Print Page | Close Window

Which takes precedence - 18 or 19?

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=11141
Printed Date: 27 Jun 25 at 8:36pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: Which takes precedence - 18 or 19?
Posted By: flaming
Subject: Which takes precedence - 18 or 19?
Date Posted: 13 Oct 13 at 8:22pm
Strange situation today.

Boats A and B are sailing downwind on Port tack approaching A mark that is to be left to starboard.  They are very definitely overlapped and have been for some minutes.  Boat A is to Windward.
Boat C is ahead but has had a very sloppy rounding of the mark and has elected to tack onto port tack, and will now pass less than 1/2 boatlength to windward of the mark.
All boats are 37-40 foot cruiser racers.

The timing is such that all three boats will arrive at the mark at once.  

Clearly A and B must keep clear of C under rule 11.
Clearly A owes B mark room at the mark.  

However, B shapes up to pass behind C, where there is just enough room for them to cross their stern and still leave the mark to starboard.
There is definitely not room for both A and B to pass behind C and both leave the mark to starboard.

Take the mark away, and 19.2b means that B has to give A room to pass the same side of the obstruction (C) as her.  
However, if A enforces this, then she is not able to give B the mark room that she definitely owes her under rule 18.2a.  

What happened was that Boat A (us) saw a massive accident in the making and bailed out to windward.  But thinking about it afterwards I couldn't work out who would have won a protest if we'd insisted on our rights under 19.  So which would win out, our rights under 19, or theirs under 18?






Replies:
Posted By: Rupert
Date Posted: 13 Oct 13 at 8:28pm
As far as I'm aware, water for an obstruction wins. It is certainly the case when on a narrow river, and one boat is calling for water on the mark, and another on the bank.

-------------
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686


Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 13 Oct 13 at 8:46pm
From the rules:

19.1 "Rule 19 applies between boats at an obstruction except when it is also a mark the boats are required to leave on the same side."

C is an obstruction so rule 19.1 applies between A and B.

B has ROW over A - she can therefore opt to pass astern of C and must give A room to do likewise.

Assuming that in passing astern B does not leave the zone A must then give B mark-room

It would seem to me that A did give mark-room by bailing out before-hand. Providing she bailed out in order to give B markroom, and not because B did not give her room to pass astern of C then no rule was broken.


-------------
Gordon


Posted By: flaming
Date Posted: 13 Oct 13 at 8:53pm
Originally posted by gordon

From the rules:

19.1 "Rule 19 applies between boats at an obstruction except when it is also a mark the boats are required to leave on the same side."

C is an obstruction so rule 19.1 applies between A and B.

B has ROW over A - she can therefore opt to pass astern of C and must give A room to do likewise.

Assuming that in passing astern B does not leave the zone A must then give B mark-room

It would seem to me that A did give mark-room by bailing out before-hand. Providing she bailed out in order to give B markroom, and not because B did not give her room to pass astern of C then no rule was broken.

But if I'd insisted on my rights under 19, would the reverse be true if B bailed out the wrong side of the mark?  



Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 13 Oct 13 at 9:20pm
Why would "insisting on your rights" exonerate you from breaking the rule on mark room? If I understand this correctly it seems to me that you are looking for a conflict that isn't there. All boats have to obey all rules.
B must give A room to pass behind C, A must give B mark room. If, by choosing to pass behind C A fails to give mark room to B then A breaks the rule. Effectively A has no choice but to bale out.


Posted By: flaming
Date Posted: 13 Oct 13 at 9:56pm
Originally posted by JimC

Why would "insisting on your rights" exonerate you from breaking the rule on mark room? If I understand this correctly it seems to me that you are looking for a conflict that isn't there. All boats have to obey all rules.
B must give A room to pass behind C, A must give B mark room. If, by choosing to pass behind C A fails to give mark room to B then A breaks the rule. Effectively A has no choice but to bale out.

Interesting.  So you mean that just because I have the right to claim room under 19, it doesn't necessarily mean I should do?

But doesn't that cut the other way too?  After all, if he'd simply held his course to the mark and I'd bailed out and protested him,  (Which is what happened minus the protest - different classes) I don't see how he would win that protest.  As at that point he's broken 19.

So if I bail out and protest he gets flicked for 19, but if I take the room under 19 I will break 18.  Is that right?




Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 13 Oct 13 at 10:14pm
I think to win a protest on R19 you would have to demonstrate that he didn't give you room when you needed it, and that would probably not be until it was too late to bail out. If he stands up in the room and says "we were ready to give him room, but sensibly he didn't take it" I think it would be hard to win a protest. If on the other hand he actually refuses to give room then I agree he's toast.


Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 13 Oct 13 at 10:21pm
Having rights does not mean you have to excercise them.

In this case if B gives room to A to pass astern of C, B has met her obligations under rule 19.

If A can pass astern of C AND give B mark room she may do so.

The only complicating factor is that the room B has to give under rule 19 includes room for A to meet her obligation to give mark room under rule 18 (see definition of room, which is part of the definition of mark room). If in order to give mark room A is called on to make an unseamanlike manoeuvre then B might be in trouble.

Baling out was probably the best option.


-------------
Gordon


Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 13 Oct 13 at 11:01pm
Originally posted by flaming

Originally posted by gordon

From the rules:

19.1 "Rule 19 applies between boats at an obstruction except when it is also a mark the boats are required to leave on the same side."

C is an obstruction so rule 19.1 applies between A and B.

B has ROW over A - she can therefore opt to pass astern of C and must give A room to do likewise.

Assuming that in passing astern B does not leave the zone A must then give B mark-room

It would seem to me that A did give mark-room by bailing out before-hand. Providing she bailed out in order to give B markroom, and not because B did not give her room to pass astern of C then no rule was broken.
But if I'd insisted on my rights under 19, would the reverse be true if B bailed out the wrong side of the mark?  
 
If by 'insisted on my rights' you mean, after having luffed, you had protested B for breaking rule 19, provided you brought good evidence about time and space to show that B did not give room for you to pass between her and C, then you should expect B to be penalised.  As Gordon says, by luffing you certainly gave B the mark-room to which she was entitled.
 
If, on the other hand, B had given you room to pass astern of C and you had sailed within that room, then, as Gordon indicates in the bold paragraph above, rule 19 and 18 would apply one after the other.  Only after A had kept clear of or avoided contact with C would she be required to take action to give B the mark-room to which she was entitled by then luffing if necessary up to or past head to wind to allow B to sail back to windward of the mark and round it to starboard.
 
Gordon (tentatively):  how do you think this sits with the 'direct corridor' in Case 75?
 
If B had not given room and you had tried to foce in between B and C, with the consequent sounds of crunching fibreglass, then I'm still inclined to think that B had failed to give your rule 19 room, and probably, in addition broken rule 14 without exoneration.


Posted By: flaming
Date Posted: 14 Oct 13 at 11:34am
Originally posted by gordon



The only complicating factor is that the room B has to give under rule 19 includes room for A to meet her obligation to give mark room under rule 18 (see definition of room, which is part of the definition of mark room). If in order to give mark room A is called on to make an unseamanlike manoeuvre then B might be in trouble.


If we'd been given room to pass as close as I dared to C, then I'm pretty sure that B's bow would have passed the mark on the wrong side before my pivot point cleared C sufficiently for me to put the helm over.  


Baling out was probably the best option.


From where I was sat it was the only option!  It was just thinking through arguably the most intense mark rounding I've ever been involved in (there were about 6 other boats around as well who came into play when we finally cleared C and turned back to the mark) that I wondered if B had actually met their obligations.  


Posted By: flaming
Date Posted: 14 Oct 13 at 11:39am
Originally posted by JimC

I think to win a protest on R19 you would have to demonstrate that he didn't give you room when you needed it, and that would probably not be until it was too late to bail out. If he stands up in the room and says "we were ready to give him room, but sensibly he didn't take it" I think it would be hard to win a protest. If on the other hand he actually refuses to give room then I agree he's toast.

That would go against my experience of protest rooms, especially when big boats are involved, where someone being scared enough to bail out of a hole that they have "rights" to sail through generally gets the benefit of the doubt that the hole wasn't big enough.

A sensible way round I would think, when the consequences of a 9 knot, 14 tonne T bone are a little more serious than trading paint in a laser!


Posted By: deadrock
Date Posted: 15 Oct 13 at 8:11am
Difficult to assess without timings and distances, but 'room and opportunity' (R&O) may come in to play here. If boat C has tacked soon after the mark, boat B has to start taking avoiding action only once boat C has completed her tack. I know we are talking about big boats here, not Lasers (and no, we don't have paint on a Laser) but boat B may have seen the incident developing a fraction before boat A. B is obliged to give room to boat A, even if no hail is made, but if boat C has given B only just enough R&O to get round C's stern, there may not have been enough R&O for B to give A room as well. Additionally Boat B may have had little option but to bear off round C's stern, if the alternative was a sharp luff that would have endangered A &/or C.


Posted By: Rupert
Date Posted: 15 Oct 13 at 8:50am
Of course, forgetting the rules for a moment, none of this can have been quick for boat C. Moral to me is that if there are boats bearing down on you after you have rounded the mark, leave it another boat length or 2 before tacking, and life will be far less full of peril, not to mention dirty wind.

Oh, and whatever you do, don't f**k up the tack at that point...


-------------
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686


Posted By: flaming
Date Posted: 15 Oct 13 at 9:08am
Originally posted by deadrock

Difficult to assess without timings and distances, but 'room and opportunity' (R&O) may come in to play here. If boat C has tacked soon after the mark, boat B has to start taking avoiding action only once boat C has completed her tack. I know we are talking about big boats here, not Lasers (and no, we don't have paint on a Laser) but boat B may have seen the incident developing a fraction before boat A. B is obliged to give room to boat A, even if no hail is made, but if boat C has given B only just enough R&O to get round C's stern, there may not have been enough R&O for B to give A room as well. Additionally Boat B may have had little option but to bear off round C's stern, if the alternative was a sharp luff that would have endangered A &/or C.

C had a bad drop and had gone some way beyond the mark and was beating back up past it.  They'd been on that course for probably 30s.  Quite why they had decided on a course to only just fetch it on port tack I don't know.  So this situation was developing for at least 30s.

In that respect - take away the mark and this was a very simple 19 issue.  But put the mark back and I got a little confused.  


Posted By: Presuming Ed
Date Posted: 15 Oct 13 at 9:58am
If windward, by taking room at the obstruction, cannot give mark room AND/OR leeward can only get round the mark by not giving room at the obstruction, then AFAICS the only way for both boats to avoid the obstruction and round the mark without either breaking 18 or 19 is for leeward to luff and take both boats across the bows of the obstructing boat. 

(Ceteris Paribus - i.e. both would claim that they the other broke 18/19 if one/both goes behind the boat beating). 


Posted By: flaming
Date Posted: 18 Oct 13 at 10:38am
Originally posted by Presuming Ed

If windward, by taking room at the obstruction, cannot give mark room AND/OR leeward can only get round the mark by not giving room at the obstruction, then AFAICS the only way for both boats to avoid the obstruction and round the mark without either breaking 18 or 19 is for leeward to luff and take both boats across the bows of the obstructing boat. 

(Ceteris Paribus - i.e. both would claim that they the other broke 18/19 if one/both goes behind the boat beating). 

That sounds like good advice.  

I doubt I'll ever see that situation again, but I'll remember that!

The real world situation was also compounded by dropping kites in a fresh breeze, and the resultant less than perfect visibility forward, especially to leeward where the beating boat was coming from.  So I don't think either boat had fully appreciated quite how small the gap was going to be until it was too late to get over the top of the boat beating (which was also a faster boat - making that hard in any case).  Resulting in the bail out and a request for new pants...


Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 18 Oct 13 at 12:51pm
Flaming, once you had bailed out to windward, I reckon you would have had a good chance on a rule 19 protest:  you certainly weren't exposed to a rule 18 breach yourself.
 
While PEd's proposition is the fail safe one, from Boat B's point of view, I think it would be more than flesh and blood could stand not to go behind C and head for the mark.
 
In response to A's protest, I would expect B to give evidence that she gave some space between her and C and if A had poked her nose in she was ready to give more, therefore she did not fail to give A room.  She would say, no contact, no failure to give room.
 
The protest hearing would come down to the evidence of A and B about exactly how much space was between B and C and how far away from that space A was, and A, having admitted to being in need of changing trousers while luffing from ddw to htw, is not going to be in a good position to give convincing evidence about looking over his shoulder and assessing, to the foot, how far there was between B and C at various times.


Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 18 Oct 13 at 2:17pm
Getting a bit lost in the A,B,C so I will use labels from Case book

Port tack leeward = PL = C
Inside Windward = IW = B (inside boat at the mark)
Outside Windward = OW = A (outside boat at the mark)

I have been thinking about this:

There seems to be a Catch 22 situation, due to the fact that two boats are simultaneously bound by 2 different rules, and the definition of room means that any rights they may have includes each have obligations to give the other boat room to conform to a rule.

 Rule 19 obliges IW (B) to give room to OW (A) to pass astern of PL (C). This room includes room for OW(A) to "meet her obligations under the rules of Part  2 and rule 31 (see definition). OW (A) has an obligation to give IW (B) mark-room under rule 18.2b

So IW(B) must give OW(A) room to pass astern of PL(C) AND room to give  IW(B) mark room! However, because OW(A) must give IW(B) mark room she must also give IW(B) room to meet her obligation to give OW(A) room to pass the obstruction.....

Now try to draw the course each boat must sail meet their obligations.

OW (A) bailing out does simplify life.

Gordon




-------------
Gordon


Posted By: Presuming Ed
Date Posted: 18 Oct 13 at 3:00pm
Originally posted by gordon

So IW(B) must give OW(A) room to pass astern of PL(C) AND room to give  IW(B) mark room! However, because OW(A) must give IW(B) mark room she must also give IW(B) room to meet her obligation to give OW(A) room to pass the obstruction.....

We know that they know that we know that they know he's a spy. But we don't know if we know that they know that we know that they know that we know....

If there are no possible prompt seamanlike maneuvers that can get both boats behind PL and round the mark....


Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 18 Oct 13 at 3:12pm
I just tried drawing it... I get two options. In one OW can spin round in PLs wake and fetch the mark. In that case IW can probably spin round and fetch the mark too, most likely clear astern of OW. I think in that case IW has to carry on sailing past the mark and let OW round first.
However the other option is when OW cannot spin round and make the mark but has to sail past it. At that point it gets so complicated and hypothetical I give up, because they are probably going to end up either tacking in the zone or leaving the zone and R18 will turn off at some unpredictable stage. Up until that stage I think its hard for IW to end up with a requirement to take a penalty, provided they gave room to get past the stern, and very easy for OW to end up with one...


Posted By: flaming
Date Posted: 18 Oct 13 at 3:53pm
Thanks all for the contributions, it's been fascinating.  Glad I'm not alone in finding the situation slightly confusing!

I'm now regretting not throwing the flag and asking the question for real.  However, like I said I had other things on my mind at the time and the boats in question weren't in our class.  Frustratingly lost the race by 2s on corrected, and we left way more than that at this mark!  


Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 18 Oct 13 at 4:36pm
I think you can be as certain as possible that you picked the option that lost you the least time...


Posted By: Presuming Ed
Date Posted: 18 Oct 13 at 5:50pm
Originally posted by gordon

So IW(B) must give OW(A) room to pass astern of PL(C) AND room to give  IW(B) mark room! However, because OW(A) must give IW(B) mark room she must also give IW(B) room to meet her obligation to give OW(A) room to pass the obstruction.....

Further thought. Is that meta-room? 



Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com