Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
RTIR Question |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 123> |
Author | |
RS400atC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 04 Dec 08 Online Status: Offline Posts: 3011 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 03 Jul 12 at 12:41pm |
This was posted by someone on a boat in a class whose RTIr was abandoned:
""""Sorry if we got in your way but we were racing, you must remember that you are not just racing in your class start but also in the overall line honours race. Any boat is allowed to start at the time of the first gun, provided they have entered, if they want to go for line honours. So, that is what we did, we were racing, as were every other boat out there who started."""" Is a boat 'racing' if it goes out intending to race but its class is cancelled? If it's not racing, how does another boat know? |
|
![]() |
|
SoggyBadger ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 26 Oct 10 Location: The Wild Wood Online Status: Offline Posts: 552 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
According the definition she's not racing until the preparatory signal is given. I'd guess that in something like the RTIR there'd be some kind of radio chatter.
|
|
Best wishes from deep in the woods
SB |
|
![]() |
|
olly_love ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 18 Jan 05 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1145 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
i think the main point is that if a class is not starting then it should be in the 2 holding zones,
thats in the SIs and they have the overall ruling |
|
TWO FRANK-Hunter Impala
|
|
![]() |
|
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
There's a lot of specific requirements for competitors in the NOR and SIs for the event, which are still available from the organisers website. They don't seem to agree with some of the statements from "someone"!
|
|
![]() |
|
Quagers ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() ![]() Joined: 24 Oct 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 279 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
This is easy to settle, have a look at the results sheet, non of them appear so they were not racing.
|
|
![]() |
|
RS400atC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 04 Dec 08 Online Status: Offline Posts: 3011 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
So if you are on a closing course with one of these guys around the back of the Wight, do you treat him as a competitor and accord him rights and responsibilities under RRS, or is he just sailing and therefore colregs apply? Does it depend on whether he is flying an ensign or something? If he is flying a class flag I'd assume he was racing or expected to be treated as such. If two boats sail around 'racing' each other, does that count? |
|
![]() |
|
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Isn't it wise to treat every craft on the water as being under IRPCS unless you can be certain that RRS apply?
Edited by JimC - 03 Jul 12 at 6:34pm |
|
![]() |
|
Quagers ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() ![]() Joined: 24 Oct 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 279 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I expected the guys out there who were all racers so know how frustrating it is to display some courtesy and not get in the way. If I had been in their position I would definitely have gone round but would have made sure I never made anyone tack off/duck me.
I know there is absolutely no requirement for them to but I'm sure most of them when racing will have complained about 'some bloody cruiser'. So it would nice if people practised what the preached when the roles were reversed.
|
|
![]() |
|
laser193713 ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 13 May 09 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 889 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Why start a new thread for this!? We were racing against ICAP Leopard, in the race for line honours. On the other hand, nobody had to tack for us. On the other other hand we were out for a sail, so the col regs still apply.
Did it cause a problem? No! So stop whining and get back to sipping the G+T on your cruise box!
|
|
![]() |
|
RS400atC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 04 Dec 08 Online Status: Offline Posts: 3011 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Not if you are give way boat under RRS but stand on vessel under colregs! E.g if a sportsboat was to establish an overlap to leeward from astern, under colregs he would be give way vessel (overtaking boat). Under RRS, you are windward boat, he can sail his proper course. Under colregs, the windward boat is required to hold its course! |
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 123> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |