Print Page | Close Window

Approaching Windward Mark

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=12355
Printed Date: 26 Jun 25 at 1:35pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: Approaching Windward Mark
Posted By: rich96
Subject: Approaching Windward Mark
Date Posted: 31 Mar 16 at 12:29pm
You are approaching a port hand windward mark on port tack with another boat ahead but overlapped

Can they squeeze you out and push you to windward of the mark ?

Saw this happen at the weekend



Replies:
Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 31 Mar 16 at 12:35pm
Which boat is the inside one? When was the overlap established?
This sounds like a straightforward mark room situation. If a boat is entitled to mark room they can't be pushed out. If not...


Posted By: jeffers
Date Posted: 31 Mar 16 at 12:54pm
With Jim on this one, the inside overlapped boat is entitled to mark room as long as the overlap was established in line with the caveats of rule 18.

-------------
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74


Posted By: rich96
Date Posted: 31 Mar 16 at 4:17pm
Jim

Say you are the inside (windward) boat with the overlapped boat ahead but to leeward

The overlap was established well outside the zone


Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 31 Mar 16 at 4:31pm
Sounds like straightforward RRS 18 to me.
18.2 ( b ) If boats are overlapped when the first of them reaches the zone, the outside boat at that moment shall thereafter give the inside boat mark-room. If a boat is clear ahead when she reaches the zone, the boat clear astern at that moment shall thereafter give her mark-room.


There's a slight complication when they tack for the mark, but its not normally significant.


Posted By: jeffers
Date Posted: 31 Mar 16 at 4:39pm
Originally posted by rich96

Jim

Say you are the inside (windward) boat with the overlapped boat ahead but to leeward

The overlap was established well outside the zone

Rule 11 applies throughout as they are overlapped so W must keep clear of L. However, W is entitled to 'mark room' as soon as the closest boat enters the zone (18.2b). 

W loses the entitlement to mark room once she passes head to wind as this switches off when the boat entitled to room tacks Rules 18.2c. So if W was not fetching the mark they may be vulnerable to another boat getting an overlap

In reality the loss of mark room for W when they tack is immaterial as it is likely that L will be clear astern after both boats have tacked so must keep clear.


-------------
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74


Posted By: Presuming Ed
Date Posted: 31 Mar 16 at 4:43pm
If overlapped at the zone, inside has mark room which includes room to tack. 


Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 31 Mar 16 at 10:38pm
Originally posted by rich96

You are approaching a port hand windward mark on port tack with another boat ahead but overlapped

Can they squeeze you out and push you to windward of the mark ?

Saw this happen at the weekend

No she can't once one of them is in the zone.

She can if:
  1. neither boat has reached the zone, AND
  2. she did not become overlapped within two of her hull lengths to leeward from clear astern, and is thus required  by rule 17 to not sail above her proper course.



Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com