New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Rules 'For Idiots'
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Rules 'For Idiots'

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Jimbob View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 05 Sep 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 77
Post Options Post Options   Quote Jimbob Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Rules 'For Idiots'
    Posted: 22 May 09 at 11:16pm
"1 - If you are approaching a windward mark, to be left to starboard, on starboard tack and there is a boat directly infront of you on the same tack - can he tack at the mark even though you would/could hit him ?. Sometoimes you get a stream of boats following and if the front boat cant then technically the guy at the back of the queue would round first ?."

This a very old chestnut and is very simple. Most of the replies so far are complicating the issue. Rule 18 clearly states that it does not apply between boats on opposite tacks on a beat to windward. So the moment the leading boat tacks he is on port and has no rights on the starboard boats approaching from behind and must keep clear. The following boats do not have to give him room to keep clear since it was his actions that caused them to gain right of way See Rule 15.
The counter manoeuvres for the leading boat in this case are a) to overstand the mark slightly and approach close by so boat(s) behind cannot gain an overlap. At the mark luff up hard to round out of the way of the following boats; or b) as suggested earlier slow up inside the 3 boat lengths to force following boats to go ouside. Option a) is by far the safest option as option b) can lead to pile ups and arguments about overlaps which may involve you even though you may be in the right. I've been there.
Jimbob
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 May 09 at 1:03pm
Jim C I would agree with you. When a windward boat is overlapped on the inside, of another boat, from the moment one of them enters the zone, the outside boat must give the inside boat mark room. From that moment, markroom includes room to sail to the mark (which limits the leeward boats rights under rule 11) and room at the mark to sail her proper course, including room to tack.

As I read the rules, the fact that once inside windward boat passes head to wind rule 18 switches off, and at that moment, but not before, outside boat ceases to have an obligation to give mark room (until she herself passes head to wind at which time  a new set of rule 18 obligations arise) does nothing to change, or reduce, the obligation of the outside boat to give mark room whilst boats are still on same tack. If the inside boat infringes rule 13 while passing from head to wind to a closehauled course this will (except in the most exceptional circumstances) be due to the outside boat not giving enough mark room before inside boat passes head to wind. If the answer to the question "Just before the inside boat passes head to wind does she have room to tack" is No then outside boat has infringed.

Gordon
Gordon
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 May 09 at 8:54am
Lets remind ourselves of the definition of mark room...

Mark-Room - Room for a boat to sail to the mark, and then room to sail her proper course while at the mark. However, mark-room does not include room to tack unless the boat is overlapped to windward and on the inside of the boat required to give mark-room.

Which to my mind is exactly the same as saying "mark room includes room to tack if the boat is overlapped to windward and on the inside".

It seems clear enough to my simple mind. Are you sure you aren't struggling for more subtlety in the words than is really there?

I can remember, as a PC member, once doing exactly that and managing to talk ourselves into an interpretation of a rule (forget which one) which was precisely wrong. Fortunately the competetitor wasn't party to the discussion and retired after hearing the evidence and re-reading the rules whilst we were leading ourselves down the garden path!



Edited by JimC
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 May 09 at 12:54am

Originally posted by gordon

Brass,One point, you seem to be quoting a Case, but it is not Case 50 in my Case book - could you check the reference.

Gordon

I do apologise:  it's Case 15, not Case 50.

Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 May 09 at 5:57pm
Brass,

To avoid confusing sailors by our arguments I suggest we do what most judges do when they have different interpretations - we adjourn to a quiet corner of the bar, discuss the matter and come back with a considered answer. I will contact you directly, and promise to return to this thread with a considered answer

One point, you seem to be quoting a Case, but it is not Case 50 in my Case book - could you check the reference.

Gordon
Gordon
Back to Top
ChrisJ View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 07 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 337
Post Options Post Options   Quote ChrisJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 May 09 at 2:40pm
Location: Australia
Back to Top
tack'ho View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 08 Feb 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1100
Post Options Post Options   Quote tack'ho Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 May 09 at 12:15pm
Originally posted by Brass

[I have to disagree with you Gordon.

mmmmmm....really?

I might be sailing it, but it's still sh**e!
Back to Top
ColPrice2002 View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 25 Nov 08
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 222
Post Options Post Options   Quote ColPrice2002 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 May 09 at 9:05am

Consider the situation as if the mark were not there:-

If IW heads up to close hauled, then OW heads up to close hauled as well, then IF IW cannot tack because the stern swing would hit OW, then OW has not given IW sufficient time or space to keep clear (Rule 16).

Otherwise, IW could be put in the impossible position of a) not being able to tack because of OW and b) [possibly] sailing a lower close hauled course.

It isn't possible to establish an overlap from leeward without allowing the give-way boat to keep clear (Rule 17).

Colin

Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 May 09 at 4:09am

Originally posted by gordon

K.I.S.S.

A boat is tacking (in so far as rule 13 "while tacking" applies) from the time she passes head to wind until she is on a close hauled course. During this time an inside overlapped boat who is entitled to mark-room is, by the definition of mark-room, still entitled to room. This entitlement does not disappear when 18.2b switches off.

I have to disagree with you Gordon.

There is no longer any express entitlement to room to tack as part of rounding a mark.  The new definition of mark-room just tells us when mark-room does not include room to tack.

At a windward mark, with two boats initially on same tack, rule 18.1(b) switches off rule 18 in its entirity when one boat passes head to wind so that 'boats [are] on opposite tacks [and] the proper course for one, but not both is to tack.'  So all mark-room entitlements disappear when one of the two boats passes head to wind.

See Case 50, last paragraph:

"If A were to pass head to wind, then at that moment all parts of rule 18 would cease to apply because the boats would be on opposite tacks (see rule 18.1(b))."

Originally posted by gordon

 If there is contact during the time that inside windward boat is subject to rule 13 then outside boat has failed to give mark room and inside boat is exonerated under 18.5a

Disagree:  once inside passes head to wind the whole of rule 18 is off

Originally posted by gordon

 (but not from breaking rule 14 if this was an issue).

Agree rule 18.5 never switches rule 14 off.

Originally posted by gordon

... snip... As soon as outside leeward boat passes head to wind she must keep clear (rule 13) and, as she is now on the same tack as inside boat, must give mark room under 18.2a.

Agree, rule 18 is back ON from when she passes head to wind.

 



Edited by Brass
Back to Top
mtoogood View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 May 09
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Post Options Post Options   Quote mtoogood Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 May 09 at 7:05pm
thanks gordon - admirably simple and i am sure correct!
solent scow sailor
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy