New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Race rules advice pls
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Race rules advice pls

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 6789>
Author
Bandin View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Feb 20
Location: Bodmin
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 22
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bandin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Race rules advice pls
    Posted: 08 May 23 at 5:47pm
Originally posted by Brass

Its a mark.

L is required to give W mark-room.

Even if the mark is one end of a start/finish?? you sure about that?? 
Back to Top
Bandin View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Feb 20
Location: Bodmin
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 22
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bandin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 May 23 at 5:11pm
Originally posted by ColPrice2002

Sorry,
I'm having trouble visualising the situation:-

There's a rounding park (to port), which as soon as the shorten course is signalled, it becomes the left hand end. Is that looking upwind or down wind?
I'm reading the situation as a hook finish - if so, then there are other porblems.
If that's wrong, then rule 18 applies, overlapped within 3 boat lengths, inside boat has right to mark room - unless the outside boat can't (not won't) give it.

Was previously the downwind 'leeward' mark so was a straight downwind finish. 


Edited by Bandin - 08 May 23 at 5:26pm
Back to Top
423zero View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 08 Jan 15
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3420
Post Options Post Options   Quote 423zero Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 May 23 at 4:57pm
Gave me a chuckle thinking about Lee boat cutting him off, prior to this the drag race would have been won by windard boat.
Robert
Back to Top
ColPrice2002 View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 25 Nov 08
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 222
Post Options Post Options   Quote ColPrice2002 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 May 23 at 4:48pm
Sorry,
I'm having trouble visualising the situation:-

There's a rounding park (to port), which as soon as the shorten course is signalled, it becomes the left hand end. Is that looking upwind or down wind?
I'm reading the situation as a hook finish - if so, then there are other porblems.
If that's wrong, then rule 18 applies, overlapped within 3 boat lengths, inside boat has right to mark room - unless the outside boat can't (not won't) give it.
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 May 23 at 4:40pm
Its a mark.

L is required to give W mark-room.
Back to Top
Bandin View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Feb 20
Location: Bodmin
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 22
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bandin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 May 23 at 4:28pm
Windward initially had room until leeward tightened up towards the mark cutting him out. It was a slow, very light wind day so plenty of time. 


Back to Top
423zero View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 08 Jan 15
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3420
Post Options Post Options   Quote 423zero Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 May 23 at 4:15pm
With only three boat lengths to go would be difficult for Lee boat to give windward boat room.
Robert
Back to Top
Bandin View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Feb 20
Location: Bodmin
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 22
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bandin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 May 23 at 3:26pm
So I'm still confused here.. I'll explain the situation a little more clearly..

Ignoring how they tactically could have played this out better earlier down the run...

Leeward mark (which had previously been a port rounding mark) is now the left hand end of the finish line. Both boats are level side by side on port. Within three boat lengths of the left end mark of the finish (previous rounding mark). Leeward boat tightens up a little so windward boat (previously keep clear boat) cant get to the finish line and is now heading directly for the mark. Windward shouts for water. Leeward replies he doesnt have to give any. Windward boat has to avoid mark wrong side of the line and come around again.  

Who was in the wrong? 


Edited by Bandin - 08 May 23 at 4:30pm
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 May 23 at 2:17pm
Case 129
Definition, Finish
Rule 28, Sailing the Course
Rule 32, Shortening or Abandoning after the Start
Rule 62.1(a), Redress
When the course is shortened at a rounding mark, the mark becomes a finishing mark. Rule 32.2(a) permits the race committee to position the vessel displaying flag S at either end of the finishing line. A boat must cross the line in accordance with the definition Finish, even if in so doing she leaves that mark on the side opposite the side on which she would have been required to leave it if the course had not been shortened.
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6662
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 May 23 at 1:28pm
Well its certainly correct that its now a finish line and the mark is no longer a *turning* mark. However I don' believe there's anything in the rule book that says RRS18 doesn't apply at a finishing mark.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 6789>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy