SI to Switch Off Black Flag Exclusion from restart
Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=7497
Printed Date: 27 Jun 25 at 10:38pm Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Topic: SI to Switch Off Black Flag Exclusion from restart
Posted By: Brass
Subject: SI to Switch Off Black Flag Exclusion from restart
Date Posted: 20 Jan 11 at 4:46am
Has anyone ever had experience with a SI like the following (from the Laser Worlds at Hayling Is)
14.2.3 When the race committee decides that its application of rule 30.3 entitles a boat to redress under rule 62.1(a), it may give her redress by not displaying her sail number and not disqualifying her (change of rules 30.3, 60.2 and 63.1).
The effect appears to be to allow the RC to 'switch off' the Black Flag afterwards, if they don't think boats deserve to be disqualified or excluded.
Does it work well?
Any problems encountered?
|
Replies:
Posted By: jeffers
Date Posted: 20 Jan 11 at 8:20am
To be fair i would not have thought the sitautions where a boat may be entitled to redress is a matter for a protest comittee and not for the race committee who will have a restricted view of any incidents (unless they have spotter boats all over the place or the incident was blatant (i.e. boat on Port forcing boat on Starboard over).
Also are these rules allowed to be modified by the SIs (I guess they are given your knowledge of the rules Bras)?
------------- Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
|
Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 20 Jan 11 at 8:34am
I'm having trouble working out in what circumstances this SI would apply... Can anyone elucidate?
|
Posted By: Rupert
Date Posted: 20 Jan 11 at 8:46am
If a boat was thought to have been caught OCS, but a video playback shows that they were actually starting correctly? The RO could then decide they were fine for the restart, rather than it going to protest at the end of the day, and the boat having to be awarded average points, or whatever the solution would be at that point?
------------- Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
Posted By: Lukepiewalker
Date Posted: 20 Jan 11 at 11:30am
The way I read it it would apply if there was a race committee error that precipitated the restart, then they can allow them back in. Or something along those lines.
------------- Ex-Finn GBR533 "Pie Hard"
Ex-National 12 3253 "Seawitch"
Ex-National 12 2961 "Curved Air"
Ex-Mirror 59096 "Voodoo Chile"
|
Posted By: jeffers
Date Posted: 20 Jan 11 at 2:04pm
Surely if there was a race comittee error the start would be abandoned and the black flag would be irrelevant?
------------- Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
|
Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 20 Jan 11 at 5:24pm
There are several reasons why RC may not be 100% confident in a BFD call. Doubt about the sail number or bow number may be one of them. If there is an doubt then BFD should not be called.
This SI just formalises standard practice... If a sail number is not posted then the BFD does not apply.
Much the same principle applies to RC correcting finishing positions without going to a redress hearing.
Gordon
------------- Gordon
|
Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 22 Jan 11 at 4:56am
Originally posted by jeffers
To be fair i would not have thought the sitautions where a boat may be entitled to redress is a matter for a protest comittee and not for the race committee who will have a restricted view of any incidents (unless they have spotter boats all over the place or the incident was blatant (i.e. boat on Port forcing boat on Starboard over).
Also are these rules allowed to be modified by the SIs (I guess they are given your knowledge of the rules Bras)? |
No problem with legality. Rule 86.1(b) deals with what rules can and cannot be changed by the SI.
SI cannot change any rules in:
· Definitions (except the size of the zone)
· Sportsmanship and the Rules
· Part 1 – Fundamental Rules
· Part 2 – When Boats Meet
· Part 7 – Race Organisation.
SI can change: anything in:
· Part 3 – Conduct of a Race
· Part 4 – Other Requirements When Racing except rule 42 Propulsion and rule 43 Competitor Clothing and Equipment
· Part 5 – Protests, Redress, Hearings, Misconduct and Appeals, except Rule 69 Allegations of Gross Misconduct, Rule 70 Appeals and Requests to a National Authority, and Rule 71 National Authority Decisions.
· Part 6 – Entry and Qualification, except Rule 75 Entering a Race, Rule 76 Exclusion of Boats or Competitors, Rule 79 Classification, and Rule 80 Advertising
So a race committee can rewrite the whole publication of SI and NOR, signals, starting and finishing, rounding and touching marks, protesting and penalties rules if they’re silly enough (and if they use the magic words ‘this changes rule xx’).
If a starboard tacker was forced over by a port tacker your would be looking at exoneration under rule 64.1(c), rather than a redress: a boat cannot be given redress for the consequences of another boat breaking a rule unless it causes injury or physical damage (rule 62.1(b)).
|
Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 22 Jan 11 at 5:08am
Originally posted by JimC
I'm having trouble working out in what circumstances this SI would apply... Can anyone elucidate? |
Possible circumstances that have been suggested to me are:
- where the race committee believes that they have made one or more mistake in identifying boats over in the original black flag start, or
- where there is a sudden wind shift or change in conditions, late in the starting sequence that 'forces' boats over, in a way that they don't 'deserve' to be penalised.
- where the race committee has set such a biased line, under the black flag, that it was 'inevitable' that some boats would be over early.
I think the main concern was the mistake in identity one. This SI was drafted (elsewhere than Hayling Is) before Q&A 2009-031, which asserts that a race committee may correct mistakes it makes, was issued. On this grounds, I think the Q&A now makes it unnecessary.
There was also possibly a concern for the case where only a few boats may have been positively identified, and then a whole bunch of other boats, who could not be identified went over early, so the notion was that it was 'unfair' to exclude those few boats that had been identified, while a larger number of boats were over early but escaped exclusion because they could not be identified.
|
Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 22 Jan 11 at 5:17am
Originally posted by jeffers
Surely if there was a race comittee error the start would be abandoned and the black flag would be irrelevant? |
No, exclusion of BFD boats applies even after a General Recall or Abandonment (after the starting signal). The only way the rule lets you off is if the race is postponed or abandoned before the starting signal.
30.3 Black Flag Rule
If a black flag has been displayed, no part of a boat’s hull, crew or equipment shall be in the triangle formed by the ends of the starting line and the first mark during the last minute before her starting signal. If a boat breaks this rule and is identified, she shall be disqualified without a hearing, even if the race is restarted or resailed, but not if it is postponed or abandoned before the starting signal. If a general recall is signalled or the race is abandoned after the starting signal, the race committee shall display her sail number before the next warning signal for that race, and if the race is restarted or resailed she shall not sail in it. If she does so, her disqualification shall not be excluded in calculating her series score.
|
Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 22 Jan 11 at 10:28am
Brass - I would hope, in your circumstances 2 and 3 that most Race Committees would fly AP, even in the last seconds before start.
On the biased line - I have seen several race officers, after several attempts at a start, bias the line at the committee boat end - not to to give a fair start but to make sure that they can read all the sail numbers!
If a large number of boats are over either the first boat over lead the charge - in which case the BFD is justified, or they were pushed over the line by the advancing horde. In which case, should they be penalised for getting in to such a position, or should the Race Committee suffer from a sudden outbreak of "Nelson's Eye". If the consensus on the committee boat was that the line was reasonably well set then I would go for the BFD.
Gordon
------------- Gordon
|
Posted By: Strangler
Date Posted: 22 Jan 11 at 6:07pm
Originally posted by Brass
If a starboard tacker was forced over by a port tacker your would be looking at exoneration under rule 64.1(c), rather than a redress: a boat cannot be given redress for the consequences of another boat breaking a rule unless it causes injury or physical damage (rule 62.1(b)). |
Slightly off topic.
I agree with your interpretation but am vehemently against the rule being allowed to cover the start line. As there is such a big advantage to being a length or two over there should be NO circumstances where it is allowed. I think the remedy for S is to restart [if no BF] and protest. Redress should be allowed in such circumstances after a successful protest.
-------------
|
Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 23 Jan 11 at 12:51pm
An attempt might be made to use 64.1(c) to give a ROW boat exoneration from breaking rule 30.3. I'm not sure if it would work... by being in the triangle between ends of line and windward mark before the start ROW boat has broken rule 30.3. She must, if she knows that she has broken the rule, retire, in accordance with the Basic Principle. If she were to apply for exoneration she would have to demonstrate that, having been sailed over the line (and thus, unwillingly, broken the rule) she had sailed back and started correctly. But by doing so she acknowledges that she has broken the rule... Does anyone have a example of a Jury using 64.1c in this way
However, if ROW can demonstrate that the keep clear boat deliberately infringed a rule, thus breaking rule 2, then ROW boat, as long a she retires from the race as soon as she is certain that she has broken rule 30.3, could claim redress under 62.1d
Gordon
------------- Gordon
|
Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 23 Jan 11 at 10:21pm
Originally posted by gordon
Brass - I would hope, in your circumstances 2 and 3 that most Race Committees would fly AP, even in the last seconds before start.
On the biased line - I have seen several race officers, after several attempts at a start, bias the line at the committee boat end - not to to give a fair start but to make sure that they can read all the sail numbers!
If a large number of boats are over either the first boat over lead the charge - in which case the BFD is justified, or they were pushed over the line by the advancing horde. In which case, should they be penalised for getting in to such a position, or should the Race Committee suffer from a sudden outbreak of "Nelson's Eye". If the consensus on the committee boat was that the line was reasonably well set then I would go for the BFD. |
Given the lack of really skillful and experienced race officers, even at a Worlds, I would not be surprised to see the PRO being preoccupied with identifying BFDs and watching the line, so that his or her first response when unidentifiable boats got over early in the last few seconds before the signal was taken up in making the decision about the discretion whether or not to signal General Recall, so that there was no time left to go to AP before the starting signal, and General Recall was the only thing left to do.
I absolutely agree that a better solution than writing a SI, is to rely on the race officer to come up with a 'legal fiction', that he could not be sure of the identities of any of the boats over early, thus no boats were BFD.
The mechanisms for 'undoing' BFD once numbers have been posted are messy at best.
I really don't think whether the line is 'good' or not is a relevant consideration. I don't agree that a biased line (no matter how biased) forces any boat to be over early. It is up to the competitors to assess the condition and make sure they are not over early.
Consider: if a competitor requested redress because they claimed that the line was biased and 'unfair' and that it was an improper omission of the RC to have failed to postpone and reset the line. I would contend that rule 27.3 "Before the starting signal, the race committee may ... postpone ... the race" provides a discretionary power to the RC, and that there was no impropriety in the RC exercising its discretion and not postponing. There was no improper action or omission, thus no redress is available. I think people get a little too 'precious' about 'fair' starting lines, and windward legs exactly into the eye of the wind.
|
Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 24 Jan 11 at 8:13pm
Originally posted by gordon
An attempt might be made to use 64.1(c) to give a ROW boat exoneration from breaking rule 30.3. I'm not sure if it would work... by being in the triangle between ends of line and windward mark before the start ROW boat has broken rule 30.3. She must, if she knows that she has broken the rule, retire, in accordance with the Basic Principle. If she were to apply for exoneration she would have to demonstrate that, having been sailed over the line (and thus, unwillingly, broken the rule) she had sailed back and started correctly. But by doing so she acknowledges that she has broken the rule... Does anyone have a example of a Jury using 64.1c in this way
However, if ROW can demonstrate that the keep clear boat deliberately infringed a rule, thus breaking rule 2, then ROW boat, as long a she retires from the race as soon as she is certain that she has broken rule 30.3, could claim redress under 62.1d |
I agree that if there is no general recall, merely gaining exoneration for breaking rule 30.3 will not suffice: Unless she returns and restarts, once the boat finishes she will have have failed to comply with rule 28.1, for which she cannot be exonerated: she may have been compelled to enter the triangle early, but nothing compelled her to race on without returning and starting in accordance with the definition of start.
Even if there were grounds for redress for a breach of sportsmanship under rule 62.1(d), I think failure to return and start in accordance with the definition remains a fault of the boat requesting redress and rules out redress.
I think things are somewhat different where there is a General Recall. In that case, if a boat is entitled to be exonerated because she was compelled to break rule 30.3 (by entering the triangle) by another boat (say a rogue port tacker) breaking a rule, then she is under no obligation to retire (and Basic Principle should be 'read down' to include 'unless she is entitled to be exonerated under rule 64.1(c)'). Once she is entitled to be exonerated for breaking rule 30.3, following the General Recall, she should be allowed to act on her entitlement and sail in the restarted race, and following a successful protest hearing confirming her exoneration, to be scored in the place she gained in the resailed race instead of DNE.
|
Posted By: Andymac
Date Posted: 25 Jan 11 at 12:37am
Originally posted by Brass
Originally posted by gordon
An attempt might be made to use 64.1(c) to give a ROW boat exoneration from breaking rule 30.3. I'm not sure if it would work... by being in the triangle between ends of line and windward mark before the start ROW boat has broken rule 30.3. She must, if she knows that she has broken the rule, retire, in accordance with the Basic Principle. If she were to apply for exoneration she would have to demonstrate that, having been sailed over the line (and thus, unwillingly, broken the rule) she had sailed back and started correctly. But by doing so she acknowledges that she has broken the rule... Does anyone have a example of a Jury using 64.1c in this way
However, if ROW can demonstrate that the keep clear boat deliberately infringed a rule, thus breaking rule 2, then ROW boat, as long a she retires from the race as soon as she is certain that she has broken rule 30.3, could claim redress under 62.1d |
I agree that if there is no general recall, merely gaining exoneration for breaking rule 30.3 will not suffice: Unless she returns and restarts, once the boat finishes she will have have failed to comply with rule 28.1, for which she cannot be exonerated: she may have been compelled to enter the triangle early, but nothing compelled her to race on without returning and starting in accordance with the definition of start.
Even if there were grounds for redress for a breach of sportsmanship under rule 62.1(d), I think failure to return and start in accordance with the definition remains a fault of the boat requesting redress and rules out redress.
I think things are somewhat different where there is a General Recall. In that case, if a boat is entitled to be exonerated because she was compelled to break rule 30.3 (by entering the triangle) by another boat (say a rogue port tacker) breaking a rule, then she is under no obligation to retire (and Basic Principle should be 'read down' to include 'unless she is entitled to be exonerated under rule 64.1(c)'). Once she is entitled to be exonerated for breaking rule 30.3, following the General Recall, she should be allowed to act on her entitlement and sail in the restarted race, and following a successful protest hearing confirming her exoneration, to be scored in the place she gained in the resailed race instead of DNE. |
Thank you Brass,
I tried unsuccessfully the other night to post (a rather less well worded version of) what you state.
I would only add that it would be advisable for the boat to inform race committee of intention to exercise its entitlement to sail in restarted race to ensure that it doesn't automatically incur a DNE, with the race committee failing to note its finish position (pending successful protest hearing).
|
Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 25 Jan 11 at 1:00am
Originally posted by Andymac
I would only add that it would be advisable for the boat to inform race committee of intention to exercise its entitlement to sail in restarted race to ensure that it doesn't automatically incur a DNE, with the race committee failing to note its finish position (pending successful protest hearing). |
Probably prudent to make the attempt, but I don't know how welcome that snippet of conversation would be on a RC Boat going flat out to organise a Black Flag restart. Last time I was there, that involved taking up an engineroom floorboard to make a whiteboard to display sail numbers on <g>.
|
Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 25 Jan 11 at 3:28am
I dunno guys, it seems an extraordinarily high risk to start after being over the line on a black flag start, even if you were pushed over illegally, because if you don't win the protest you will be DNE. Better surely to sit it out and accept average points if you win iin the room.
I guess though it highlights what a lashup the whole black flag thing is and how badly the sport needs a better alternative. Its a shame I'm not smart enough to think of one!
|
Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 25 Jan 11 at 10:55am
Originally posted by JimC
I dunno guys, it seems an extraordinarily high risk to start after being over the line on a black flag start, even if you were pushed over illegally, because if you don't win the protest you will be DNE. Better surely to sit it out and accept average points if you win iin the room.
I guess though it highlights what a lashup the whole black flag thing is and how badly the sport needs a better alternative. Its a shame I'm not smart enough to think of one! |
I agree it's a high risk play. It's even higher than you describe. You cannot get average points in the hearing: it will be a hearing of your protest, the best you can get is the other boat DSQ and you exonerated for breaking rule 30.3 by being in the triangle early. If you don't sail in the restarted race, the exoneration will change your BFD into a DNS, which in a championship regatta is no change in points at all. To get average points, you need redress, which depends on an improper action or omission by the race committee, damage by the rule breaking boat causing your score to be worse, rule 2/69 breach by the other boat, or giving help. Except for a very faint chance on the rule 2 ground, it is extremely unlikely that you can justify redress.
I agree that the Black Flag Rule doesn't deal well with these problems, but remember it's a last resort rule to get a start away when the fleet is otherwise hopelessly unruly.
|
Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 25 Jan 11 at 11:24am
Originally posted by Brass
but remember it's a last resort rule to get a start away when the fleet is otherwise hopelessly unruly. |
I wish it were always used that way... I've been at big open handicap events where they've gone for the black flag on the first start of the day and DSQd people who crossed the triangle gybing down to the start line when running late.
|
Posted By: Strangler
Date Posted: 25 Jan 11 at 5:32pm
Originally posted by gordon
An attempt might be made to use 64.1(c) to give a ROW boat exoneration from breaking rule 30.3. I'm not sure if it would work... by being in the triangle between ends of line and windward mark before the start ROW boat has broken rule 30.3. She must, if she knows that she has broken the rule, retire, in accordance with the Basic Principle. If she were to apply for exoneration she would have to demonstrate that, having been sailed over the line (and thus, unwillingly, broken the rule) she had sailed back and started correctly. But by doing so she acknowledges that she has broken the rule... Does anyone have a example of a Jury using 64.1c in this way
Gordon
|
It was not a black flag start but I was at a championship in 2000 where a P&S incident forced S over the line. He continued and later protested... and won. It affected the top 3 placings but after 8 pints of Guinness your not bitter!
Looking at the rule I see nothing that stops a protest committee from coming too this interpretation.
-------------
|
|