New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: 3 boats length
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

3 boats length

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 3 boats length
    Posted: 30 Jan 16 at 9:39am
The rule is normal position, so if you routinely set the pole before the mark it may count. But it may be less of an issue now, because there are fewer boats where the pole both extends significantly beyond the bow and is set separately from the kite. I also have a feeling that whereas two boat lengths felt about right to get the pole out early for a fast hoist, three boat lengths kinda feels a bit soon.
Back to Top
Rupert View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 11 Aug 04
Location: Whitefriars sc
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 8956
Post Options Post Options   Quote Rupert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jan 16 at 9:15am
I was trying to figure that out last night. The rule must be the same as for finishing ( you can't pull the pole out specially) but when the pole breaks the 3 non-pole boat lengths circle, you are in the zone.
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jan 16 at 11:54pm
Originally posted by sargesail

I think the sprit withdrawal and boat getting shorter is probably why the rule refers to hull lengths and hull entering the zone.

I'm sure you're correct. The trick in the detail is that bowsprits, spinnaker poles etc can (if the position can be said to be normal) make overlaps even though they don't affect the radius.
Back to Top
sargesail View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jan 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1459
Post Options Post Options   Quote sargesail Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jan 16 at 10:34pm
Originally posted by Rupert

I've always understood it to be 3 of the leading boat's lengths, as the FF would arrive at 3 boat lengths well before the oppie is anywhere near the zone. However, I've heard people argue it the other way, including a coach assessor.
As for the other, if, and it would have to be terribly light winds, the 400 pulled the sprit in and actually left the zone he formed with the sprit out, he would be in the same position as anyone leaving the zone. However, if he just gets shorter in the zone he created, then there is no problem.

I think the sprit withdrawal and boat getting shorter is probably why the rule refers to hull lengths and hull entering the zone.
Back to Top
Presuming Ed View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 26 Feb 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 641
Post Options Post Options   Quote Presuming Ed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jan 16 at 5:22pm
There's a new Q&A to clarify
http://www.sailing.org/tools/documents/WorldSailingQA2016.001B011-[19887].pdf

Back to Top
Roger View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 23 Mar 04
Location: Somerset
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 524
Post Options Post Options   Quote Roger Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jan 16 at 5:10pm

The answer is in the definitions


Zone

The area around a mark within a distance of three hull lengths of the boat nearer to it. A boat is in the zone when any part of her hull is in the zone

Back to Top
Rupert View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 11 Aug 04
Location: Whitefriars sc
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 8956
Post Options Post Options   Quote Rupert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jan 16 at 4:56pm
I've always understood it to be 3 of the leading boat's lengths, as the FF would arrive at 3 boat lengths well before the oppie is anywhere near the zone. However, I've heard people argue it the other way, including a coach assessor.
As for the other, if, and it would have to be terribly light winds, the 400 pulled the sprit in and actually left the zone he formed with the sprit out, he would be in the same position as anyone leaving the zone. However, if he just gets shorter in the zone he created, then there is no problem.
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
Back to Top
Henmch View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Dec 15
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 18
Post Options Post Options   Quote Henmch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jan 16 at 4:44pm
can someone confirm that in a mixed fleet the three boats length is the length (x3!) of the first boat to arrive in the zone. Thinking here of an optimist v flying 15 situation!! And also that the length would mean for example in an RS400 length with bowsprit extended if they had it up whe entering zone, even if they took it down immediately on entering the zone. 

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy