New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Tacking in a boats water
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Tacking in a boats water

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
laser4000 View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 02 Aug 05
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 589
Post Options Post Options   Quote laser4000 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Tacking in a boats water
    Posted: 21 Jul 09 at 1:54pm
Originally posted by alstorer

Originally posted by JimC


Case 17 certainly means that they can stall the boat and still have right of way, but it seems to me that Rule 15 might well apply... This sounds like a situation that would be well worth a protest if B is a regular offender... It would be essential to sort out third party witnesses though.


They did also shout "where's your witness?". Somewhat unsporting, but we did, perhaps foolishly, let it slide at the time.


take it to protest anyway - the onus is on them to prove they managed to complete their tack and you were late too respond - ok so it does depend on what's said in the room but the chances are that you may win even without a witness.


Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 09 at 1:28pm
Originally posted by jeffers

If they do that regularly then they are asking for a Rule 2 protest against them.

Most definitely... Be interesting to hear their side of the story, but it sounds as if they are skating on extremely thin ice.
Back to Top
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3048
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 09 at 1:16pm

Originally posted by alstorer

Originally posted by JimC


Case 17 certainly means that they can stall the boat and still have right of way, but it seems to me that Rule 15 might well apply... This sounds like a situation that would be well worth a protest if B is a regular offender... It would be essential to sort out third party witnesses though.


They did also shout "where's your witness?". Somewhat unsporting, but we did, perhaps foolishly, let it slide at the time.

If they do that regularly then they are asking for a Rule 2 protest against them. Some might say a bit extreme but it will make them think twice about pulling off a dodgy tack. A shout of 'where's your witness' might indicate some kind of guilt and would certainly make me lean towards boat A if the was any doubt.

Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
alstorer View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 02 Aug 07
Location: Cambridge
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2899
Post Options Post Options   Quote alstorer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 09 at 1:07pm
Originally posted by JimC


Case 17 certainly means that they can stall the boat and still have right of way, but it seems to me that Rule 15 might well apply... This sounds like a situation that would be well worth a protest if B is a regular offender... It would be essential to sort out third party witnesses though.


They did also shout "where's your witness?". Somewhat unsporting, but we did, perhaps foolishly, let it slide at the time.
-_
Al
Back to Top
laser4000 View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 02 Aug 05
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 589
Post Options Post Options   Quote laser4000 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 09 at 12:44pm
Originally posted by alstorer

A has to try and bear off very quickly, but can't possibly do it quickly enough.


If A has tried to respond immediately once B's tack is completed and can't then B is definitely in the wrong and therefore should be taking a penalty. Time to get the protest form out I think especially if they are making a habit of it. B would need to prove in the protest room that (1) they tacked far enough away from A and/or (2) A didn't respond immediately.
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 09 at 11:40am
Originally posted by alstorer

B claims to be in the right as they'd completed the tack and were "clear ahead". A contends they were not given reasonable oppertunity to keep clear.

Case 17 certainly means that they can stall the boat and still have right of way, but it seems to me that Rule 15 might well apply... This sounds like a situation that would be well worth a protest if B is a regular offender... It would be essential to sort out third party witnesses though.
Back to Top
alstorer View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 02 Aug 07
Location: Cambridge
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2899
Post Options Post Options   Quote alstorer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 09 at 11:16am
Related one then, happened a few weeks back. I was crew on boat A in this situation to make things clear where the viewpoint is

A is on Stbd. B on Port. If no action was taken, A would possibly clip B's wing at the stern, possibly with their own wing rather than the bow, but more likely would have passed (just) behind. B tacks onto stbd on A's track. Whilst they spin the boat round quickly and sheet in, in doing so they manage to stall the boat. A has to try and bear off very quickly, but can't possibly do it quickly enough. Contact. B claims to be in the right as they'd completed the tack and were "clear ahead". A contends they were not given reasonable oppertunity to keep clear.

NB: this isn't the only time this day they pull the same manouver with similar result (but with a different A each time).
-_
Al
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 09 at 10:33am
Originally posted by jeffers

What happened at the end of the scenarios was that LW tacked leaving WW a gap of aorund 1 boat length to tack in.

*If* LW's story agreed with yours or if there were other witnesses that agreed with your story I would reckon I would DSQ LW. Of course in practice everyone has a different view of what went on and the PC has to make their best guess as to what actually happened.
Back to Top
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3048
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 09 at 9:26am

What happened at the end of the scenarios was that LW tacked leaving WW a gap of aorund 1 boat length to tack in.

I managed this but there was some contact (hence why I did turns to cover my transom as it were).

To be honest I should not have got myself in the situation as it was (a poor tactical call trying to cover slower boats, I was in the 8.1 they were in standard Lasers).

 

Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Jul 09 at 11:35pm
Not sure that LW acquires a right of way. Initially LW was clear ahead (i.e. ROW) and then is leeward boat (the rule that gives her ROW changes but she is still ROW boat).

LW would only be subject to rule 13 if she had passed head to wind. However , Jeffers claims that LW was only heading up to tack. A boat luffing, but not having passed beyond head to wind, is not tacking (technically - is not subject to rule 13).

We come back to a ROW boat changing course - rule 16.1. When LW changed course did she give WW room (as in the definition) to keep clear?

Gordon
Gordon
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy