New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: dial down
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

dial down

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234>
Author
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: dial down
    Posted: 18 Sep 13 at 9:43am
What the rule says is that when a ROW boat changes course she must give a keep clear boat room to keep clear In addition  rule 16.2 gives a further obligation to the starboard ROW boat when the keep clear port tack boat is sailing to pass astern. Starboard boat shall not change course if as a result the port tack boat would IMMEDIATELY need to change course to continue keeping clear.

So starboard boat can change course but within limits!
Gordon
Back to Top
Rupert View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 11 Aug 04
Location: Whitefriars sc
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 8956
Post Options Post Options   Quote Rupert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Sep 13 at 9:27am
In fleet racing, I had always thought that as starboard boat you weren't allowed to alter course in either direction once a port tack boat was in the process of avoiding you? Am I just plain wrong on that? 
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Sep 13 at 8:33am
Not sure that I read that the same way as Brass.

As B, on port bears away to pass astern of Y, Y bears away on to a collision course with B. At that point I can see nothing that B can do to avoid a collision except continue in a straight line and hope. As B passes ahead of Y she luffs towards a course at 180° to Yellow. A collision is still inevitable but it would have been gunwale to gunwale. At this point Y luffs hard and drives her port quarter in to B!

For me Y broke rule 16.1 and rule 14. Penalty Yellow and they pay for damages. However that is from watching the video. The umpires obviously saw something else, or were influenced by the shouting....

And, being pedantic, the manoeuvre Ainslie carried out was not a "dial down" but "hunting"
Gordon
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Sep 13 at 1:26am
Great example.
 
It's after the start so Call D6 is ON.
 
Note the following
 
@13 Y begins bearing away, aiming for B, and B begins bearing away to keep clear of Y.
@17 Y holds steady course, carefully above 90 degrees from true wind, B still bearing away.
@18 B stops bearing away and holds steady course, doing nothing to keep clear of Y.
@20 B again begins bearing away
@21 Y luffs hard in an attempt to avoid contact with B
@21.5 B luffs back towards Y
@23 contact.
Penalty Blue
 
What WAS B thinking?
 


Edited by Brass - 18 Sep 13 at 1:28am
Back to Top
ohFFsake View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 04 Sep 08
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 219
Post Options Post Options   Quote ohFFsake Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Sep 13 at 12:54am
(cough)

I know a dial down when I see one...

..and I'm looking at one right now:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hpqEONUKIz0


Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Sep 13 at 12:35am
We seem to have some difference in understanding about the slang term 'dial down'.
 
A gentle bear away by a starboard tacker to gain an advantage isn't really a 'dial down'
 
Call that a dial down?
 
THIS is a dial down (45 to 55 seconds in)
 
 
 
 
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Sep 13 at 8:11pm
Or when a bit high on the starboard layline with a boat coming in on port. Bearing away to a collision course may persuade them not to tack in the zone, but cross ahead.


Gordon
Back to Top
ohFFsake View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 04 Sep 08
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 219
Post Options Post Options   Quote ohFFsake Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Sep 13 at 7:51pm
Picking up the OP's point, I'd say that one situation where a dial down can be hugely beneficial, even when sailing in a fleet, is when P is about level with S and likely to make a lee bow tack stick.

If S bears off a bit whilst still a few boat lengths away she speeds up and forces P to tack sooner than they would otherwise have done. As soon as P commits to the tack S resumes their close hauled course and immediately gets separation as well as gaining speed, so instead of being lee-bowed she will now have every chance of rolling the other boat.
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 13 at 3:27pm
Yeah, fair comment, didn't read the rule carefully enough. Just 16.1 applies.
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 13 at 3:07pm
Jim C - could you explain how port tack luffing to clear starboard's bow could possibly be interpreted as keeping clear by sailing to pass astern! 16.2 cannot apply if port tack boat is crossing a starboard boat's bow.

However in this situation starboard would have to remeber to give port room to keep clear if she (starboard) changes course.

I always suggest that on a two (or more) handed boat that one person should always be saying whether boat is ROW or keep clear...


Gordon
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy