New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Mark rounding
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Mark rounding

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
HannahJ View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 23 Jul 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 861
Post Options Post Options   Quote HannahJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Mark rounding
    Posted: 17 Jun 09 at 2:34pm
Probably an easy answer, but I don't have a rule book on me.

For how far round the mark (leeward mark, hardening up onto the beat) does an outside boat have to give an inside boat water?

As I see it it's long enough to make a seamanship rounding; however if the inside boat comes close hauled a few seconds later than the outside boat (for whatever reason, eg. simply has worse pointing ability), and the outside boat knocks the transom, who is in the wrong?

Thanks
MIRROR 64799 "Dolphin"
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist hopes it will change; the realist adjusts the sail
Back to Top
Lukepiewalker View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 24 May 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1341
Post Options Post Options   Quote Lukepiewalker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 09 at 4:23pm
Mark-Room: Room for a boat to sail to the mark, and then room to sail her
proper course while at the mark. However, mark-room does not include
room to tack unless the boat is overlapped to windward and on the inside of
the boat required to give mark-room.
Ex-Finn GBR533 "Pie Hard"
Ex-National 12 3253 "Seawitch"
Ex-National 12 2961 "Curved Air"
Ex-Mirror 59096 "Voodoo Chile"
Back to Top
Scooby_simon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 02 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2415
Post Options Post Options   Quote Scooby_simon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 09 at 4:28pm

Originally posted by HannahJ

Probably an easy answer, but I don't have a rule book on me.

For how far round the mark (leeward mark, hardening up onto the beat) does an outside boat have to give an inside boat water?

As I see it it's long enough to make a seamanship rounding; however if the inside boat comes close hauled a few seconds later than the outside boat (for whatever reason, eg. simply has worse pointing ability), and the outside boat knocks the transom, who is in the wrong?

Thanks

 

Two questions there Hannah!

 

1, As above you have mark room to make a rounding and that includes getting to close hauled.

2, If the boat below can sail closer, you're stuffed and need to tack away! 

Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
Back to Top
English Dave View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 10 Aug 06
Location: Northern Ireland
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 682
Post Options Post Options   Quote English Dave Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 09 at 4:44pm
Hannah

Scooby beat me to it but I agree. The mark rounding is
complete when you are both sailing your proper course. If
the inside windward boat's proper course isn't as high as
the outside one then she will have to tack away.
English Dave
Ballyholme Yacht Club

(You'd think I'd be better at it by now)

Hurricane 5.9 SX
RS700
Back to Top
HannahJ View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 23 Jul 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 861
Post Options Post Options   Quote HannahJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 09 at 8:24pm
Then take into account that the windward/inside boat was in the process of hardening up, and she was given no time to anything other than watch the little idiots behind getting closer and nudging her transom... outside boat tacked off after this which is I presume why they hit the inside boat. Surely a simple call of windward would have displayed their intention to tack? In which case the inside boat of course would have got out of the way and covered them up the beat...
MIRROR 64799 "Dolphin"
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist hopes it will change; the realist adjusts the sail
Back to Top
English Dave View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 10 Aug 06
Location: Northern Ireland
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 682
Post Options Post Options   Quote English Dave Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 09 at 8:38pm
Hannah, perhaps I misinterpreted your initial post. I had
assumed that the lead boat was outside/LW and the overlap
was from the inside/WW. From what your post above says I
know take it that the inside boat was leading into the mark
and that the outside boat hardened up too quickly during
the rounding. Is that right?
English Dave
Ballyholme Yacht Club

(You'd think I'd be better at it by now)

Hurricane 5.9 SX
RS700
Back to Top
HannahJ View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 23 Jul 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 861
Post Options Post Options   Quote HannahJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 09 at 10:33pm
Yes, sorry, that's what I meant. The inside boat was leading, the outside boat rounded up faster than her and sailed up the back of her transom... before tacking off. Given that this was about 1 or 2 boat lengths from the mark (having gone round) should the inside boat still be in the right and allowed to get clear first? (And then as windward boat tack off or get out of the way)
MIRROR 64799 "Dolphin"
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist hopes it will change; the realist adjusts the sail
Back to Top
English Dave View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 10 Aug 06
Location: Northern Ireland
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 682
Post Options Post Options   Quote English Dave Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 09 at 11:45pm
Well, in that case, the outside boat is still required to
give the inside boat mark room. This continues until they
are on their respective proper courses to the next mark.

So, if the outside boat rounds up into the inside boat,
she has not given enough mark room. If the overlap is
broken as the roundings of both boats begin, then
(assuming there was an entitlement to mark room in the
first case) the outside boat must continue to give mark
room. This includes not rear-ending the "inside boat".
Rule 18 covers it all and Rule 18.5 exonerates the inside
boat if she strikes the mark while attempting to avoid
contact while being squeezed.
English Dave
Ballyholme Yacht Club

(You'd think I'd be better at it by now)

Hurricane 5.9 SX
RS700
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jun 09 at 12:24am

Originally posted by HannahJ

For how far round the mark (leeward mark, hardening up onto the beat) does an outside boat have to give an inside boat water?

As I see it it's long enough to make a seamanship rounding; however if the inside boat comes close hauled a few seconds later than the outside boat (for whatever reason, eg. simply has worse pointing ability), and the outside boat knocks the transom, who is in the wrong?

Originally posted by HannahJ

Yes, sorry, that's what I meant. The inside boat was leading, the outside boat rounded up faster than her and sailed up the back of her transom... before tacking off. Given that this was about 1 or 2 boat lengths from the mark (having gone round) should the inside boat still be in the right and allowed to get clear first? (And then as windward boat tack off or get out of the way)

Once the boat entitled to mark-room is at the mark, 'seamanlike' is no longer relevant:  the boat is entitled to 'mark-room to sail her proper course at the mark'.

Mark-room to sail a proper course at a leeward mark includes room to harden on at the optimum rate of turn and rate of in-sheeting, that is, you're not obliged to slam the  boat up to close hauled or above, but if you muff your harden-on, drop the sheet or whatever, then you're taking more room than you're entitled to and your exoneration under rule 18.5 switches off.

BUT, once you are 'one or two lengths from the mark (having gone round)', you are no longer 'at the mark', and you have had all the room you were entitled to.  An outside leeward boat has every right to push you up at least to their proper course, and if they do not have a rule 17 proper course obligation (which may have been established before the mark), they can push you up as high as they like.  They are bound by rule 16 to give you room to keep clear.  If they are clear astern, then they are bound to keep clear under rule 12.

To get an understanding of how mark-room applies, look at the 'round-about' analogy in Dick Rose's paper here

http://www.yachting.org.au/site/yachting/ayf/downloads/Techn ical/RaceManagement/Comparison%20of%20Old%20and%20New%20Sect ion%20C%20Rules.pdf?MenuID=Racing%5FRules%2F21002%2F0%2F

 

Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jun 09 at 12:44am

Originally posted by English Dave

Well, in that case, the outside boat is still required to give the inside boat mark room. This continues until they are on their respective proper courses to the next mark..

I don't think this is the right way to say it.

The language of the new rules and cases no longer refers to a rounding being 'complete'.

A boat entering the zone with mark-room remains entitled to it while ever she is in the zone (unless she switches it off by passing head to wind).

But if she is not 'sailing to the mark' or 'at the mark', for example, is past the mark, her mark-room entitlement has no 'content', we might say mark-room = zero.  Her entitlement does not switch off, and may again become meaningful if, for example, in light/tidal conditions she drifts back to the mark.

Whether one or both boats are sailing their proper or best courses after they have passed the mark has no bearing on mark-room.

Originally posted by English Dave

So, if the outside boat rounds up into the inside boat, she has not given enough mark room..

As long as the inside boat is at the mark.  If past the mark rules 11 and 16 will apply.

Originally posted by English Dave

 If the overlap is broken as the roundings of both boats begin, then (assuming there was an entitlement to mark room in the first case) the outside boat must continue to give mark room. This includes not rear-ending the "inside boat"..

Not rear-ending the inside boat is a simple rule 12.

Originally posted by English Dave

Rule 18.5 exonerates the inside boat if she strikes the mark while attempting to avoid contact while being squeezed.

Rule 18.5 only gives exoneration from Section A right of way rules and, at the mark from rules 15 and 16, giving room rules.  Rule 18.5 does NOT exonerate a boat entitled to mark-room from breaking rule 31 Touching a Mark.  Any exoneration from rule 31 has to be given under rule 64.1(c).



Edited by Brass
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy