail her proper course while at the mark. However, mark-room does not include room to tack unless the boat is overlapped to windward and on the inside of the boat required to give mark-room.
ignoring the second sentence it clearly states that you can sail your proper course which is the course you would sail in the abscence of other boats, i.e. out wide and in tight for a leeward mark.
im bloody confused. i went to a rules seminar and we went through mark roundings. and the international jury did state that you are now entitled to make a racing rounding.
i dont see why the article states that you cannot if you are windward boat. am i missing something blatently obvious here?
|
Posted By: English Dave
Date Posted: 17 Feb 09 at 12:20pm
Pete
As I understand it, once the entitlement for Mark Room
has been established the Outside boat should give enough
room for the inside one to sail a proper course. If both
boats are really tight on the mark that may mean the
outside boat bearing off a little. If the outside boat
does not she has not given Mark Room and has then
committed a foul. However, for the inside boat to "take"
room by bearing off into the outside boat breaks Rule 11
and Rule 14 and has committed a foul herself.
So the Inside boats best option is to Protest based on
the fact that she was given insufficient mark room. If
she take the "law" into her own hands by creating room
then she will end up DSQ.
This rule will keep Protest Committees busy for sure. As
an asymmetric Cat sailor I need a fair amount of Mark
Room as I cannot turn on a sixpence without stalling.
Lasers don't need so much perhaps. But how much room
would a Laser sailor anticipate I would need based on
his/her sailing experiences if we were racing in a club
handicap?
(Actually for club racing it is an unwritten rule that
we -cats- just go wide on leeward marks. It saves time
and
makes us less prone to attack by "Topper Mums" back on
shore.)
------------- English Dave
http://www.ballyholme.com - Ballyholme Yacht Club
(You'd think I'd be better at it by now)
Hurricane 5.9 SX
RS700
|
Posted By: dics
Date Posted: 17 Feb 09 at 2:54pm
Guys, thanks for all the replies. Reading the rules is one thing but remembering them is another. I am eagerly waiting for my new copy of racing rules in pratice to drop on the door mat.
|
Posted By: thenewpete
Date Posted: 17 Feb 09 at 4:14pm
ahhh cheers dave. that makes alot of sense.
im sure that wil cause some grief. probably not the best thing to go into a protest room with, especially as the plaintiff, because as with alot of rules, its very wishy-washy, i mean how much room do you need? how do you prove how much room you didnt have. unless of course you hit the bouy, but then you are still require to do turns (unless you may hit the bouy within the class rules) as its not covered under exoneration.
i think ill suggest to them when i call for water next time, that i require enough room to sail my proper course. it will get people thinking along the right lines.
|
Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 17 Feb 09 at 10:50pm
Originally posted by English Dave
As I understand it, once the entitlement for Mark Room has been established the Outside boat should give enough room for the inside one to sail a proper course..) |
Two phases: from the edge of the zone to the mark: IW is only entitled to room to sail her direct course: at the mark, IW is entitled to sail her proper course to get fastest to the next mark.
Originally posted by English Dave
If both boats are really tight on the mark that may mean the outside boat bearing off a little. If the outside boat does not she has not given Mark Room and has then committed a foul..) |
And according to Bryan Willis, OL needs to be steering a course sufficiently outside the mark to allow IW room to round it (2xBmax?), at the instant the first boat reaches the zone.
Originally posted by English Dave
However, for the inside boat to "take" room by bearing off into the outside boat breaks Rule 11 and Rule 14 and has committed a foul herself..) |
But once she is at the mark, as long as she is taking 'mark-room to which she is entitled' she shall be exonerated under rule 18.5 for breaking rule 11, and, as long as contact does cause damage or injury, shall not be penalised under rule 14 (rule 14(b)).
I think that once at the mark, IW could bear away and 'flare' a little to create more room, but there may be a dispute about whether she was at or to the mark, and whether she bore away too far.
Originally posted by English Dave
So the Inside boats best option is to Protest based on the fact that she was given insufficient mark room. If she take the "law" into her own hands by creating room then she will end up DSQ..) |
If there's no contact with something then a 'room' protest is hard to win.
Originally posted by English Dave
This rule will keep Protest Committees busy for sure..) |
Why? there is no game change.
Originally posted by English Dave
As an asymmetric Cat sailor I need a fair amount of Mark Room as I cannot turn on a sixpence without stalling. Lasers don't need so much perhaps. But how much room would a Laser sailor anticipate I would need based on his/her sailing experiences if we were racing in a club handicap? .) |
No-one is interested in how much room he 'anticipates' you need (unless you are getting into really arcane stuff about rule 14(a)). What counts is how much room the protest committee decided you needed to sail your proper course at the mark. If the PC are all laser sailors, then you might be stuck.
Originally posted by English Dave
(Actually for club racing it is an unwritten rule that we -cats- just go wide on leeward marks. It saves time and makes us less prone to attack by "Topper Mums" back on shore.) |
And you don't like being attacked by Topper Mums because .....?
|
Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 17 Feb 09 at 11:02pm
Originally posted by thenewpete
how do you prove how much room you didnt have. unless of course you hit the bouy, but then you are still require to do turns (unless you may hit the bouy within the class rules) as its not covered under exoneration. |
If a boat does not give your mark-room to which you are entitled and forces you to hit the mark you are entitled to exoneration under rule 64.1(c).
Difference between 18.5 and 64.1(c) exoneration is that for 64.1(c), you have to be compelled to break a rule (like rule 31), while for 18.5, you just have to be taking room to which you are entitled without compulsion: a pretty fine shade of meaning, but OL might argue that although he did not give your enough room to sail your proper course, he didn't push you up so far that he forced you to hit the mark.
|
Posted By: thenewpete
Date Posted: 18 Feb 09 at 8:47am
Hmmm this gets more and more confusing.
My interpretations after sieving through books, is that you are entitled enough room when you are at the mark, to make a proper course rounding. for arguments sake wide in, tight out, which say in a laser requires 10feet of room. You cannot take anymore than these ten feet, otherwise you will have broken rule 18.4. you are required to avoid contact, so you cannot "barge" yourself some room, i.e. if the outside boat gives you only 6 foot, all you can do is take the 6 foot and protest. if contact occurs in that 6 foot you are exonerated as long as it was without intention.
I believe you can squeeze the outside boat out enough to make a proper course rounding in this example, 10 feet. but if the outside boat is having none of it, you cannot make contact with him as you are not avoiding contact rule 14a
the rule 14, Avoiding Contact, reads
a boat shall avoid contact with another boat if reasonably possible. However, a right-of-way boat or one entitled room or mark-room
(a) need not act to avoid contact until it is clear that the other boat is not keeping clear or giving room or mark-room
(b) shall not be penalized under this rule unless there is contact that causes damage or injury.
basically you can bear away or luff up, as long as the other outside boat is bearing away also i.e. their bow is pointing away from the mark, but if they are not playing ball, when you bear away to gain the room you are entitled, you cannot hit them as this is not avoiding contact and is a breach of rule 14(a).
But does Rule 14(b) not contradict rule 14(a)?? If you cannot be penalised, if you are right of way boat/entitled to mark-room, unless you cause damage or injury. so surely in a bullet proof boat like a pico rule 14(a) doesnt exist (unless heaven forbid, you injure someone) and you can barge yourself some room without being penalised?
god this is so confusing/grey its making my brain hurt thinking about it
|
Posted By: English Dave
Date Posted: 18 Feb 09 at 9:58am
With all due respect to Brass, my answer still stands. The OL boat has to give mark room or face protest, likewise the IW cannot barge to make room.
Topper Mums are scary if you kill their children. Don't know why.
Back on subject, I was trying to think how this would work for both IW and OL boats tactically. IW wants mark room in order to make a fast rounding and keep her as windward boat after the mark. OL does not want to end up underneath IW after the mark as she will stay buried for the next upwind leg. So does it make any sense for the OL to squeeze the IW at the mark?
I don't think so. Surely (and I accept this ignores all the other boats on the race track) OL needs to bear off big style in order to fall clear behind IW and then make a very tight rounding and perhaps get upwind of IW after the mark. It's an accepted practice that if you enter the zone clear ahead but with another boat up yr chuff you slow up as much as possible to force the other boat to the outside and thus take your dirty air on the next leg. So I see no benefit in OL trying to luff or squeze the IW round the mark. It slows IW's rounding but also slows OL by the same action. And leaves OL still to leeward which is a poor place to be for the next leg. The only time it might work for OL is when the overlap is minimal and OL manages to end up on IW's lee bow after the mark, forcing the IW to tack off.
------------- English Dave
http://www.ballyholme.com - Ballyholme Yacht Club
(You'd think I'd be better at it by now)
Hurricane 5.9 SX
RS700
|
Posted By: sargesail
Date Posted: 18 Feb 09 at 11:09am
The tactical opportunity occurs for any boats behind.
Given that OL should/could be giving more mark room than under the old rules when IW was not entitled, there is a greater likelihood of a gap for Clear astern (CA) to sail into in a safe windward position.
For OL the decision as to whether to round outside and ahead in safe leeward/lee bow position or to slow and come inside is probably shifted further in favour of slow and inside since the former will be harder to obtain.
|
Posted By: ColPrice2002
Date Posted: 18 Feb 09 at 1:10pm
Hmm,
But, Clear Astern has no rounding rights (because of the 3 length zone), so as OL rounds up, CA is now caught a) without rights to room for the mark and b) most likely windward boat.
If you can't argue that you had mark room, then you don't have rights to round the mark, so CA has to head up, and either hit OL or the mark... Avoidng contact with another boat is probably more important, so it's penalty turn time.
|
Posted By: sargesail
Date Posted: 18 Feb 09 at 2:19pm
You've not exactly understood what I meant. At leeward marks there is often an opportunity for CA to turn inside OL, ending up in one of 3 positions:
CA of IW and CA of OL (OL and IW remain overlapped) but in a safe windward position with respect to OL. OL suffers more in the downwind, as opposed to lee bow, dirty air from IW, and can not luff. CA is in a passing lane.
CA of IW and overlapped with OL (OL and IW remain overlapped). Presence of IW limits ability of OL to close the gap. As above - CA is in a passing lane.
CA of IW and overlapped with OL (OL and IW are not overlapped). CA is no longer "protected" by IW, and there is greater risk of OL shutting the door as described in your post. However often OL will struggle to do so without serious detriment to her own position.
Under the new rules OL is likely to be further from the mark, increasing the oportunities for CA in each of the examples above.
|
Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 18 Feb 09 at 10:12pm
Originally posted by English Dave
Back on subject, I was trying to think how this would work for both IW and OL boats tactically. IW wants mark room in order to make a fast rounding and keep her as windward boat after the mark. OL does not want to end up underneath IW after the mark as she will stay buried for the next upwind leg. So does it make any sense for the OL to squeeze the IW at the mark? |
Good tactical application of the rule Dave and Sarge.
OL pushing close will work when OL is well advanced on IW and has a chance of coming away in a lee bow position.
Otherwise the rule will 'play' when OL is a little bit clueless: improperly tries to close the door, rounds up, just thinks luffing is a good idea and so on.
|
Posted By: English Dave
Date Posted: 19 Feb 09 at 9:11am
OL should never have let herself get in that situation in any case. She should have luffed much higher than the mark well in advance of the zone, then born off hard just before the zone to break overlap. This assumes the overlap had been ongoing for some time. If not and IW had just established overlap just before the zone then OL should have seen her coming and, again, driven high to avoid being rolled, either taking IW with her or forcing her to the outside where she would have been buried as the new OL.
This only makes any sense if the two boats are of similar handicap. If there is a vast difference in speed then let the faster boat go and get on with your own racing. No point in an Oppie match-racing a 49er.
------------- English Dave
http://www.ballyholme.com - Ballyholme Yacht Club
(You'd think I'd be better at it by now)
Hurricane 5.9 SX
RS700
|
Posted By: sargesail
Date Posted: 21 Feb 09 at 12:01am
No point in handicap racing full stop!
|
Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 22 Feb 09 at 9:23am
Sorry to be pedantic - but there is absolutely nothing in the definition of mark-room that could lead an inside overlapped keep clear boat to be entitled to make a "tactical" (wide in-tight out) rounding. The first word in the definition is "room" which is itself defined in the rules as the space a boat needs in the existing condiions while manoeuvring promptly in a seamanlike manner. If a boat does not have right of way under a part 2 section A rule then she is NOT entitled to make a tactical rounding merely a seamanlike one. Please remember that Section C At Marks and Obsructions do not confer right of way on any boat - according to the preamble to Section A sections B,C and D limit the ations of a right of way boat.
An inside overlapped keep clear boat still has an obligation to keep clear - Rule 18 imposes a limitation on the right of way boat which must allow the keep clear boat room to sail to the mark and, when at the mark, sail her proper course. In this case keep clear boat must sail TO the mark - not to some point a boat length or so to one side of the mark.
The whole point of the new rules 18, 19 and 20 are that they do NOT overide the rules of part 2, section A
Gordon
------------- Gordon
|
Posted By: sargesail
Date Posted: 22 Feb 09 at 3:05pm
Gordon,
I have been witing for your post with interest! And I am not surprised to see you say that. It is a much sounder prospect. Unfortunately the interpretations of proper course that have formed the basis of this discussion have been pedelled in print at various coaching sessions and it will be interesting to see how long it takes to be sorted out.
Not dissimilar to what happened when tacking inside 2 lengths first came out. I was protested at the CHS/IRC Nats for tacking inside 2 lengths by a massively overstood boat that did not luff above closehauled. Both parties agreed those facts but and that I was tack complete, and that was found as facts but the PC still nearly lobbed us! When they revisited the wording we were OK but their perception had been shaped (as had the other skippers view) by some poor coaching
|
Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 22 Feb 09 at 5:13pm
Sargesail,
Thank you for your last posting. I believe that there was some initial
confusion. Indeed an eminent international judge did publish an article
in a leading yachting journal claiming that an inside keep clear boat
could make a tactical rounding. In the following edition of the same
publication he then gave a new opinion, which is as I stated earlier.
At the recent RYA Race Official Conference it was made clear that an
keep clear boat was NOT entitled to any more than room to sail to the
mark. I would hope that judges, umpires and coaches everywhere are now
all saying the same thing.
Protest hearings can veer of the straight and narrow. One way for you
to get the committee back on course - if you can do it - is to use your
right to sum up - to give your conclusion in the terms used by the
rules. For instance, in the case you cited if you clearly state "I
completed a tack within the 2 boat lengths and kept clear while doing
so. When my tack was complete I was clear ahead/overlapped to leeward
and had established right of way. I initially gave room for the other
boat to keep clear. The other boat kept clear and did not have to sail
above close hauled in order to do so." If you can quote the rule
numbers as you go so much the better.
Gordon
------------- Gordon
|
Posted By: sargesail
Date Posted: 22 Feb 09 at 10:17pm
Yes - that's pretty much what I did. Thankfully the committee didn't quite follow normal procedure and allowed a "second" summing up before finalising it's decision! I have a feeling that the chairman and his wing men weren't quite in agreement (he holding the correct interpretation).
It's just a shame that the wrong interpretation has already spread (as evidenced above!). It will take some time to correct.
Matt
|
Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 22 Feb 09 at 10:51pm
It often happens that the chairman and his/her colleagues do not agree. This is often the case when you have a qualified judge chairing and ordianry club members helping out. It is the duty of the chairman to ensure that his colleagues are making a decision based on the current rules rather than the rules they learnt some time ago. For instance I had one case of a simple port and starboard that one of my colleagues could not see as a failure to keep clear because there had been no contact (case involving 35 footers tacking in heavy weather through a narrow channel!). So we worked through the rule book and the case book so that, eventually he agreed that an incident described as very dangerous by a witness (alos a judge and umpire) was in fact a breach of the rules. Exhausting work, especially as we had a few more potests to get through before we could hit the beer!
Gordon
------------- Gordon
|
Posted By: dics
Date Posted: 23 Feb 09 at 8:34am
I attended a rules update course run by the RYA with a couple of judges and they interprted the rules as you are allowed mark-room for tactical purposes because "Mark-room" definition includes "proper course" and if your proper course is to get around the race track is a fast as possible which will mean wide in and tight out then you are entitled to that mark-room.
Mark room is not just "room" to sail around a mark it is room to sail your proper cousre around the mark. Even if it means the boat giving mark-room can not sail her proper course. If mark room for a proper course is not given and some disaster happens then the inside boat will exnorated under 18.5 and the boat required to give mark-room will be penalised.
They both agreed that the word "to" as in "to the mark" will be hotly disputed.
That was their take on it and it will be interesting to see what cases evolve.
|
Posted By: jeffers
Date Posted: 23 Feb 09 at 9:16am
I have to say I agree with dics (and I believe Bryan Willis (or is it Willets I can never remember) does too.
Now that the mark room definition includes proper course you cannot squeeze someone against the mark so they slide wide on the exit as this clearly is not their proper course.
Discuss......
------------- Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
|
Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 23 Feb 09 at 10:14am
dics,
When did you go to your rules update? As I said, even very eminent IJs have published one opinion then another.
As I understand the "great and the good" who discussed this at the RYA Conference - the definition of mark room is room to sail TO the mark (not at some point a boat length from the mark) and then room when AT the mark to sail a proper course. A boat is at the mark when they are no longer sailing TO (as in "in the direction" of) but are required, in order to sail their proper course, to change course. In other words - the outside right of way boat must give inside keep clear boat room to change course AT the mark in order to round the mark and sail on to the course to the next mark. No more than that.
There is no obligation on the outside right of way boat to give room to inside keep clear boat to do a tactical rounding whilst inside keep clear boat is sailing TO the mark. It should be remembered that in the absence of the mark the keep clear boat wuld have ot do just that - keep clear - and that right of way boat would be able to sail as she wished. Because there is a mark to be rounded there is a limitation on right of way boat's rights, but this is not give keep clear boat any right to sail a course To the mark and then sail round the mark.
Gordon
------------- Gordon
|
Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 23 Feb 09 at 10:49am
Check the definition of mark-room: Two phases: from
the edge of the zone to the mark: direct course
only, no proper course entitlement, then at the
mark, proper course.
Read exhausting discussion of this, with links to the
wrong and right YW articles here:
http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com/2009/01/tactical-rounding-
with-mark-room.html
and here
http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com/2009/02/tactical-rounding-
with-mark-room-4.html
|
Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 23 Feb 09 at 11:02am
Brass,
I do hope you meant to say exhaustive (which would be a well justified compliment) rather than exhausting (true maybe, but not a particularily diplomatic comment)!
On such details appeals may turn!
Gordon
------------- Gordon
|
Posted By: dics
Date Posted: 23 Feb 09 at 11:17am
Originally posted by gordon
dics,
When did you go to your rules update?
|
On Thursday.
|
Posted By: dics
Date Posted: 23 Feb 09 at 11:34am
Originally posted by gordon
dics,
A boat is at the mark when they are no longer sailing TO (as in "in the direction" of) but are required, in order to sail their proper course, to change course. In other words - the outside right of way boat must give inside keep clear boat room to change course AT the mark in order to round the mark and sail on to the course to the next mark. No more than that.
|
Yes, but if my poper course is tight out and I was not able to sail this becuase I was not given enough mark-room to sail wide in then has not the rule has been broken? Sailing my proper course is different to sailing any course to the next mark.
I thought I had this straight!!!!
|
Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 23 Feb 09 at 12:44pm
Dics,
It would be interesting to know when the guy who gave you your rules update got his update!
The key words are "and then"... 'room to sail TO the mark, AND THEN room to sail her proper course while at the mark.'
The definition does not give 'room to sail her proper course from the time she enters the zone'... which seems to be what you and others are trying to make the definition say.
Neither does the definition of proper course say that it is the course a boat would sail from the start to the finish. It is A course a boat would sail to finish as soon as possible. A boat's proper course is not the "best line" round a course. The proper course continually changes, as it is the course a boat would sail from where it is at to the finish.
So a keep clear inside boat has to be given room to sail to the mark and then, but only then, room to sail what is at that moment her proper course, from where she now is (not from some theoretical ideal position she may have wished to be at).
Gordon
------------- Gordon
|
Posted By: dics
Date Posted: 23 Feb 09 at 2:08pm
Originally posted by gordon
The key words are "and then"... 'room to sail TO the mark, AND THEN room to sail her proper course while at the mark.'
Gordon
|
I just re-read it and agree with you. (I got there!)
|
Posted By: Andymac
Date Posted: 23 Feb 09 at 2:21pm
It's just fully clicked with me too.
Gordon is truly a god when it comes to the rules!
|
Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 24 Feb 09 at 1:02am
Does this finally settle it?
http://sailing.org/tools/documents/QA2009022-7004.pdf - http://sailing.org/tools/documents/QA2009022-[7004].pdf
|
Posted By: English Dave
Date Posted: 24 Feb 09 at 10:59am
I think it does Brass, and thanks to everyone who has made me re-evaluate the new rule. Like many, I had gone to a presentation at my club to hear about Mark-Room. The talk was given by an ISAF IJ and I certainly got the impression that some form of tactical rounding was now admissible.
It now seems from re and rereading the rules that nothing much has changed with regard Rule 18. The definition of "Room at the Mark" has now moved to the "Definitions" section and the "zone" is now a recommended but not prescribed 3 boat lengths rather than two.
Still a wee bit confused about the definition of "at the mark". Is it when any part of the boat is overlapped on the mark? When the mark is amidships? When?
It's less an issue when boats are moving well but in light winds, taking your "proper course" at the leeward mark will involve rounding up hard. This is inevitably going to kick your stern out, more noticeably in longer boats. Do I assume that the OL boat has to anticipate this and keep clear?
It's not like this is an unlikely scenario. What we have been discussing is the leeward mark for every ww/lw course.
(Incidentally, a youngster in a Topper called for room on me on Sunday. He was at the "zone" I came rattling round his outside and he wanted to be sure that I would leave him room to round. Racing against a 20ft cat in a Topper when you are 11 can be intimidating. Well done him for calling. I gave room)
------------- English Dave
http://www.ballyholme.com - Ballyholme Yacht Club
(You'd think I'd be better at it by now)
Hurricane 5.9 SX
RS700
|
Posted By: dics
Date Posted: 24 Feb 09 at 12:51pm
Originally posted by English Dave
It now seems from re and rereading the rules that nothing much has changed with regard Rule 18. The definition of "Room at the Mark" has now moved to the "Definitions" section and the "zone" is now a recommended but not prescribed 3 boat lengths rather than two.
|
Is it not now "hull lengths"? ie a huge carbon pole will now not count.
|
Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 24 Feb 09 at 12:57pm
Dave,
You can read all about the 'roundabout analogy' in the
Dave Rose paper here:
http://members.home.nl/jmspijkerman/PRESENTATIONS/Compar
ison%20of%20Old%20and%20New%20Section%20C%20Rules%20%282
%29.pdf
But I think Gordon has it nailed above in this thread:
Two Dandy Definitions from Gordon
A boat is at the mark when they are no longer sailing TO
(as in "in the direction" of) but are required, in order
to sail their proper course, to change course.
A boat's proper course is not the "best line" round a
course. The proper course continually changes, as it is
the course a boat would sail from where it is at to the
finish.
|
Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 24 Feb 09 at 1:01pm
Originally posted by dics
Is it not now "hull lengths"? ie a huge
carbon pole will now not count. |
Just as it has been since the 1995 rewrite.
|
Posted By: English Dave
Date Posted: 24 Feb 09 at 1:46pm
Originally posted by Brass
Dave,
You can read all about the 'roundabout analogy' in the Dave Rose paper here:
http://members.home.nl/jmspijkerman/PRESENTATIONS/Comparison%20of%20Old%20and%20New%20Section%20C%20Rules%20%282%29.pdf - Document
But I think Gordon has it nailed above in this thread:
Two Dandy Definitions from Gordon
A boat is at the mark when they are no longer sailing TO (as in "in the direction" of) but are required, in order to sail their proper course, to change course.
A boat's proper course is not the "best line" round a course. The proper course continually changes, as it is the course a boat would sail from where it is at to the finish.
|
Great article, Brass. I've taken the liberty of rescripting your post to provide a direct link. Like me, you commonly use Chrome, but it seems to be limited wrt this forum site.
------------- English Dave
http://www.ballyholme.com - Ballyholme Yacht Club
(You'd think I'd be better at it by now)
Hurricane 5.9 SX
RS700
|
|