Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Sailing the course. |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 123> |
Author | ||
Noah ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 29 Dec 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 611 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 11 Sep 13 at 1:40pm |
|
Several boats lobbed last weekend for sailing the wrong
course. The threatened protest didn't materialise because in each case the
result would have been a discard anyway even if redress were given. |
||
Nick
D-Zero 316 |
||
![]() |
||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
You are right.
Your race committee was wrong. See cases 90 and 106. And what on earth was the race committee doing telling competitors what to do in the middle of a race, and worse still, telling a competitor that they will be disqualified, when this is a decision that can only be made by the protest committee hearing a valid protest.
|
||
![]() |
||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6661 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Think the race team had better request redress for the boats they've disadvantaged...
|
||
![]() |
||
Noah ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 29 Dec 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 611 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Thanks Gents - I wasn't going to dwell on the wrongs and wrongs of the RC and their communications with competitors racing... Outside assistance to those helped; redress due to those they didn't. Complete minefield...
|
||
Nick
D-Zero 316 |
||
![]() |
||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Outside help is not an issue. Information given to any boat by a race committee will always be 'unsolicited information from a disinterested source' in accordance with rule 41( d ) (unless the boat asked for it and it was not 'unsolicited').
We want race committees to be helpfully communicating with competitors.
In this scenario, with the boat in question at least a leg behind the field, it's unlikely that there is any problem with a communication, even if it had not been wrong, giving the boat any unfair advantage.
This scenario does raise the interesting issue of whether the receiving of information, or some other action that is unhelpful could ever be a breach of rule 41, which refers to 'help from an outside source'.
Nobody's suggesting that you beat up on your race committee, but some courteous words to help them understand that they need to be careful about communicating with competitors 1) as to the correctness of what they say and 2) not appearing to direct or order competitors or to exceed the authority given to them under rule A5, are probably in order. If nobody tells them how are they ever to learn and improve? If you have a local culture of never giving feedback to the race committee even when they make mistakes, this should be turned around.
Once they understand that they stuffed up, a race committee initiated request for redress woudl be a nice 'formal' way to acknowledge their mistake and the decision would help everyone understand the rules better.
It would help the culture of the race committee taking responsiblity for their mistakes, and in my opinion, would increase, rather than diminish respect for the race committee and its members.
|
||
![]() |
||
Rupert ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
So, my understanding is that a race committee can protest a boat for sailing the wrong course, but more common is that they tell the person that it has happened, and that person retires from the race unless they disagree. I assume the latter path is perfectly within the spirit of the rules, and that a protest doesn't HAVE to occur? And if they tell a boat they have missed a mark when the boat is still racing, that would be fine, too, but it is up to the sailor what they do with that information?
|
||
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
||
![]() |
||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6661 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
An RC cannot score a boat DSQ or DNF or anything else for missing a mark. In fact they can't score them DNF at all: the only time you get scored DNF is if you don't cross the finish line.
So if the RC believes a boat didn't complete the course before finishing they need to protest if they wish the boat to be penalised [clarified after Brass' post]. It seem odd, but my understanding of the rules is that if a boat starts, doesn't go round any other marks and then crosses the finish line - what you might call a Crowhurst gambit - then they should be given a place subject to protest. The only scoring code available is the place unless they later elect to RAF or are DSQ by the PC. However be aware that SIs do sometimes change this and permit DSQ without a hearing in certain circumstances. Edited by JimC - 12 Sep 13 at 6:06pm |
||
![]() |
||
catmandoo ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 16 Mar 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 545 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
absolutely , and often the race committee can be wrong in their interperatation of "sailing the course" , hence the requirement to protest on their part . If you feel that you pass the string test with the course as defined in the Si's in conjunction with RRS (I mention RRS as hook finishes arent allowed under RRS , which takes presidence) , you are perfectly at will not to retire .
|
||
|
||
![]() |
||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
I take it you mean "... they must protest if they wish to interfere and they think the boat should be penalised" There is only ONE circumstance where a race committee must protest: when it receives a written report from an equipment inspector or measurer under rules
43.1(c) or 78.3.
Yup. The RYA has at least three appeals saying this, 1985/4, 1989/8 and 2006/8 (although RYA 1986/6 does say 'When a boat abandons her attempt to sail the course,
she may be deemed to have retired ...') And this year we RET, we do not RAF.
Edited by Brass - 12 Sep 13 at 3:56pm |
||
![]() |
||
rogerd ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 25 May 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1076 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Lucky we don't have that RO at our puddle. We have sometimes have a sausage triangle course set and being of advancing years and short term memory is not what it was I get a little confused and forget what I did last time round. On the puddle it sometimes pays to go to one side so I do the triangle bit anyway I don't lose much if anything and I know I have sailed the right course.
![]() |
||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 123> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |