New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Confusng Situations
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Confusng Situations

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Roger View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 23 Mar 04
Location: Somerset
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 524
Post Options Post Options   Quote Roger Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Confusng Situations
    Posted: 31 Jul 10 at 7:28pm

 

My take......

1. I agree starboard may continue and force port to tack off, this should widen the gap between the boats and give starboard clearer air on the following reach/run.

2. Starboard leading boat should slow within the 3 boats length circle and force the following boat to overlap, if the following boat goes for the inside she has no right to room, and if she goes outside there is room for the leading boat to tack without fowling.

These situations happen all the time with starboard roundings of a windward mark and cause all sorts of problems...

 

Back to Top
Quagers View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work
Avatar

Joined: 24 Oct 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 279
Post Options Post Options   Quote Quagers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Jul 10 at 7:21pm
for situation 1, room at the mark does not apply to boats on different tacks on a beat, so yes the starboard tacker can carry
on, its a standard move in team racing.

Situation 2, not sure but I would say that when tacking you lose your rights so if you cant tack and clear then you are
stuffed.

Edited by Quagers
Back to Top
rich96 View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 20 Jan 05
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 596
Post Options Post Options   Quote rich96 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Jul 10 at 5:51pm

A couple of situations have arisen recently:

1. Standard situation - a starboard tack boat is approachiong to windward mark (to be left to starboard) and a port tacker is converging. Starboard tacker maintains his courrse until port tacker has to tack off (port  wasnt high enough to duck starboard and still clear the mark). Port tacker says that illegal - suggests that he only needs to give room for a rounding ?. Surely at the windward mark the right of way boat can sail on as far as he wishes ?

 

2. Two starboard tackers approach the windward mark on the layline (to be left to starboard). They are not overlapped but the boat in front cant tack fast enough to prevent boat behind clipping him if he wishes. Boat behind scream "dont tack" etc How does the boat ahead round the mark in the lead ?. This would be worse if, say, 8 boats all followed each other towards the mark.

 

Any help would be great.

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy