Laser 140101 Tynemouth |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Laser 161752 Tynemouth |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
RS 400 Tack Line |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <123 |
Author | ||
laser193713 ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 13 May 09 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 889 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 11 May 17 at 4:07pm |
|
I actually quite like the twin string system. The only issue is this tack line, I'm not sure how the previous owners put up with it for so long! If I'm honest, I haven't spent too much time with my head under the foredeck, it all seems to work at the moment, which probably means I should take a look so that when it breaks I know how to put it all back together!
|
||
![]() |
||
Hornet ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 06 Nov 12 Online Status: Offline Posts: 20 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
You will have to tie a line to the end of the tack line and pull the tack line from the pole (you may have to cut the outboard knot off), you will also have to take the end cap off and cut the inboard knot off and then pull it from the pulley and scrap and replace the line as you won't be able to undo it.Keep the end that you cut off, push the new line through the pulley now measure where the knots were or Leave extra length after the knot and tape it to your slave line and pull back through the pole and replace your end cap Tie a figure of eight aprox where you think and try the kite. If the kite doesn't go into chute fully you need to move the outboard knot closer to the kite, if the pole doesn't retract fully move the knot closer to the pole.
BTW - pulling your pole out before windward mark rounding is against class rules!
|
||
![]() |
||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
I don't see that in the class rules unless I am missing something. |
||
![]() |
||
PeterG ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 12 Jan 08 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 822 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
1.1 The sprit shall be retracted so that it’s forward end is within 400mm of the forward most point of the hull at all times other than when the spinnaker is set or in the act of being set or recoveredSo the issue would be can you legally claim to be in the act of setting the kite while still heading upwind?
|
||
Peter
Ex Cont 707 Ex Laser 189635 DY 59 |
||
![]() |
||
ClubRacer ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 26 Sep 15 Online Status: Offline Posts: 210 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
1 boat length to the windward mark the pole goes out as you bear away the crew jumps in and pulls the kite up as long as there isn't a period of nothing happening then i would say its total justifiable
|
||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <123 |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |