Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Which takes precedence - 18 or 19? |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 123> |
Author | |
Presuming Ed ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 26 Feb 05 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 641 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 18 Oct 13 at 5:50pm |
Further thought. Is that meta-room?
|
|
![]() |
|
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I think you can be as certain as possible that you picked the option that lost you the least time...
|
|
![]() |
|
flaming ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 04 Oct 11 Online Status: Offline Posts: 41 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Thanks all for the contributions, it's been fascinating. Glad I'm not alone in finding the situation slightly confusing! |
|
![]() |
|
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I just tried drawing it... I get two options. In one OW can spin round in PLs wake and fetch the mark. In that case IW can probably spin round and fetch the mark too, most likely clear astern of OW. I think in that case IW has to carry on sailing past the mark and let OW round first.
However the other option is when OW cannot spin round and make the mark but has to sail past it. At that point it gets so complicated and hypothetical I give up, because they are probably going to end up either tacking in the zone or leaving the zone and R18 will turn off at some unpredictable stage. Up until that stage I think its hard for IW to end up with a requirement to take a penalty, provided they gave room to get past the stern, and very easy for OW to end up with one... |
|
![]() |
|
Presuming Ed ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 26 Feb 05 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 641 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
We know that they know that we know that they know he's a spy. But we don't know if we know that they know that we know that they know that we know.... If there are no possible prompt seamanlike maneuvers that can get both boats behind PL and round the mark....
|
|
![]() |
|
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Getting a bit lost in the A,B,C so I will use labels from Case book
Port tack leeward = PL = C Inside Windward = IW = B (inside boat at the mark) Outside Windward = OW = A (outside boat at the mark) I have been thinking about this: There seems to be a Catch 22 situation, due to the fact that two boats are simultaneously bound by 2 different rules, and the definition of room means that any rights they may have includes each have obligations to give the other boat room to conform to a rule. Rule 19 obliges IW (B) to give room to OW (A) to pass astern of PL (C). This room includes room for OW(A) to "meet her obligations under the rules of Part 2 and rule 31 (see definition). OW (A) has an obligation to give IW (B) mark-room under rule 18.2b So IW(B) must give OW(A) room to pass astern of PL(C) AND room to give IW(B) mark room! However, because OW(A) must give IW(B) mark room she must also give IW(B) room to meet her obligation to give OW(A) room to pass the obstruction..... Now try to draw the course each boat must sail meet their obligations. OW (A) bailing out does simplify life. Gordon |
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
|
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Flaming, once you had bailed out to windward, I reckon you would have had a good chance on a rule 19 protest: you certainly weren't exposed to a rule 18 breach yourself.
While PEd's proposition is the fail safe one, from Boat B's point of view, I think it would be more than flesh and blood could stand not to go behind C and head for the mark. In response to A's protest, I would expect B to give evidence that she gave some space between her and C and if A had poked her nose in she was ready to give more, therefore she did not fail to give A room. She would say, no contact, no failure to give room. The protest hearing would come down to the evidence of A and B about exactly how much space was between B and C and how far away from that space A was, and A, having admitted to being in need of changing trousers while luffing from ddw to htw, is not going to be in a good position to give convincing evidence about looking over his shoulder and assessing, to the foot, how far there was between B and C at various times.
|
|
![]() |
|
flaming ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 04 Oct 11 Online Status: Offline Posts: 41 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
That sounds like good advice. I doubt I'll ever see that situation again, but I'll remember that! The real world situation was also compounded by dropping kites in a fresh breeze, and the resultant less than perfect visibility forward, especially to leeward where the beating boat was coming from. So I don't think either boat had fully appreciated quite how small the gap was going to be until it was too late to get over the top of the boat beating (which was also a faster boat - making that hard in any case). Resulting in the bail out and a request for new pants...
|
|
![]() |
|
Presuming Ed ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 26 Feb 05 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 641 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
If windward, by taking room at the obstruction, cannot give mark room AND/OR leeward can only get round the mark by not giving room at the obstruction, then AFAICS the only way for both boats to avoid the obstruction and round the mark without either breaking 18 or 19 is for leeward to luff and take both boats across the bows of the obstructing boat.
(Ceteris Paribus - i.e. both would claim that they the other broke 18/19 if one/both goes behind the boat beating).
|
|
![]() |
|
flaming ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 04 Oct 11 Online Status: Offline Posts: 41 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
C had a bad drop and had gone some way beyond the mark and was beating back up past it. They'd been on that course for probably 30s. Quite why they had decided on a course to only just fetch it on port tack I don't know. So this situation was developing for at least 30s. In that respect - take away the mark and this was a very simple 19 issue. But put the mark back and I got a little confused.
|
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 123> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |