Print Page | Close Window

Rule 14

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=11894
Printed Date: 28 Jun 25 at 10:11pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: Rule 14
Posted By: Wolf2
Subject: Rule 14
Date Posted: 18 Feb 15 at 10:31pm
Rule 14 states that a right of way boat shall be exonerated from breaking rule 14 if contact is made and there is no damage or injury done.  

What if there is contact and the only damage done is to the right of way boat; can she be penalised for causing damage to herself?



Replies:
Posted By: Presuming Ed
Date Posted: 19 Feb 15 at 7:49am
No reason why not. E.g. RYA 2008/4 makes no mention of which boat was damaged.


Posted By: jeffers
Date Posted: 19 Feb 15 at 9:00am
As above but it would require a protest to be raised. So the ROW boat could find herself DSQ as well as the non ROW boat.

-------------
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74


Posted By: Andymac
Date Posted: 20 Feb 15 at 11:20am
Yes.
 
If the ROW boat has not complied with 14(a). then they themselves risk disqualification even if the only damage is to themselves.
Once it becomes obvious that the give way boat is non compliant and a collision is probable, then under rule 14, the ROW boat is compelled to do what it can to avoid (or mitigate) contact.


Posted By: Rupert
Date Posted: 20 Feb 15 at 4:53pm
I guess it would depend on each situation? If the RoW boat was damaged while avoiding causing damage to the other boat, then they will have taken action.

-------------
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686


Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 21 Feb 15 at 12:55pm
Originally posted by Wolf2

Rule 14 states that a right of way boat shall be exonerated from breaking rule 14 if contact is made and there is no damage or injury done.  

What if there is contact and the only damage done is to the right of way boat; can she be penalised for causing damage to herself?

Rule 14( b ) says a right of way boat  or a boat entitled to room or mark-room shall be exonerated is she breaks rule 14 and the contact does not cause damage or injury.

The rule does not deal with whether or not any particular boat caused damage or injury, merely whether contact caused it.

Originally posted by Rupert

I guess it would depend on each situation? If the RoW boat was damaged while avoiding causing damage to the other boat, then they will have taken action.

Certainly depends on individual situations.

We need to remember that we don't get to exoneration under rule 14( b ) until we find that it was reasonably possible to avoid contact, in the case of a right of way boat or a boat entitled to room or mark-room, acting no sooner than when it becomes clear that the other boat is not keeping clear or giving room or mark-room (rule 14( a )).

We also need to remember that rule 14 requires a boat not only to take action to avoid contact but  to actually or successfully avoid contact if reasonably possible.


Posted By: Wolf2
Date Posted: 14 Mar 15 at 10:49pm
Thanks for all the advice. Really helpful. 



Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com