New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: simple as port starboard?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

simple as port starboard?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 5>
Author
dics View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 05 Oct 05
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 317
Post Options Post Options   Quote dics Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: simple as port starboard?
    Posted: 16 Feb 09 at 1:48pm
I quick and easy question.
 
I was on staboard approachhing the leeward mark (starboard rounding) when a twin wire assymetric thing came in on port I called starboard and he replied he had water due to as he had an overlap at the zone. I gave water and he dropped and gybed in the zone, we all made our nice mark roundings.
 
Even though I was debious about his rules interptation and whether he even had an overlap (it was hard to tell due to the angles we both were laying the mark) I still gave room in as it was there in order for me to get a good mark rounding.
 
My questions are:
 
If he did have an overlap would he be entitled to room?
 
And if it is unceratin whether an overlap was established what should have happened?
 
Giving the fact that he was reaching at a great number of knots and he would not be able to change course at a snap without all hell breaking lose it was obviously best to let him go anyway.
 
Cheers
Back to Top
Jamesd View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 01 Feb 08
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 377
Post Options Post Options   Quote Jamesd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Feb 09 at 2:15pm

Yes, as long as he had an overlap he had rights to room at the mark.

remember with assymetrics they sail the angles rather than more dead downwind of conventional boats, so the overlap angles are far greater, meaning that nearly half the race track (the guys that went left down the run mainly) owe him water.

draw the situation on a bit of paper and draw a line coming off the transom to show the overlap and you will see its quite obvious that he has an overlap.

you can effectively ignore the port starboard rule within the 3 (or whatever size the s.i's state) zone. its only really an issue at the windward mark and even then its not completely true, as port boats do have some rights.

Back to Top
Jamesd View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 01 Feb 08
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 377
Post Options Post Options   Quote Jamesd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Feb 09 at 2:22pm

Rule 18 applies between boats when they are required to leave a

mark on the same side and at least one of them is in the zone. However,

it does not apply

(a) between boats on opposite tacks on a beat to windward,

(b) between boats on opposite tacks when the proper course at the

mark for one but not both of them is to tack,

(c) between a boat approaching a mark and one leaving it, or

(d) if the mark is a continuing obstruction, in which case rule 19

applies.

The leeward mark doesnt satisfy any of the above exceptions so therefore you have to consider the inside boat as having rights, even if the inside poat is on port and not starboard.

Back to Top
alstorer View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 02 Aug 07
Location: Cambridge
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2899
Post Options Post Options   Quote alstorer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Feb 09 at 6:35pm
He is entitled to mark room, however consensus seems to be that he's not entitled to do a "tactical" rounding.
-_
Al
Back to Top
Rockhopper View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 16 Nov 07
Location: Eastry
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 642
Post Options Post Options   Quote Rockhopper Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Feb 09 at 7:56pm

i had almost the same thing a couple of years ago i was on starboard coming into the two boat lenghs when a boat came in asked for water and gybed right in front of me with me having not a lot of choice but to luff up avoid a collision therefore becoming the inside boat.i tried to protest the other boat on grounds that it was unsporting conduct ie gybing right in front of me giving no where to go apart from hitting him or going above him even though i had a witness i still lost cause i should have given him room.

umm it was intresting a vareo against a rs 400

andy

Retired now after 35 seasons in a row and time for a rest.
2004 national champ Laser5000
2007,2010,National Champ Rs Vareo
Back to Top
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3048
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Feb 09 at 7:46am
Had a similar situation to this a few of years back at the Fireball Nationals. It was light winds so running dead downwnd was sooooooo slow that everyone was 'sailing the angles' most of the fleet went right, we went left.

As we approached the mark on Starboard we started calling for water to be me by many surprised shout of 'no you have not etc...' When i replied we had an overlap and had so for most of the leg due to the different angles they grudingly gave way but not without shout of protest.... We all had a chat off the water and they agreed we made a smart move and were correct (we overtook half the fleet).

I believe now that Mark Room does entitle you to make a 'racing' rounding (ie wide in tight out).

Remember the Overlap line is the line across your transom which now starts at 3boat lengths (unless your club has varied this). So he could be a long way away and have an overlap, whether or not he can do anything with it is another matter!

I would say from your description that he was in the right, the only question mark would be the precise angles and establishing if he has the overlap when it was required.
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
alstorer View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 02 Aug 07
Location: Cambridge
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2899
Post Options Post Options   Quote alstorer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Feb 09 at 8:33am
Originally posted by jeffers


I believe now that Mark Room does entitle you to make a 'racing' rounding (ie wide in tight out).


I don't, not from reading things such as this, which would indicate that you would only get room for a "racing" rounding if you'd otherwise by the RoW boat anyway (ie if, thanks to the course layout, you were on starboard AND inside boat.
-_
Al
Back to Top
thenewpete View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 Jan 09
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 24
Post Options Post Options   Quote thenewpete Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Feb 09 at 11:01am

This is quite intresting about the how much room.

reading this http://members.home.nl/jmspijkerman/BLOGFiles/MarkRoomUK2o.p df

at the bootom of the two pages. I cannot see (within the rrs) why a windward boat cannot sail their proper course around the mark. it may just be me but the way im interpreting it is that if two boats are on port, overlapped and rounding a bouy to port, the inside boat is to windward, and she cannot bear away to sail the course she would like to sail (proper course) as she will break rule 11. and according to the article she is not exonerated even though the rules say she is exonerated from rules of part A (in which rule 11 is written) if the outside boat is not giving her mark room. the definition of mark room is:

Mark-Room Room for a boat to sail to the mark, and then room to sail her proper course while at the mark. However, mark-room does not include room to tack unless the boat is overlapped to windward and on the inside of the boat required to give mark-room.

ignoring the second sentence it clearly states that you can sail your proper course which is the course you would sail in the abscence of other boats, i.e. out wide and in tight for a leeward mark.

im bloody confused. i went to a rules seminar and we went through mark roundings. and the international jury did state that you are now entitled to make a racing rounding.

i dont see why the article states that you cannot if you are windward boat. am i missing something blatently obvious here?

Back to Top
English Dave View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 10 Aug 06
Location: Northern Ireland
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 682
Post Options Post Options   Quote English Dave Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Feb 09 at 12:20pm
Pete

As I understand it, once the entitlement for Mark Room
has been established the Outside boat should give enough
room for the inside one to sail a proper course. If both
boats are really tight on the mark that may mean the
outside boat bearing off a little. If the outside boat
does not she has not given Mark Room and has then
committed a foul. However, for the inside boat to "take"
room by bearing off into the outside boat breaks Rule 11
and Rule 14 and has committed a foul herself.

So the Inside boats best option is to Protest based on
the fact that she was given insufficient mark room. If
she take the "law" into her own hands by creating room
then she will end up DSQ.

This rule will keep Protest Committees busy for sure. As
an asymmetric Cat sailor I need a fair amount of Mark
Room as I cannot turn on a sixpence without stalling.
Lasers don't need so much perhaps. But how much room
would a Laser sailor anticipate I would need based on
his/her sailing experiences if we were racing in a club
handicap?

(Actually for club racing it is an unwritten rule that
we -cats- just go wide on leeward marks. It saves time
and
makes us less prone to attack by "Topper Mums" back on
shore.)

Edited by English Dave
English Dave
Ballyholme Yacht Club

(You'd think I'd be better at it by now)

Hurricane 5.9 SX
RS700
Back to Top
dics View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 05 Oct 05
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 317
Post Options Post Options   Quote dics Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Feb 09 at 2:54pm
Guys, thanks for all the replies. Reading the rules is one thing but remembering them is another. I am eagerly waiting for my new copy of racing rules in pratice to drop on the door mat.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 5>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy