New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Over the line
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Over the line

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Over the line
    Posted: 14 Jun 12 at 3:33pm
Originally posted by JimC

Originally posted by jeffers

The sound signal means nothing, it is purely there to draw attention to a flag.

Are you sure that's the case? Are you thinking of rule 26 "the absence of a sound signal shall be disregarded"? Surely that only applies to the start sequence flags doesn't it?
Correct about rule 26.
 
Paul is incorrect in general terms.  RYA Appeal 2004/7 says:
A race committee signal comprises both the flag and the sound.
The wording  of rule 26:  "times shall be taken from the visual signals;  the absence of a sound signal shall be disregarded" differs from that used in other rules relying on signals, which in general specify the signal as 'flag with sound signals
  • rule 27.3 postpone or abandon before starting:  the signal flag with sounds
  • rule 29.1 individual recall:  flag X with one sound signal (and many cases)
  • rule 29.1 general recall:  First Sub with two sounds
  • rule 32 shorten or abandon after starting:  the sigal flag with sounds
  • rule 33 changing a leg:  flag C with repetitive sounds
Back to Top
gbrspratt View Drop Down
Posting king
Posting king


Joined: 26 Sep 11
Location: Felixstowe
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 170
Post Options Post Options   Quote gbrspratt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jun 12 at 3:41pm
he was boat lengths over (i have some go-pro footage). and this argument/discussion happened on the water between a rescue boat and him when the rescue boat went over to tell him he was definitely over the line. so i would guess as he noticed the wrong flag he knew he was over the line??

Edited by gbrspratt - 14 Jun 12 at 3:49pm
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jun 12 at 4:01pm
Originally posted by JimC

Was there a redress hearing? They shouldn't really be reinstated without one.

Case 79 says
Rule 29.1, Recalls: Individual Recall
When a boat has no reason to know that she crossed the starting line early and the race committee fails to promptly signal ‘Individual recall’ and scores her OCS, this is an error that significantly worsens the boat’s score through no fault of her own, and therefore entitles her to redress.



Originally posted by jeffers

If the RO team realised they had raised the wrong flag then they should have finished the boat. If not the the boat should have requested redress to allow for facts to be found as has already been stated.
I agree with JimC that she should have been scored OCS (rule A5), and could have requested redress.
 
The key test from Case 79 is did she 'have no reason to know she crossed the starting line early', and I'm pretty sure that a sound signal accompanying a visual signal that wasn't either flag X or First Sub wouldn't be a good reason to know she was over.
 
I agree with Paul, that the race committee should have recorded her finishing time ('cos if they didn't that will make calculating redress allowance harder).
 
If the race committee did score her with a finishing place, then she can sit pat.
 
If, as a matter of fact, she was on the course side of the starting line at her starting signal and did not return and restart, she has not started, and therefore will not have sailed the course in accordance with rule 28.
 
Somebody might care to protest her for breaking rule 28:  but it's a bit late now.
 
Any other boat may request redress for the race committee's improper action in NOT scoring her OCS in accordance with rule A5.
 
She may not be penalised as a result of any redress hearing (rule 63.1), so calculation of redress for other boats is going to be a challenge.
 
But the race committee can help out here:
 

Q&A 2003-002

Question 1

Is the race committee allowed to score a boat under rule A5 after the race?

Answer 1

Yes. Under rule A5, the race committee may score a boat, or correct a score, at any time.

 


Edited by Brass - 14 Jun 12 at 4:06pm
Back to Top
RS400atC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Dec 08
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3011
Post Options Post Options   Quote RS400atC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jun 12 at 4:47pm
Originally posted by gbrspratt

he was boat lengths over (i have some go-pro footage). and this argument/discussion happened on the water between a rescue boat and him when the rescue boat went over to tell him he was definitely over the line. so i would guess as he noticed the wrong flag he knew he was over the line??


You should have protested.
The failures of the RO don't exonerate the competitor, if he could reasonably be expected to know he was over the line.
If he was scored OCS or DSQ's by the protest committee, he might ask for redress from the RO's shortcomings, but they could 'Hayling' him with average points or something.

Back to Top
Andymac View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Apr 07
Location: Derbyshire
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Post Options Post Options   Quote Andymac Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jun 12 at 6:28pm
Originally posted by Brass
 
I agree with Paul, that the race committee should have recorded her finishing time ('cos if they didn't that will make calculating redress allowance harder).
 
If the race committee did score her with a finishing place, then she can sit pat.
 
[/QUOTE

 
And just to expand on that, the calculated redress (based on an actual finish position/time) would be adjusted to take into account the act of returning and starting correctly.
 
And just to expand on that, the calculated redress (based on an actual finish position/time) would be adjusted to take into account the act of returning and starting correctly.
Back to Top
Andymac View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Apr 07
Location: Derbyshire
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Post Options Post Options   Quote Andymac Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jun 12 at 6:34pm
Originally posted by RS400atC

he might ask for redress from the RO's shortcomings, but they could 'Hayling' him with average points or something.
 
LOLThat incident will pass into sailing folklore.
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jun 12 at 9:02am
Whilst the results are provisional - usually until the end of the series and any associated hearings- the Race Committee may correct any scoring errors without a hearing, within the bounds of rule A5. The boat can always request redress if she is unhappy.

In this case, if the boat was clearly on course side the chances of her obtaining redress for the improper action of the Race Committee are zero - see cases 31 and 79
Gordon
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jun 12 at 3:23pm
Originally posted by gordon

Whilst the results are provisional - usually until the end of the series and any associated hearings- the Race Committee may correct any scoring errors without a hearing, within the bounds of rule A5. The boat can always request redress if she is unhappy.
 
I disagree that it is a condition for the race committee to correct an error that the scores should be 'provisional'
 
That word is not mentioned in the RRS nor in Q&A 2003-002, which simply states
 
Under rule A5, the race committee may score a boat, or correct a score, at any time (emphasis added).
 
Q&A 2009-031 specifically addresses correcting scores after a regatta, and states

There is no time limit [for the race committee to correct scores] but it will depend. The time elapsed since the end of the regatta is only one factor. If the event was being used as selection for another event that has not yet happened, correction is necessary. The importance of the event and the value of prizes are other factors.

I don't think that there is any need for 'weasel-words' like 'provisional'.
 
If the race committee discovers it has made a mistake, it may correct it
 
I strongly agree with the implication that the race committee can afford to be bold in correcting mistakes because if any boat doesn't like it, they are entitled to request redress against the correction.
Originally posted by gordon

In this case, if the boat was clearly on course side the chances of her obtaining redress for the improper action of the Race Committee are zero - see cases 31 and 79
Do I understand that your opinion is that when a boat is informed by hail (or, I suppose other effective means) that she was clearly over at some short time after a start with an ineffective individual recall, then she does not have 'no reason to know that she crossed the starting line early' which is the condition for redress mentioned in Case 79?
 
I don't think that can be right.  I'm not talking about egregious cases where a boat is 5 or 10 lengths over at the start, or say 2 lengths at the pin, but cases where the margin is very clear to the race committee, but not necessarily clear to the competitor.
 
In that case, I think the boat may be entitled to redress, but the notional time taken for the boat to return and restart calculated as required by Case 31 should be adjusted so as not to include the time between the starting signal and when the boat was effectively informed that she was over.
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jun 12 at 6:20pm
You could change the results a long time after the prizes are presented and everyone has gone home - but this is perhaps not the best way to win friends and get them to come back. Personally I consider results as provisional until the time limit for lodging an appeal is past.

If the boat has no reason to know she is over the line (that would be what you are talking about) then she can hope for redress, but if a boat is clearly informed that she is OCS (as was the case many years ago when recall numbers were standard practice) she must return and start correctly.

If the boat could not know she was over because it was by a very narrow margin,, there was an error in the signals and she was later informed then, if redress was granted I would include the time it took for her to be informed that she was included in the redress - this is the time it took for the race committee to repair it's improper action. If the signal had been made correctly then the boat could have returned immediately. She should lose no more time than that required to return after a proper signal.
Gordon
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy