Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
SI to Switch Off Black Flag Exclusion from restart |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 123> |
Author | ||
Strangler ![]() Posting king ![]() ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 154 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 25 Jan 11 at 5:32pm |
|
It was not a black flag start but I was at a championship in 2000 where a P&S incident forced S over the line. He continued and later protested... and won. It affected the top 3 placings but after 8 pints of Guinness your not bitter!
Looking at the rule I see nothing that stops a protest committee from coming too this interpretation.
|
||
![]() |
||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
I wish it were always used that way... I've been at big open handicap events where they've gone for the black flag on the first start of the day and DSQd people who crossed the triangle gybing down to the start line when running late. |
||
![]() |
||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
I agree it's a high risk play. It's even higher than you describe. You cannot get average points in the hearing: it will be a hearing of your protest, the best you can get is the other boat DSQ and you exonerated for breaking rule 30.3 by being in the triangle early. If you don't sail in the restarted race, the exoneration will change your BFD into a DNS, which in a championship regatta is no change in points at all. To get average points, you need redress, which depends on an improper action or omission by the race committee, damage by the rule breaking boat causing your score to be worse, rule 2/69 breach by the other boat, or giving help. Except for a very faint chance on the rule 2 ground, it is extremely unlikely that you can justify redress.
I agree that the Black Flag Rule doesn't deal well with these problems, but remember it's a last resort rule to get a start away when the fleet is otherwise hopelessly unruly.
|
||
![]() |
||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
I dunno guys, it seems an extraordinarily high risk to start after being over the line on a black flag start, even if you were pushed over illegally, because if you don't win the protest you will be DNE. Better surely to sit it out and accept average points if you win iin the room.
I guess though it highlights what a lashup the whole black flag thing is and how badly the sport needs a better alternative. Its a shame I'm not smart enough to think of one! Edited by JimC - 25 Jan 11 at 3:29am |
||
![]() |
||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Probably prudent to make the attempt, but I don't know how welcome that snippet of conversation would be on a RC Boat going flat out to organise a Black Flag restart. Last time I was there, that involved taking up an engineroom floorboard to make a whiteboard to display sail numbers on <g>.
|
||
![]() |
||
Andymac ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 04 Apr 07 Location: Derbyshire Online Status: Offline Posts: 852 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Thank you Brass,
I tried unsuccessfully the other night to post (a rather less well worded version of) what you state.
I would only add that it would be advisable for the boat to inform race committee of intention to exercise its entitlement to sail in restarted race to ensure that it doesn't automatically incur a DNE, with the race committee failing to note its finish position (pending successful protest hearing).
|
||
![]() |
||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
I agree that if there is no general recall, merely gaining exoneration for breaking rule 30.3 will not suffice: Unless she returns and restarts, once the boat finishes she will have have failed to comply with rule 28.1, for which she cannot be exonerated: she may have been compelled to enter the triangle early, but nothing compelled her to race on without returning and starting in accordance with the definition of start.
Even if there were grounds for redress for a breach of sportsmanship under rule 62.1(d), I think failure to return and start in accordance with the definition remains a fault of the boat requesting redress and rules out redress.
I think things are somewhat different where there is a General Recall. In that case, if a boat is entitled to be exonerated because she was compelled to break rule 30.3 (by entering the triangle) by another boat (say a rogue port tacker) breaking a rule, then she is under no obligation to retire (and Basic Principle should be 'read down' to include 'unless she is entitled to be exonerated under rule 64.1(c)'). Once she is entitled to be exonerated for breaking rule 30.3, following the General Recall, she should be allowed to act on her entitlement and sail in the restarted race, and following a successful protest hearing confirming her exoneration, to be scored in the place she gained in the resailed race instead of DNE.
|
||
![]() |
||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Given the lack of really skillful and experienced race officers, even at a Worlds, I would not be surprised to see the PRO being preoccupied with identifying BFDs and watching the line, so that his or her first response when unidentifiable boats got over early in the last few seconds before the signal was taken up in making the decision about the discretion whether or not to signal General Recall, so that there was no time left to go to AP before the starting signal, and General Recall was the only thing left to do.
I absolutely agree that a better solution than writing a SI, is to rely on the race officer to come up with a 'legal fiction', that he could not be sure of the identities of any of the boats over early, thus no boats were BFD.
The mechanisms for 'undoing' BFD once numbers have been posted are messy at best.
I really don't think whether the line is 'good' or not is a relevant consideration. I don't agree that a biased line (no matter how biased) forces any boat to be over early. It is up to the competitors to assess the condition and make sure they are not over early.
Consider: if a competitor requested redress because they claimed that the line was biased and 'unfair' and that it was an improper omission of the RC to have failed to postpone and reset the line. I would contend that rule 27.3 "Before the starting signal, the race committee may ... postpone ... the race" provides a discretionary power to the RC, and that there was no impropriety in the RC exercising its discretion and not postponing. There was no improper action or omission, thus no redress is available. I think people get a little too 'precious' about 'fair' starting lines, and windward legs exactly into the eye of the wind.
|
||
![]() |
||
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
An attempt might be made to use 64.1(c) to give a ROW boat exoneration from breaking rule 30.3. I'm not sure if it would work... by being in the triangle between ends of line and windward mark before the start ROW boat has broken rule 30.3. She must, if she knows that she has broken the rule, retire, in accordance with the Basic Principle. If she were to apply for exoneration she would have to demonstrate that, having been sailed over the line (and thus, unwillingly, broken the rule) she had sailed back and started correctly. But by doing so she acknowledges that she has broken the rule... Does anyone have a example of a Jury using 64.1c in this way
However, if ROW can demonstrate that the keep clear boat deliberately infringed a rule, thus breaking rule 2, then ROW boat, as long a she retires from the race as soon as she is certain that she has broken rule 30.3, could claim redress under 62.1d Gordon |
||
Gordon
|
||
![]() |
||
Strangler ![]() Posting king ![]() ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 154 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Slightly off topic.
I agree with your interpretation but am vehemently against the rule being allowed to cover the start line. As there is such a big advantage to being a length or two over there should be NO circumstances where it is allowed. I think the remedy for S is to restart [if no BF] and protest. Redress should be allowed in such circumstances after a successful protest.
|
||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 123> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |