Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 140101 Tynemouth |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Race rules advice pls |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 123 9> |
Author | |
Bandin ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 21 Feb 20 Location: Bodmin Online Status: Offline Posts: 22 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 08 May 23 at 8:32am |
So a course is shortened.. one of the marks is now one end of the finish line.. Competitor A calls for water at the mark (which is now a finish line but was/is a mark). Competitor B refuses and says the mark is no longer a mark but the finish line and has no obligation to give space..
Who is correct? |
|
![]() |
|
423zero ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 08 Jan 15 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3420 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I wouldn't give room at the finish line, you would go from first to second (assuming you were in the lead).
|
|
Robert
|
|
![]() |
|
eric_c ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 21 Jan 18 Online Status: Offline Posts: 382 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Neither.
|
|
![]() |
|
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Well its certainly correct that its now a finish line and the mark is no longer a *turning* mark. However I don' believe there's anything in the rule book that says RRS18 doesn't apply at a finishing mark.
|
|
![]() |
|
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Case 129
Definition, Finish Rule 28, Sailing the Course Rule 32, Shortening or Abandoning after the Start Rule 62.1(a), Redress When the course is shortened at a rounding mark, the mark becomes a finishing mark. Rule 32.2(a) permits the race committee to position the vessel displaying flag S at either end of the finishing line. A boat must cross the line in accordance with the definition Finish, even if in so doing she leaves that mark on the side opposite the side on which she would have been required to leave it if the course had not been shortened. |
|
![]() |
|
Bandin ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 21 Feb 20 Location: Bodmin Online Status: Offline Posts: 22 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
So I'm still confused here.. I'll explain the situation a little more clearly.. Ignoring how they tactically could have played this out better earlier down the run... Leeward mark (which had previously been a port rounding mark) is now the left hand end of the finish line. Both boats are level side by side on port. Within three boat lengths of the left end mark of the finish (previous rounding mark). Leeward boat tightens up a little so windward boat (previously keep clear boat) cant get to the finish line and is now heading directly for the mark. Windward shouts for water. Leeward replies he doesnt have to give any. Windward boat has to avoid mark wrong side of the line and come around again. Who was in the wrong?
Edited by Bandin - 08 May 23 at 4:30pm |
|
![]() |
|
423zero ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 08 Jan 15 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3420 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
With only three boat lengths to go would be difficult for Lee boat to give windward boat room.
|
|
Robert
|
|
![]() |
|
Bandin ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 21 Feb 20 Location: Bodmin Online Status: Offline Posts: 22 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Windward initially had room until leeward tightened up towards the mark cutting him out. It was a slow, very light wind day so plenty of time.
|
|
![]() |
|
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Its a mark.
L is required to give W mark-room. |
|
![]() |
|
ColPrice2002 ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 25 Nov 08 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 222 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Sorry,
I'm having trouble visualising the situation:- There's a rounding park (to port), which as soon as the shorten course is signalled, it becomes the left hand end. Is that looking upwind or down wind? I'm reading the situation as a hook finish - if so, then there are other porblems. If that's wrong, then rule 18 applies, overlapped within 3 boat lengths, inside boat has right to mark room - unless the outside boat can't (not won't) give it.
|
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 123 9> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |