Approaching Windward Mark |
Post Reply
|
| Author | |
Brass
Really should get out more
Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Topic: Approaching Windward MarkPosted: 31 Mar 16 at 10:38pm |
No she can't once one of them is in the zone. She can if:
|
|
![]() |
|
Presuming Ed
Really should get out more
Joined: 26 Feb 05 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 641 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 31 Mar 16 at 4:43pm |
|
If overlapped at the zone, inside has mark room which includes room to tack.
|
|
![]() |
|
jeffers
Really should get out more
Joined: 29 Mar 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3048 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 31 Mar 16 at 4:39pm |
Rule 11 applies throughout as they are overlapped so W must keep clear of L. However, W is entitled to 'mark room' as soon as the closest boat enters the zone (18.2b). W loses the entitlement to mark room once she passes head to wind as this switches off when the boat entitled to room tacks Rules 18.2c. So if W was not fetching the mark they may be vulnerable to another boat getting an overlap In reality the loss of mark room for W when they tack is immaterial as it is likely that L will be clear astern after both boats have tacked so must keep clear. |
|
|
Paul
---------------------- D-Zero GBR 74 |
|
![]() |
|
JimC
Really should get out more
Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 31 Mar 16 at 4:31pm |
|
Sounds like straightforward RRS 18 to me.
There's a slight complication when they tack for the mark, but its not normally significant. |
|
![]() |
|
rich96
Really should get out more
Joined: 20 Jan 05 Online Status: Offline Posts: 596 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 31 Mar 16 at 4:17pm |
|
Jim
Say you are the inside (windward) boat with the overlapped boat ahead but to leeward The overlap was established well outside the zone |
|
![]() |
|
jeffers
Really should get out more
Joined: 29 Mar 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3048 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 31 Mar 16 at 12:54pm |
|
With Jim on this one, the inside overlapped boat is entitled to mark room as long as the overlap was established in line with the caveats of rule 18.
|
|
|
Paul
---------------------- D-Zero GBR 74 |
|
![]() |
|
JimC
Really should get out more
Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 31 Mar 16 at 12:35pm |
|
Which boat is the inside one? When was the overlap established?
This sounds like a straightforward mark room situation. If a boat is entitled to mark room they can't be pushed out. If not... Edited by JimC - 31 Mar 16 at 12:49pm |
|
![]() |
|
rich96
Really should get out more
Joined: 20 Jan 05 Online Status: Offline Posts: 596 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 31 Mar 16 at 12:29pm |
|
You are approaching a port hand windward mark on port tack with another boat ahead but overlapped
Can they squeeze you out and push you to windward of the mark ? Saw this happen at the weekend |
|
![]() |
|
Post Reply
|
| Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |