New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Downwind Start
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Downwind Start

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Patrick McCosh View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 29 Oct 12
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3
Post Options Post Options   Quote Patrick McCosh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Downwind Start
    Posted: 29 Oct 12 at 3:37pm
Dear Jim C and Gordon - many thanks for your replies, they have been useful.
Patrick
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Oct 12 at 10:18am
When both boats gybe B becomes overlapped to leeward of A . B acquires right of way (rule 11). As both boats gybed simultaneously B acquired right of way at least in part because of the actions of A. If A had not gybed then she would be on starboard and B, on port, required to keep clear. Rule 15 does not apply and B is not initially required to give A room to keep clear.

However (that word again) having gybed B then luffs. As B has changed course she is required to give A room to keep clear (rule 16.1). If A responds to B's change of course promptly and in a seamanlike way but is unable to avoid contact, then B has broken rule 16.1 and should take a penalty. A is not obliged to performan unseamanlike manoeuvre. Hitting a mark is considered to be unseamanlike.

If A does not respond promptly then she has broken rule 11.
Gordon
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6662
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Oct 12 at 8:04am
All in the detail I think. Section C doesn't apply at a start mark, but B acquired right of way and has various restrictions on her actions under section B.
Back to Top
Patrick McCosh View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 29 Oct 12
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3
Post Options Post Options   Quote Patrick McCosh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Oct 12 at 7:34am
Club Sailing, Downwind start. Line is port broad reach favoured.

Boat A and B elect to approach the outer limit mark on Starboard at 80 degrees, they plan to gybe onto port at the line.

A and B are overlapped, A being the inside and leeward boat. Both on starboard.

A and B reach the outer limit 5 secs after the strat gun and gybe simultaneously onto port.

B then immediately luffs A and calls out, NO BARGING, NO WATER ON A START MARK. A is squeezed at the outer limit and a collision occurs.

A performs penalty turns but protests.

Dear fellow sailors, please advise.
Patrick
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy