Laser 140101 Tynemouth |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Windward Mark to Starboard |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <12 |
Author | |
Simon368 ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 24 Aug 10 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 20 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 08 Nov 10 at 2:14pm |
sarcasm, like it, but not very helpful.
As with most people my knowledge of the rules has many holes in it that are usualy discussed later in the bar. After a long absence, the rules have changed and my memory of them has dimmed, but I try...
so in future if someone calls water at any mark and has the right I have to let them in. |
|
![]() |
|
SoggyBadger ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 26 Oct 10 Location: The Wild Wood Online Status: Offline Posts: 552 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Yes you can call for water at a windward mark (assuming you've acquired the overlap in time). As far as I can remember (since the late 1960s) this has always been the case. I did quite a bit of team racing in Merlins in my youth and I don't recall the rule being any different for that. Perhaps you team raced under a different set of rules? |
|
Best wishes from deep in the woods
SB |
|
![]() |
|
Simon368 ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 24 Aug 10 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 20 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
No Rupert in the incident on Saturday you were boat A to windward which is what made me rethink this rule. Whether Robbie was pinching or not is not relavent. In that wind, or total absence of wind, it is hard to be sure on that point.
The incident I actually described was one that happened with Paul and I at Haversham when he reached into no. 9 and called water. As there was a small gap I had no choice but to let him in or risk a collision which would ahve been very naughty.
The issue I want to understand is can you call water at a windward mark when on the same tack. I always believed from team racing days you had every right to shut out the windward boat, but with new rules I am not so sure as I have seen this incident many times this year.
|
|
![]() |
|
bornskiffyish ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 21 Apr 10 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 25 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
if you were boat B boat A could not possably of been pinching to shut you out. As boat A was to windward so they would of gained nothing by pinching other than loosing speed
|
|
![]() |
|
Rupert ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I was boat B - I'd not over stood the mark and didn't need to bear away, boat A was pinching like hell to shut me out...
Glad I got it right.
|
|
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
|
![]() |
|
alstorer ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 02 Aug 07 Location: Cambridge Online Status: Offline Posts: 2899 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Nope, Bote B must let boat A if there's the overlap. Boat A MUST though carry out (or at the very least, try to) a good tight rounding.
|
|
-_
Al |
|
![]() |
|
Simon368 ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 24 Aug 10 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 20 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Two boats on Starboard tack aproach the windward mark. The mark is to be left to Starboard. Boat B to leeward is ahead but Boat A to windward is overlapped.
Entering the 3 boat length circle Boat A realising he has overstood the mark bears off and calls for water. Boat B who is laying the mark for a perfect rounding says no. The results are obvious. After a little discussing Boat B did his turns to save his place and not risk disqualification.
Surely Boat B had every right to hold his course and not let Boat A in?
|
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <12 |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |