Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Rule 14 |
Post Reply ![]() |
Author | ||
Wolf2 ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 15 Feb 15 Online Status: Offline Posts: 3 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 18 Feb 15 at 10:31pm |
|
Rule 14 states that a right of way boat shall be exonerated from breaking rule 14 if contact is made and there is no damage or injury done.
What if there is contact and the only damage done is to the right of way boat; can she be penalised for causing damage to herself?
|
||
![]() |
||
Presuming Ed ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 26 Feb 05 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 641 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
No reason why not. E.g. RYA 2008/4 makes no mention of which boat was damaged.
|
||
![]() |
||
jeffers ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3048 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
As above but it would require a protest to be raised. So the ROW boat could find herself DSQ as well as the non ROW boat.
|
||
Paul
---------------------- D-Zero GBR 74 |
||
![]() |
||
Andymac ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 04 Apr 07 Location: Derbyshire Online Status: Offline Posts: 852 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Yes.
If the ROW boat has not complied with 14(a). then they themselves risk disqualification even if the only damage is to themselves.
Once it becomes obvious that the give way boat is non compliant and a collision is probable, then under rule 14, the ROW boat is compelled to do what it can to avoid (or mitigate) contact.
|
||
![]() |
||
Rupert ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
I guess it would depend on each situation? If the RoW boat was damaged while avoiding causing damage to the other boat, then they will have taken action.
|
||
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
||
![]() |
||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Rule 14( b ) says a right of way boat or a boat entitled to room or mark-room shall be exonerated is she breaks rule 14 and the contact does not cause damage or injury. The rule does not deal with whether or not any particular boat caused damage or injury, merely whether contact caused it.
Certainly depends on individual situations. We need to remember that we don't get to exoneration under rule 14( b ) until we find that it was reasonably possible to avoid contact, in the case of a right of way boat or a boat entitled to room or mark-room, acting no sooner than when it becomes clear that the other boat is not keeping clear or giving room or mark-room (rule 14( a )). We also need to remember that rule 14 requires a boat not only to take action to avoid contact but to actually or successfully avoid contact if reasonably possible.
|
||
![]() |
||
Wolf2 ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 15 Feb 15 Online Status: Offline Posts: 3 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Thanks for all the advice. Really helpful.
|
||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |