New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Winward mark rounding
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Winward mark rounding

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>
Author
Merlinboy View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 03 Jul 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3169
Post Options Post Options   Quote Merlinboy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Winward mark rounding
    Posted: 01 Sep 09 at 11:23am
I witnessed an interesting incident this weekend whilst sailing our long distance race on the river.  A boat was rounding the mark (starboard rounding) his boat was on port but his bow was just starting to round the mark.  A Solo dinghy comes flying in shouting starboardwhich makes the boat rounding the mark crash tack off.  From my viwe it seemed the solo had no rights as the one boat had already stated rounding the solo had overstood the mark and hadnt given the rounding boat any time whatsoever.  I thought that if the Boat bad no overlap in the zone and then tacked and didnt give the other boat room they must give fair room at the mark.  Is this the case?
Back to Top
ColPrice2002 View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 25 Nov 08
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 222
Post Options Post Options   Quote ColPrice2002 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Sep 09 at 12:23pm

Hi,

It's not clear:- Overlap and mark room only apply with Rule 18. If both boats are on opposite tacks where one needs to tack then it's not covered by rule 18 - it's a simple port/starboard situation (rule 10).

The only exceptions here are if the right or way boat changed course after the other boat was keeping clear. Rules 15 & 16 acquiring right of way and changing course)

Colin (Solo 3400 - not prejudiced!)

Back to Top
Merlinboy View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 03 Jul 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3169
Post Options Post Options   Quote Merlinboy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Sep 09 at 1:38pm

What i'm asking i suppose is when does the boat rounding the mark have to give room, there was no overlap once entering the zone, there was very little warning in asking for room (I know you dont actually need to hale) the boat rounding the mark had started its rounding when the starboard boat yelled starboard, meaning the other boat had to crash tack.  I thought the tacking boat had no rights?

Back to Top
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3048
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Sep 09 at 2:24pm
I would say in the particular case unless the Solo was fetching in and the port boat would have kept clear without the starboard boat changing course then it is a simple port starboard situation. It does sound like the port boat was not keeping a proper look out to me though to be caught like that. I am almost paranoid if I approach a Starboard WW mark rounding on port. You are of course allowed to slow down and make the starboard boat sail past you prior to tacking though which can be a useful weapon in fleet races.....
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Sep 09 at 2:31pm
I don't fully understand the situation... A diagram might help... If the boat were on opposite tacks approaching the mark then presumably they had been overlapped for some considerable time, and in any case rule 18 doesn't apply: its simple port/starboard as Colin says. But then you talk about tacking... Had starboard only just tacked onto starboard, or do you mean that they were going to need to tack onto starboard to round?
Back to Top
Merlinboy View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 03 Jul 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3169
Post Options Post Options   Quote Merlinboy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Sep 09 at 2:37pm
I should point out he wasn't heading to the mark on port you had to tack onto port to round the mark. Remember we are talking about a VERY narrow river here.  It was a long and a short tack beat so you were almost fetching to the mark.  I'm not sure it was a case of the port boat not keeping a look out as it didn't look like the solo was any where near and the other boat had already started bearing off round the mark.  The solo had over stood the mark and bore off to get round and sneaked up on the other boats transom. Then hailed Starboard.  When i was asked for my opinion i thought it looked like the Solo had no rights as he had at no point until rounding had any rights and didn't give enough time or warning to the other boat.  Am i completely wrong?
Back to Top
Merlinboy View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 03 Jul 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3169
Post Options Post Options   Quote Merlinboy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Sep 09 at 2:51pm

Sorry Jim i did a really poor attempt at a MS paint drawing to explain it but unfortunatley it wont let me upload a picture in the Racing rules thread!

Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Sep 09 at 3:16pm
Originally posted by Merlinboy

... looked like the Solo had no rights as he had at no point until rounding had any rights and didn't give enough time or warning to the other boat.  Am i completely wrong?

I'm beginning to suspect so... If he was on Starboard why should he not have rights?
Back to Top
Merlinboy View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 03 Jul 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3169
Post Options Post Options   Quote Merlinboy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Sep 09 at 3:45pm

because the other boat was on starboard until he started to round the mark.  (The other boat was a snipe by the way)

So the Snipe was sailing a starboard course and had to tack round the boy.  The solo had over stood the mark and was bearing off at some speed as the snipe was about 3/4 of the way round the mark.  The solo would itself have to gybe/tack round the mark and therefore would have to sail on port for a small amount of time until it had finished its maneuver.

Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Sep 09 at 4:08pm
OK, so both boats approached the mark on starboard, and needed to tack round the mark, and they were not overlapped at the zone. Snipe (clear ahead at the zone) tacked (presumably rather slowly) and was caught either mid tacking or on port by Solo.

My vote is that its a Case 15 situation... Rule 13 applies and you can't tack unless you can keep clear of the boat behind while tacking.

In tacking to round a mark, a boat clear ahead must comply with rule 13; a boat clear astern is entitled to hold her course and thereby prevent the other from tacking.


Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy