New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: not sure about this one
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

not sure about this one

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3048
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: not sure about this one
    Posted: 21 Jun 07 at 3:25pm
I would agree with Roger that he cal luff but not tack 9but in doing so he has to give sufficient time and opportunity to react.

I was involved in a protest at the Blaze nats over something very similar (the PC decided the other boat breached 16.1 so i won). I would call it as 16.1, any other thoughts?

Obviously we are just going on what we can see in our minds eye....
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
The Moo View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jun 06
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 809
Post Options Post Options   Quote The Moo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jun 07 at 1:19pm
Presmably if the mark had been rounded and left astern Rule 18 does not apply and other When Boats Meet Rules do?
Back to Top
mike ellis View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 30 Dec 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2339
Post Options Post Options   Quote mike ellis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jun 07 at 12:53pm
sounds like he was tacking in your water putting him in the wrong.
600 732, will call it Sticks and Stones when i get round to it.
Also International 14, 1318
Back to Top
Crafty View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 09 Aug 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Post Options Post Options   Quote Crafty Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jun 07 at 12:39pm

the boats were not overlapped during the mark rounding

it was a run to a beat, it was optional to round the mark

yes we had completed the the mark rounding and starting the beat

Laser Radial/4.7 144929
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jun 07 at 12:22pm
Very difficult to analyse specific incidents without the actual info the PC would have - drawing and most especially both parties' version of events.

1) Were the boats overlapped during the mark rounding?
2) If so who was inside
3) What rounding was it, reach to beat, run to beat, beat to run or what?
4) was it necessary to tack to complete the rounding, or was it optional and he could have reasonably gone off on either tack
5) Had you both completed the mark rounding - ie were on your best course for the next mark. Remember 2BL isn't relevant here.
Back to Top
rogerd View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 25 May 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1076
Post Options Post Options   Quote rogerd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jun 07 at 12:19pm
As I understand it (and I could be wrong) He can luff you but not tack.
Back to Top
Crafty View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 09 Aug 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Post Options Post Options   Quote Crafty Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jun 07 at 11:49am

At a recent laser event i was at i was confused by this as well, ( water after the mark )

We were still in the two boat length and rounded the mark, i had a better mark rounding than him and was just higher than him but behind

He decided to tack and i just nicked the back of his boat, i did not have time to react to avoid his boat ( i was also on starboard )

Who was in the wrong ?



Edited by Crafty
Laser Radial/4.7 144929
Back to Top
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3048
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jun 07 at 11:34am
Jim,

You are a master. I dug through and found the wording. The question that always gets asked is does the Zone count after the mark as well. IE are you safe from being luffed hard until you are outside of the Zone again or does it stop as you pass? I always assumed it was a circle around the mark.

Paul
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jun 07 at 12:33pm
Originally posted by jeffers

Just one thing to throw in.....If memory serves the '2 boat length rule' (referred to as 'the zone')  is not actually a rule. I believe it is defined as 'about to round or pass'


Yes and No. You're quite correct about the water being required when about to pass rather than specifically 2BL, but 2BL is also in the rules as the point at which overlaps cannot be made or broken after - If you break an overlap within 2bl then its tough, you still have to let them in, and if you make an overlap after 2BL its tough, you've got no rights and have to bail out or do your turns.
Back to Top
Stefan Lloyd View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 03 Aug 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1599
Post Options Post Options   Quote Stefan Lloyd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jun 07 at 10:28am

Originally posted by jeffers

I could be wrong though.....

I'm afraid you are. 2BL is specified in the RRS. I think some multihull class rules may override it but that would need to be referenced in the SIs. 

Standard protest committee procedures do indeed suggest that both parties are asked if they are happy with the composition of the committee.

 

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy